PDA

View Full Version : Multicore support


Dwarden
05-11-2010, 12:56 PM
I really hope the multicore support in the engine is better than in TF2 (crashing)

e.g. on par of L4D2 (unsure about L4D1) where it works flawlessly

SKiLLY2
05-11-2010, 12:57 PM
Who cares about multicore support? The game is hardly demanding and all you need is a constant 100fps which is easily attainable without it.

I don't understand the demand for it? Imo there are other more important issues.

Hwkiller
05-11-2010, 12:57 PM
The engine used IS the orange box engine, isn't it? Therefore will probably have the same support as tf2 does.

I may be wrong, I haven't tried it.

BS_1
05-11-2010, 12:58 PM
I hope so too. I seem to crash occasionally in Team Fortress 2 with multicore on. I have never had that problem in Left 4 Dead.

Although the game isn't that demanding, so I won't see much loss in not using it.

AnAkIn
05-11-2010, 12:59 PM
TF2 crashing with multicore was fixed 9 months ago already, might even be 1 year now.

Hwkiller
05-11-2010, 12:59 PM
TF2 crashing with multicore was fixed 9 months ago already, might even be 1 year now.

But performance is not improved with multicore for me. Actually, my fps is roughly halved and stutters with multicore rendering enabled in tf2.

Anyway, css is not demanding in any sense, and should run fine without multicore.

sciss0rz
05-11-2010, 01:01 PM
Multiore is fantastic on my Q6600 with TF2. The engine just hates you.

Gamer_Kought
05-11-2010, 01:03 PM
Multicore Rendering hates me too. Ever since I went from XP to Win7. :(

Hobo Joe
05-11-2010, 01:08 PM
I'm cautiously optimistic of the engine changes, but the fact is the TF2 engine is just horrible. It's not a matter of 'more going on', it just runs like ♥♥♥♥, regardless of graphical settings. I can run L4D on high and never dip below 60fps, but TF2 on low gets 30fps. L4D has as much if not more going on, and yet TF2 runs like ♥♥♥♥. I'm just hoping whatever it is that makes that happen isn't getting carried over to CSS, I like how it runs now. :[

XaleoO
05-11-2010, 01:11 PM
Are you stupid ?


Multi-core support is THE major innovation !!!


I'm sick of playing CS:S with full graphic, but having 50 framerate on cs_assault or custom maps... that's stupid, i've bought Core2Duo to use it...

Hwkiller
05-11-2010, 01:12 PM
I'm cautiously optimistic of the engine changes, but the fact is the TF2 engine is just horrible. It's not a matter of 'more going on', it just runs like ♥♥♥♥, regardless of graphical settings. I can run L4D on high and never dip below 60fps, but TF2 on low gets 30fps. L4D has as much if not more going on, and yet TF2 runs like ♥♥♥♥. I'm just hoping whatever it is that makes that happen isn't getting carried over to CSS, I like how it runs now. :[

TF2 still has far more going on than l4d, I'm pretty sure.
Does the budget command show absolute digits; if so, we can see how demanding each game is.

Hobo Joe
05-11-2010, 01:14 PM
TF2 still has far more going on than l4d, I'm pretty sure.
Does the budget command show absolute digits; if so, we can see how demanding each game is.

No, I get a terrible framerate in TF2, regardless of what's going on. I can be looking at a wall in a 4v4 game and get 40fps on low, tops. It's the main reason I never play the game, it's just a pain in the ♥♥♥ to deal with that kind of performance, nothing I've tried makes it any better.

Whereas L4D will run at 60 on high even in the most intense moments. It's the engine.

ZeroSignal
05-11-2010, 01:19 PM
Who cares about multicore support? The game is hardly demanding and all you need is a constant 100fps which is easily attainable without it.

I don't understand the demand for it? Imo there are other more important issues.

Because people with slower dual cores will benefit from this?

If you are a poor SOB with one of those old crappy Phenom X4 CPUs and can barely manage to keep your FPS in the 40+ range, then this will help.

We care about multi-core support because it makes the game more efficient. Do you seriously think of that as a worthless thing?

Croben
05-11-2010, 01:25 PM
Question. Is CS:S engine being upgraded to the L4D2 source engine, or what?

AnAkIn
05-11-2010, 01:52 PM
But performance is not improved with multicore for me. Actually, my fps is roughly halved and stutters with multicore rendering enabled in tf2.

Anyway, css is not demanding in any sense, and should run fine without multicore.

This should be an issue with your Nvidia/ATI drivers I guess. A lot of drivers are known to cause issues with multicore. For me, it gives me a +20/30 FPS boost with my 8800 GT, depending on which resolution I mean.

michael89
05-11-2010, 01:57 PM
Question. Is CS:S engine being upgraded to the L4D2 source engine, or what?

ob-source.
L4D2-source uses vpk, and that wouldnt work so well with CSS.

andrepcg
05-11-2010, 02:06 PM
multicore rendering causes stuttering problems.

8800gt
197.45 drivers
everything on full @ 60 fps (multicore rendering off)

if I turn it on, the screen stutters and my fps is always changing between 60 and 130

michael89
05-11-2010, 02:14 PM
multicore rendering causes stuttering problems.

8800gt
197.45 drivers
everything on full @ 60 fps (multicore rendering off)

if I turn it on, the screen stutters and my fps is always changing between 60 and 130

Why you mentioned only gpu and drivers? :p

Wont help much.

andrepcg
05-11-2010, 02:15 PM
sorry.

cpu C2D e6400 @ 3.2GHz
2GB ram

juliom
05-11-2010, 02:16 PM
I really hope the multicore support in the engine is better than in TF2 (crashing)

e.g. on par of L4D2 (unsure about L4D1) where it works flawlessly

Sorry to disapoint you, but multicore rendering works flawlessly on my machine in TF2...

masta121
05-11-2010, 02:16 PM
I'm cautiously optimistic of the engine changes, but the fact is the TF2 engine is just horrible. It's not a matter of 'more going on', it just runs like ♥♥♥♥, regardless of graphical settings. I can run L4D on high and never dip below 60fps, but TF2 on low gets 30fps. L4D has as much if not more going on, and yet TF2 runs like ♥♥♥♥. I'm just hoping whatever it is that makes that happen isn't getting carried over to CSS, I like how it runs now. :[

You wouldn't happen to have an Athlon 64 processor would you? Because if you do, that's why. TF2 hates them.

andrepcg
05-11-2010, 02:23 PM
TF2 multicore rendering works fine for me but not for this source beta

Hobo Joe
05-11-2010, 02:24 PM
You wouldn't happen to have an Athlon 64 processor would you? Because if you do, that's why. TF2 hates them.

I see. And why haven't Valve fixed this? And will it carry over to CSS?

michael89
05-11-2010, 02:27 PM
I see. And why haven't Valve fixed this? ?

Source is quite CPU-intense.
TF2 uses OB-source, which is more advanced, complex and demanding source than EP1-Source.

You can do the rest of the math. :p

Hobo Joe
05-11-2010, 02:31 PM
Source is quite CPU-intense.
TF2 uses OB-source, which is more advanced, complex and demanding source than EP1-Source.

You can do the rest of the math. :p


Worse CPU's can run the game better than I do, like I mentioned before, L4D runs significantly better despite being as demanding or possibly even more demanding than TF2.

It's not a problem with my CPU being too slow.

milton
05-13-2010, 02:16 AM
How is the FPS with multiple cores in the beta? Do you guys see any improvement?


It's quite disappointing that with an i5 750 and a 4890 the FPS still drops below 100 FPS sometimes (with the "old" stable CS:S, not the beta), so I'm really hoping the multicore support can fix this.

defQoNN
05-13-2010, 03:47 AM
With Multicore-Rendering ON I have less FPS and Drops below 100.

I'm really disappointed.


Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 3,6ghz
4Gb Ram
XFX 9800GTX+

Dwarden
05-14-2010, 06:30 AM
TF2 crashing with multicore was fixed 9 months ago already, might even be 1 year now.

the crash i have was not fixed yet ...

it was working fine when the multicore was tested in beta builds
then some change happened and since then P45 + Core2Duo or Core2Quad are freezing on me with enabled multicore in TF2


while like some others wrote new L4D2 (L4D1) are working fine with multicore enabled ...

it's most likely some slight discrepancy which causes it
(it works for some and not works for others)

AnAkIn
05-14-2010, 07:57 AM
the crash i have was not fixed yet ...

it was working fine when the multicore was tested in beta builds
then some change happened and since then P45 + Core2Duo or Core2Quad are freezing on me with enabled multicore in TF2


while like some others wrote new L4D2 (L4D1) are working fine with multicore enabled ...

it's most likely some slight discrepancy which causes it
(it works for some and not works for others)

Does it create any crash dumps?