PDA

View Full Version : All possible Garbage Disposal paths.

iansmith
05-11-2010, 05:09 PM
Don't ask me why, but I decided to use math to figure out the longest possible path you could make the walkers take in the Garbage Disposal map.

I did it by writing a computer program to try every possible combination of placing blocking towers and it turns out there were only 90 unique solutions, so I had it show them all to me so I could look them over and sort by various metrics.

I put them online if anyone is interested...

LINK: Defense Grid Longest Paths (http://www.ian.org/Games/DefenseGrid/)

Sorry if the pages are ugly. I'm not a graphic designer. :-)

Turns out the longest path you can force them to take is just about 3 times longer than the path they use with no towers blocking their way. Not like Last Stand.. you can make some crazy long paths there.

jpsie88
05-11-2010, 06:03 PM
You ARE the man. It just shows how addicted we all are to this game...

hiclass
05-11-2010, 07:40 PM
Don't ask me why, but I decided to use math to figure out the longest possible path you could make the walkers take in the Garbage Disposal map.

I did it by writing a computer program to try every possible combination of placing blocking towers and it turns out there were only 90 unique solutions, so I had it show them all to me so I could look them over and sort by various metrics.

I put them online if anyone is interested...

LINK: Defense Grid Longest Paths (http://www.ian.org/Games/DefenseGrid/)

Sorry if the pages are ugly. I'm not a graphic designer. :-)

Turns out the longest path you can force them to take is just about 3 times longer than the path they use with no towers blocking their way. Not like Last Stand.. you can make some crazy long paths there.

Are you sure your program is correct in finding all possible solutions? How come mine never show up in your list?