PDA

View Full Version : Portal doesn't run: "Server too busy"

fabioromeu
05-14-2010, 08:04 PM
I'm new to Steam and this is the first time I'm running a game from it. The thing is, I downloaded Portal 100% and played along yesterday with no problems at all. Today I tried to resume it and all I got was the message "Server too busy" that many people saw. And I tried many times today.

So an eyebrow is raised. I can't play Portal even with all the files already validated? Will I need to hope for a successful connection every single time I want to play a game?

Don't get me wrong, I'm happy to see Steam coming to Mac and was ready to pay for Portal before knowing it was free, but I really need to know if I can actually play the games I'm getting.

I saw a solution here (http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1268621) that, as brilliant as it is, is an absurd hack to something that should be user-friendly. Also, I have a vanilla install of Snow Leopard and the game worked fine before, so I don't think that's an issue. Also there's no firewall nor anything like it running, and changing the server's location in preferences does nothing.

So, dear Valve, what is happening? Why can't I play Portal? Are the servers under that much of stress to deny a simple check?

Aerinbear
05-15-2010, 02:47 AM
I'm getting the same error. I posted about it in the Portal forums, but someone mentioned that this might be a more appropriate place to post.

MammalBot
05-15-2010, 12:28 PM
I was also referred here from the windows forum... that is an absurd hack...

Hoggle
05-15-2010, 02:01 PM
I had this problem for two days. I uninstalled Portal, then re-downloaded it, and everything works great now.

fabioromeu
05-15-2010, 07:11 PM