PDA

View Full Version : So How Is This BF:BC2 Game Fun?!?

HoodooGuru
01-29-2010, 11:03 PM
I just can't see it yet. I have been playing PC games since the early 1980's-- the original MS Flight Sim (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_Microsoft_Flight_Simulator#Flight_Simul ator_1.0), Cinemaware (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cinemaware), Atari ST titles (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Atari_ST_games), and Falcon (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Falcon_%28computer_game_series%29)games through the present day including the entire Battlefield series starting with 1942, Vietnam, and BF2. I know a *fun* game when I play it, and so far, I'm very disappointed to find that Battlefield Bad Company 2 is just NOT working for me. I am not yet seeing the fun of it (as compared to 1942 and BF2 which always are/were fun for me, and many others based on the servers still going). Those games just *felt" right, from vehicle control to aiming/shooting/sniping, etc. Plus, the gameplay offered hours of fun that never seemed repetitive.

This game almost seems like *work* so far! It simply does not feel "tight" or that the control mechanics are all that connected to the game world, and seems repetitive across the map. For example, getting into/out of tanks seems disconnected, when you die you get this wierd lie down animation that seems fake, running/aiming/shooting doesn't feel tight like in BF2/1942, and the helicopter does not work at all for me. Hell, the game won't even let me map my Logitech Extreme 3D joystick throttle to the control mapping for acceleration!

Yes, this is a Beta and I get the issues/bugs present (I am in the software biz, and know the release process all too well). But for Beta this game NEEDS to have the core gameplay and control mechanics that reveal what it will be like upon RTM (retail release). Again, I am just not seeing that happen by March!