PDA

View Full Version : Performing first time setup.......


Sagelund
04-02-2010, 05:36 PM
Well I bought the game, installed it, and now I hit a wall (or so I think). The first time set-up is taking a long time and I'm not sure if it should take this long or it's a problem. I have a fast internet connection, and yet this is slow....... anyone know if it is supposed to be slow on the set up or if I just have got something screwy on my hands? It leaves me at the Installing (Step 1 of 2) thing for ages... how fast does it work with anyone else?

mesaone
04-02-2010, 05:47 PM
as far as i know, first time setup installs DirectX and Gamespy. So it can take awhile, and might ask you to restart.

While it's setting up, close down everything else.

Sagelund
04-02-2010, 05:55 PM
Well I'll try... sure hope I can get this whole mess to work. Whhen I got Fallout 3 on steam I kinda get screwed over too. I sure as hell don't want a repeat.

Sagelund
04-02-2010, 06:45 PM
Nope still need help.

Dave3d
04-02-2010, 06:59 PM
What AV program do you have?
That might be stopping something.
Try disabling it just until you get install finished.

Russel
04-02-2010, 07:27 PM
What exactly is an AV program, and how do you disable it? Because I have this same problem.

Dave3d
04-02-2010, 08:02 PM
What AntiVirus program?

Norton, AVG, Kaspersky (this is known to block a lot of apps), Avira, etc etc etc

Russel
04-03-2010, 06:09 AM
Hmm, I'll try disabling Norton for a bit, see if it works then.

Verwandlung
04-03-2010, 06:12 AM
Also disable peerguardian / peerblock if you use that program.