PDA

View Full Version : LAG.


phillipjfry6
03-03-2010, 07:09 AM
On my laptop, this game lags. horribly..
I've tried everything, when I play this game I change from the default vista theme to windows classic. I close all the background processes, I run it in directx 8.0, on the lowest settings possible, and it still LAGS. and episode 1 and 2 are even worse!
I thought the source engine was supposed to be able to run smoothly on older computers?! Please help me.

It's not so much HL2 that lags, but most of the time it's either episode 1 or two, or portal. When I ran the HL2 Demo, it ran fine, and when I ran the portal demo, and portal non-steam, it also ran very well. Even in directx 9 on MAX settings!
What should I do?

gorpie
03-03-2010, 07:15 AM
Since I have no specific recommendations (like I'm sure other people will), I can only post this Support article (https://support.steampowered.com/kb_article.php?ref=9257-TUJL-7421).

KaneXLS
03-03-2010, 07:23 AM
Im sure that more people could help you if you post some of your specs with dxdiag for example

whisperity
03-03-2010, 12:26 PM
Laptop... integrated video card... do not suppose 15+ framerate from it.

However, i play with 10 frame per sec, and it should be playable.
Get a non-integrated video card (with laptops it's impossible) or buy a desktop computer (currently, I'm saving money for do this so soon)

phillipjfry6
03-05-2010, 02:32 PM
Here's what dxdiag put up:
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=WTUFOR7Z

Please help me, I really want to play the portal update, but i can't with this lag... D:<

gorpie
03-05-2010, 03:11 PM
You should post it on www.tinypic.com or something. Except it's not a pic... (Sorry, I'm not going to be any help, even though I DLed it.)

phillipjfry6
03-05-2010, 05:42 PM
You should post it on www.tinypic.com or something. Except it's not a pic... (Sorry, I'm not going to be any help, even though I DLed it.)
Yeah, there aren't really any good filehosting servers.

phillipjfry6
03-06-2010, 06:51 AM
BUMP.

RustySpannerz
03-06-2010, 10:57 AM
How much RAM, Proc speed do you have?

phillipjfry6
03-10-2010, 01:29 PM
Okay, it seems that if steam is online, and connected to friends and all that, the game lags a lot. But when I run it in offline mode, it actually runs quite well... But, then I can't get the achievements. :\

Also, I have 1790MB RAM, and I think my processor speed is ~1.9 GHz. (2 CPUS)
And, since I run it in DX80, the multicore rendering doesn't come up. D:
I really need to use both of my CPUs or one of them will overload.

Also, my graphics card is an NVIDIA GeForce 8200M G

seseorang
03-10-2010, 07:47 PM
Need to know RAM amount 1GB is recommended for 32bit Vista. but 2-3GB would be ideal. It's likely the resources are taking your memory as well.
The 8200M is a low series 8000 model with shared memory meaning it will be slow. My only guess at this point is your RAM may be consumed heavily - leaving you with little to use for Half-Life.

gorpie
03-10-2010, 08:07 PM
So are there other apps in the background that you can disable? Or can you add more RAM?

seseorang
03-10-2010, 09:21 PM
I'm thinking the main issue is the graphics card being an entry level GeForce 8000 series for the laptop. Maybe sharing 128MB-256MB RAM. Then Windows kindly takes some of that too. Plus applications. It might be worth getting a custom config file set up which alters in-game settings that are not done by the menu. By knowing which to use effectively and sacrificing visuals you can potentially get smoother play from it.

gorpie
03-11-2010, 05:58 AM
Oh, well if that's all... ;) Got a couple links for ya, Phillip.

To Stu-Pidado.net (http://stu-pidaso.net/page.php?8), about writing a customer userconfig. The same info would be covered at the next site, but I bookmarked it for a reason... (I just don't remember what the reason was. :))

Don't know how in-depth he goes about explaining things, though, so here's one to tweakguides.com (http://www.tweakguides.com/HL2_1.html).

gorpie
03-18-2010, 08:11 AM
If you want to post your system specs, open Steam and select System Information from the Help menu.

Have you tried using the -autoconfig launch option? (See this article (https://support.steampowered.com/kb_article.php?ref=1216-JMTZ-0860#force) if you need help.)

gorpie
03-18-2010, 09:36 AM
Some people have had launch issues (not lag issues) that were fixed by making sure they had the most current graphics drivers. Go to ATI's website and DL them, don't depend on autoupdate.

Some people's problem was fixed by updating their DX drivers.

Some people's problem was fixed by installing an older version of their graphics drivers. But they had to uninstall the current version first.

And I don't know if you've seen this thread (http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1190265), or not; or whether it will help you.

phillipjfry6
04-19-2010, 03:41 PM
Okay, I added 4090 MB of RAM with the readyboost utility and and SD card. The games seem to run better, but still are quite laggy at some times.

I'll post if I have any more troubles.

And, is there any way to increase the max amount of ram that readyboost can add, because I bought an 8gb sd card, and I really want to get the most for my money. :)

Vlad211
04-19-2010, 05:29 PM
On my laptopI think I've found the problem here.

phillipjfry6
04-19-2010, 06:37 PM
I think I've found the problem here.
Yeah, it's just that my laptop isn't the best... I've played through Episode 2 on another laptop, and it didn't lag for one second of it, except near the final boss at the end, where the computer was apparently running out of memory, and started to lag, until the computer was nearly rendered useless. (I still beat the game, though.)

ThatoneJeff
04-19-2010, 09:13 PM
VIDEO DRIVERS!!!!! please try this all problems I have with this game have been solved with a download from intel... I'm running HL2 on an Acer Aspire 6930 and not the one with Nvidia chip...