PDA

View Full Version : What settings should I use?


RobertBashley
03-29-2010, 03:42 AM
AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Socket AM3 3.2 GHz 8MB L3 Cache Retail Boxed Processor
Asus ATI Radeon HD 5850 1024MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card
Kingston 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1066MHz i5 Memory Kit 1.5V CL7
ASUS M4A78LT-M LE AMD 760G Socket AM3 DVI VGA Out 8 CHannel Audio MATX Motherboard
620W PSU 80mm Fan 20+4pin 2x SATA

This is my new PC I've just ordered. It will be delivered in about a week and I'm wanting to see what sort of settings I should go for on Crysis as it will be the first game I try out, for obvious reasons.

So what would you suggest I aim for? Everything on very high at 720p? Or should I push the resolution up a little?

I don't really want it dipping below 30fps if I can avoid that.

Also, I won't be overclocking. Never have before and after spending 500 I'm not risking it now. ;)

Mark316
03-29-2010, 05:01 AM
Well I run it on
E4300 @ 2.4GHz
Radeon 4850

All High with 4AA smoothly @ 1440x900.

You'll be fine.

RobertBashley
03-29-2010, 06:26 AM
That's cool, but I was hoping for suggestions about the best way for me to run it, as I don't really want to spend half an hour at the start of the game experimenting.

LegendaryDread
03-29-2010, 06:59 AM
You won't have any problems running it entirely Very High + No AA up to about 1680x1050.

AA will cause some serious fps drops near particle effects or fire, and disables the game's own adaptive AA, which smooths vegetation.

Esnedon
03-30-2010, 01:15 AM
Extract this to the Crysis root directory:
https://docs.google.com/leaf?id=0B9xRbpLA4BbhNDg5NzRhYTktYzg0MC00MThiLWIzN TUtNjIzNTdmNmJmNTBj&hl=en

Disable AA, like the poster above said, and you should get really great performance. Experiment with the resolution a bit to see which works best.