PDA

View Full Version : Is this mobo ideal for running Windows Home Server?


WarLokk1980
02-18-2010, 03:19 AM
Well I had previously used the demo of Windows Home Server on a Biostar GF8100 M2G+ I had lying around but I'd prefer to build a much smaller, low-powered PC to run WHS. I came across this (http://www.intel.com/products/desktop/motherboards/D510MO/D510MO-overview.htm) mobo by accident and thought it was pretty good. I plan on using 2GB of 800MHz Kingston HyperX Single Channel DDR2 RAM (2x1GB) and I have a spare SATA HDD lying around but I'm not sure if 320GB will be enough for a Home Server considering that it will be performing backups of 2 PCs and will have around 40GB of music stored on it too. Would I be better getting a 1TB SATA drive? The motherboard shown above only has 2 SATA connectors and I plan on using a SATA DVDRW so I can only connect 1 HDD. Also I am unsure of which type of case to use. It will have to be Mini ITX form factor but what do you think would look better? A mini desktop or a mini tower?

handi360
02-18-2010, 03:27 AM
For a server, at least a 1tb hd. You can get an external cd/dvd drive that hooks up via usb if you want to have two hd's.

lol just checked my mail and there was a newegg flyer in it and had a external dvd. (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827118035&nm_mc=EMC-IGNEFL021810&cm_mmc=EMC-IGNEFL021810-_-CDDVDROMRWDrivesExternal-_-LD4D-_-27118035)

WarLokk1980
02-18-2010, 03:52 AM
Yeah I thought the drive I have is too small but will the Intel D510MO motherboard with embedded CPU be enough for Window Home Server? It uses an Intel Atom processor.

~~ArdEnuff~~
02-18-2010, 03:55 AM
I have that motherboard and have had recommend it highly. I'm running FreeNAS on mine. It is more than capable of running Home Server.

The question around disk space is one only you can answer. I've put 2x1.5TB in mine but that's because I need 1.5TB (RAID1). Remember that the board has a PCI slot so you could easily stick in a SATA card to provide the extra ports you need.

I have mine running in this mini-itx case http://linitx.com/viewproduct.php?prodid=12433 . However you would not be able to fit a DVD and 2x 3.5". I am not running with a DVD drive so my second 3.5" drive sits in the 5.25" bay. I went small because I wanted to tuck it away in a small space out of sight with just an ethernet cable connected to it.

Lycanthropicc
02-18-2010, 03:56 AM
uhm
The ATOM processors are known for being compact and cheap and not sucking to much energy.

I do think the processor would be enough to run a server, i haven't tried it myself.
It would all depend on what you want the server to do.
File server, sure
Game server, i don't know
But i have seen some set ups with atoms that run great