PDA

View Full Version : Need help finding performance perpetrator


Pandaru
12-28-2009, 07:29 PM
I've attempted upgrading my GPU from an ASUS 4850 512MB to a XFX 4890 1GB and only saw a slight increase in performance.

My current setup is:
Motherboard: nVidia nForce 780a SLI SPP Chipset M3N-HT Deluxe/HDMI
CPU: AMD Phenom X4 9600 BE 2.3GHz~
GPU: ASUS 4850 512mb
RAM: 4GB Corsair Dual-Channel DDR2 @ 335MHz (5-5-5-15)
HDD: 320GB Wester Digital WDC
OS: MS Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

I just returned the XFX 4890 1GB to get my money back if I can find out what is causing the low performance I'm getting.

-I've tried switching to a GTS 250 to see if it's just the brand of card(for whatever reason) that didn't increase performance at all.
-I'm figuring that it must be either my mobo, CPU, or RAM(I'm thinking ram but upgrading it shouldn't increase performance too much).
-Should I consider overclocking my CPU? I've found from reading online that pushing it to 2.8~ GHz is safe.

I'm mainly looking for advice on what I should change. I'm on a budget of $210 for my upgrade. Help!!

SiMoNiZoR
12-28-2009, 07:33 PM
What do you mean by didn't increase your performance at all? Did you run any benchmark tests? The 4850 is a decent card that is quite capable of running most of the current games at high(ish) resolutions and quality settings on medium-high. If you're not playing an extremely demanding game, you would probably only see a difference if you increased the resolution that you're playing at and also increased the quality settings.

Pandaru
12-28-2009, 07:42 PM
What do you mean by didn't increase your performance at all? Did you run any benchmark tests? The 4850 is a decent card that is quite capable of running most of the current games at high(ish) resolutions and quality settings on medium-high. If you're not playing an extremely demanding game, you would probably only see a difference if you increased the resolution that you're playing at and also increased the quality settings.

Whenever playing my games I try to push them to the highest settings. Using games such as Left 4 Dead 2 and Team Fortress 2 as benchmarks, my average framerate when a lot of activity is going on ranges in L4D2(45-80FPS) and in TF2(30-70FPS). When moving to the 4890, I had an increase of about 5 FPS. Is this the expected increase for the card I moved up to using the same graphics settings(maxed w/ texture tweaks to decrease compression[mat_picmip -10 in TF2])

Resolution is at 1600x900 for all my games, running 4x AA with other various settings maxed. I've found that shadows decrease performance more than any other setting.

Pandaru
12-28-2009, 08:48 PM
Bump because I really need an answer or something :(

masta121
12-28-2009, 09:48 PM
A 4850 can max both of those games at most resolutions with 60+ fps easily. It's going to be hard to notice an improvement with those games.

SiMoNiZoR
12-28-2009, 10:05 PM
A 4850 can max both of those games at most resolutions with 60+ fps easily. It's going to be hard to notice an improvement with those games.

I get 100+ with my 4850 all settings max at 1920x1080.

Pandaru
12-28-2009, 11:44 PM
That's what I expect to be getting, but am not. No one has any clue as to what could be causing my lack of performance? Would you two mind sharing your system specs with me?

Combat Medic
12-28-2009, 11:47 PM
It is your CPU.The phenoms are starting to show there age.I would suggest a phenom2 955 as a replacement. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103674&cm_re=955-_-19-103-674-_-Product

AM3 cpus work with am2+ motherboards (just a FYI)

Pandaru
12-29-2009, 02:38 AM
It is your CPU.The phenoms are starting to show there age.I would suggest a phenom2 955 as a replacement. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103674&cm_re=955-_-19-103-674-_-Product

AM3 cpus work with am2+ motherboards (just a FYI)

Thank you so much ; ; I love you

Pandaru
12-29-2009, 02:46 AM
I'd like to mention that there is an issue with my Mobo's drivers and not being able to install them via disc in Win7. Though I went to Asus's site to get the drivers, CPU-Z is unable to identify the Mobo.

Hardwood
12-29-2009, 04:52 AM
Lose the nv chipset mobo and replace it with an AM2+ AMD chipset mobo.
Then get a 955/965 as suggested.
I switched my 9600 for a 955. Very happy with the upgrade.

Pandaru
12-29-2009, 05:04 AM
Any recommendations on an AMD Chipset?

Hardwood
12-29-2009, 05:35 AM
Northbridge: Anything from 770 to 790. Each level has slightly different features.
Southbridge: Anything 600 or higher. My mobo has the 790FX and SB600 with zero issues.

As you might expect the higher the better for both. If this is just a stop-gap solution then get the cheapest but make sure there is BIOS support for the 955. High turnover sales would ensure it comes with a newer BIOS and ready to go. On the bright side you can use the 9600 to update a BIOS if needed.

Pandaru
12-29-2009, 05:59 AM
Thanks for the advice Hardwood. +rep

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131381

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103674&cm_re=Phenom_ii_955-_-19-103-674-_-Product

I'm trying to stay on a budget around $200 here because of another purchase I need to make soon regarding a separate issue.

Although this combo goes over it, if anyone could show me a mobo to purchase at bare minimum for a lower price, and will also support my current RAM, I'd be very appreciative.

dillonsurdaddy
12-29-2009, 07:36 AM
here (http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboDealDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.308541)
and here (http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboDealDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.305106)

Triple core is the way to go for u my friend:cool:.

Hardwood
12-29-2009, 08:43 AM
You're on the right track, watch for combo deals. Look at combo deals with the 965(both versions) too.

Pandaru
12-29-2009, 10:01 PM
I really appreciate the help from all of you. I today got a recommendation from a local computer shop, and intel enthusiast who recommended this CPU (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115056&cm_re=intel_core_2_duo_2.93ghz-_-19-115-056-_-Product) and this Mobo (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128358&cm_re=gigabyte_ud3p-_-13-128-358-_-Product)

It's a bit over my budget, but not a large problem. Opinions?