PDA

View Full Version : GTA on Vista


Catlin
03-08-2010, 10:59 AM
Just bought the GTA pack from steam all the other games work fine except the original GTA is there anyway i can get this to run in vista when i boot it up says about a directdraw error

Dragunovhun
03-08-2010, 12:18 PM
Probably not an issue directly related to your OS version, it seems to work fine on Win7.

Catlin
03-08-2010, 12:22 PM
The exact error here is:

MGL DirectDraw Failure:

CreateSurface Failed (DDERR_OUTOFVIDEOMEMORY)

then close that box down and says:

MGL Fatal Error!

Display Error: Selected Video Mode not supported

Specs are
Vista 64
Intel Q6600 Quad Core
4gb Corsair Ram
Geforce 9800GT overclocked 1gb

mjn507
03-12-2010, 06:58 PM
Windows XP needs SP3
Windows Vista needs SP1
Windows 2000 has d3d9.dll error
Windows 7 no wrong but not very good

Windows 7 depends on the setup. As you will see in other posts, there has been success in many Win7 setups... especially my Win7 Pro 64 bit setup. No problems whatsoever.

PhattieM
03-22-2010, 10:52 AM
any resolution to this problem? I'm also having problems getting this to work...


64 bit win 7 pro
Nvidia GTX 280
4 GB RAM

PhattieM
03-23-2010, 04:21 PM
Now, steam is routing me through 3rd party support. :sigh:

I really only bought the GTA package so I could play them all from the beginning (what a waste) :/

malamute20
11-13-2011, 07:23 AM
I had exact same issue as OP, but I'm running Win7 Ultimate as the title says.

The only thing I could think of is I'm running multiple monitors and it's possible GTA1 is old enough to not support multiple displays. Once I disabled my second monitor, GTA1 ran fine... at any resolution. So maybe OP didn't mention he has a second display.

Anyhow, cheers.