PDA

View Full Version : Do FEAR support 1920*1080 res?


montyswe
05-22-2010, 01:37 AM
/Use search... Thread closed.
Hi guys,

Anyone know if the first F.E.A.R supports 1920*1080?
And how about Crossfire?

cheers

DarthPsymon
05-22-2010, 02:27 AM
first result (http://www.computerforum.com/59151-f-e-r-supported-resolution-problems.html)from googling
crossfire (http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,2845,2009952,00.asp)

The res change works, I've done it myself.
No idea about SLI or crossfire.

StingingVelvet
05-22-2010, 03:14 AM
Yes.

Natively.

When patched.

arizonachris
05-22-2010, 04:05 AM
Yes.
When patched.

Aren't all Steam games supposed to have the latest patches?

Chizu
05-22-2010, 07:52 AM
The steam version is patched to the latest version, so it supports widescreen resolutions.

Not sure about the expansions, because they did not natively support them unless it was patched in to them later.

Stixsworld
05-22-2010, 09:03 AM
here is your answer...

http://www.stixsworld.com/fear/F.E.A.R.1.jpg

---Stixsmaster

jalong
05-22-2010, 09:31 AM
The steam version is patched to the latest version, so it supports widescreen resolutions.

Not sure about the expansions, because they did not natively support them unless it was patched in to them later.


For the expansions, go to .\Public\Documents\TimeGate Studios\FEARXP and edit "Screenwidth" and "Screenheight" in settings.cfg

montyswe
05-22-2010, 09:43 AM
here is your answer...

http://www.stixsworld.com/fear/F.E.A.R.1.jpg

---Stixsmaster

Hahahaha. Thankyou man. Well, I just tried the game and it works great. Remember when I played the game when it was released - real bad performance. Now it runs great (not a surprise since itīs an "old" game and Im on ATI Crossfire 5870...). All maxed with AA and AF etc. Gonna have some fun with this game.

cheers

tehwhale
05-22-2010, 09:47 AM
F.E.A.R.: Extraction Point doesn't. I checked.

The others do.

Stixsworld
05-22-2010, 09:55 AM
F.E.A.R. Extraction Point does support 1920x1080...here is another screeny proving it: http://www.stixsworld.com/fear/F.E.A.R.Extraction1.jpg

Thank you come again...

---Stixsmaster

tehwhale
05-22-2010, 09:56 AM
F.E.A.R. Extraction Point does support 1920x1080...here is another screeny proving it: http://www.stixsworld.com/fear/F.E.A.R.Extraction1.jpg

Thank you come again...

---StixsmasterHmm, alright, I'll take another look.

How exactly did you do it? It won't let me choose 1920x1080 from the options menu.

Stixsworld
05-22-2010, 09:58 AM
I suggest looking online for a tutorial on how to do it....its quite simple...just gotta know where to look...

---Stixsmaster

P.S. it is like how it is for F.E.A.R. and the other expansion for it...it should be native as in you select it from ingame menu but it isnt for sum odd reason...instead look for a file to edit...and well the game obviously isnt optimized for that resolution just like it is in F.E.A.R. and the other expansion...lol...

siSINka
05-22-2010, 09:59 AM
For Extraction Point:
Try set resolution directly in file "settings.cfg" (directory
c:\Doc and Sett..\All Users\Doc..\TimeGate Studios\FEARXP

I set so my (native) resolution 1280*1024.

Spruu
05-22-2010, 10:00 AM
Hmm, alright, I'll take another look.

How exactly did you do it? It won't let me choose 1920x1080 from the options menu.

http://www.widescreengamingforum.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=56&t=9670&start=0

There you go.

tehwhale
05-22-2010, 10:04 AM
So, in other words, just edit the file in: My Documents\TimeGate Studios\FEARXP\settings.cfg

Thanks.

Sgt_Pepper
05-22-2010, 10:33 AM
So there is no "proper" support on EP for widescreen then?

tehwhale
05-22-2010, 11:10 AM
So there is no "proper" support on EP for widescreen then?Doesn't appear so, no.

EvaUnit02
05-22-2010, 11:40 AM
Native widescreen res support from the game menu was added in v1.08, Extraction Point (XP) runs off of the v1.07 codebase and was never patched. As others have previously mentioned you can just change the res from the CFG file and it's a proper horiz+ FOV widescreen implementation, not a big deal at all at the end of the day.

You'll also find that XP will run worse than either vanilla FEAR or Perseus Mandate, that's because v1.08 had a lot of optimisations that greatly increased performance.

Stixsworld
05-22-2010, 12:31 PM
Ummm I actually find XP to run just as good as any of the others...and to be honest just because its native doesnt mean the game has been properly optimized for the resolution...so technically in my book it doesnt really make it native...

Good example...I use 1920x1080 in F.E.A.R. and well it gets a nice * next to it...if you actually take time to read what the menu says about youd notice it clearly states the game is not optimized for that resolution...

If needed ask...and ill get a quick screenshot for you...

I really think people here need to understand just because you can easily select in the menu does not all a sudden make it native...NO! Unless the developers actually made the game to really properly 100% run in that rez like they did for others then yes...all they did with v1.08 was try and shut everyone up about having to take their time finding the .cfg files or w/e to increase their rez to the size they want it to be...

So yes technically none of these support proper widescreen...its just there in the menus for the first game and the 3rd expansion as people were ♥♥♥♥♥ing about it not being available at all or because they were ♥♥♥♥♥ing about all the steps to get it...

Thank you and come again...

---Stixsmaster