PDA

View Full Version : RailDriver disappointment

kenparse
04-11-2010, 10:08 PM
Hi.

I'm a novice train simmer. Having a few problems with RailDriver. Looked at their website but seems that not many people of late have voiced any opinions or requests. ie not much action or responce.

I run Windows XP home edition and also RailWorks (which I think is just great) !!!:D

Re RailDriver: The six lefthand buttons react as follows:

1. P raises pentagraph then drops it like a hot potatoe!!
2. BELL sounds the horn even when current engine has a bell.
3. ALERT dosen't work period.
4. RANGE no responce.
5. E-STOP push up - stops train. push down - nothing.
6. SAND - maybe I've run out but not much action here either !!!

I've only managed to program three BLUE BUTTONS on the keyboard so far the rest just do not respond to any editing.

Any editing of the six left hand buttons results in me having to uninstall RailDriver/RailWorks and start all over again due to total freeze up of RailDriver and RailWorks.

Would any RailDriver expert please guide me into the paths of sanity so that I might enjoy my expensive toy. By the way, all the levers are a joy to use.

Thank you for any advice.

Stay on the tracks.

Frustrated Canada Ken.

FootplateManWSR
04-12-2010, 12:34 AM
Ken,

Check your PMs

No need to be frustrated.
Pantograph controls are not programmed correctly for RW in the default setup.
The Bell is a known issue. Which loco, please?
Alert certainly does work
Range is not yet available for selection in RW, In MSTS this was used for the gears in DMUs
E-STOP up in the default setup applies the emergency brakes
Sand will apply sand for as long as you press the button. RW currently has infinite sand

If you have calibrated, then the RailDriver is working correctly
DO NOT attempt to program RailDriver with RW running this will cause MacroWorks II and RW to hang

Programming the RailDriver is a doddle if you follow the rules.

Driving with RailDriver