PDA

View Full Version : Who will admit they like this game?

dred
02-22-2010, 08:47 PM
I played xcom back when it was first out on my 486. I loved xcom, but I also like this game. I think it is plain fun and strategic. I know many have negative stuff to say about it, but anyone admit that they like it?

Tericc
02-22-2010, 10:22 PM
Also being an X-com vet myself and have the original floppy's stashed. (whhoo! the days of floppy drives)

I admit I was skeptical at first..

I even thought at times it felt a little to easy. But I soon felt that the "easy" I experienced was to get you settled into the game.

In the original X-com you did not play the game.. you survive it. Your squad and even the ones you care about (named after people that are awesome) are expendable As long as you take out that sectoid base, celisoid horror attacks, or the ethereal psionic doom. It is all worth it in the end.

UFo Extraterrestials I was a little disappointed at with first. I felt the game was a little to easy when I first started. Mabe I was mentally prepared to face the coming horror that I first remembered from the original games. But after the several missions where my soldiers survived and are becoming Ufo exterminating commandos I was beginning to question.
At first I thought it was silly.. but I soon learned it was to get you settled into the game and become familiar with what you have.

When you first meet the destroyer and what comes after it feels like im back in the old X-com again! :D
soildiers are droping like flies and your doing everything you can to squeek out a victory and have someone survive the mishion.

Now im loving it

111uminate
02-22-2010, 10:40 PM
I even thought at times it felt a little to easy. But I soon felt that the "easy" I experienced was to get you settled into the game.