PDA

View Full Version : So HL2 is finally Multithreaded...


Scholzpdx
05-26-2010, 02:06 PM
This really helps improve performance on some machines. My Q8200 @ 2.8ghz would sometimes dip into the 50-60fps range (micro stutters all the way down to 7-15fps in half second intervals) and would make tough situations even tougher. Now that HL2 uses about 40-60% of my CPU, i typically don't hit below 70fps now with the update. Usually around 140-220fps. To be honest, this is where it should have been all along.

The lowest and most demanding part so far has been the courtyard (where the intro screen takes place). When you stand in th very corner it still hit around 50fps. I'd imagine because so much of the level is being rendered 100% at the time.

Q8200 @ 2.8ghz
4GB DDR2 800
Radeon 4830 512mb Oced
22" 1680x1050 4XAA 16XAF

BirdKiller
05-26-2010, 02:30 PM
Something's wrong with your end considering that Half Life 2 could be run with gaming PC's five or six years ago at max settings at 60 or higher FPS.

To be honest, Half Life 2 supporting multiple core CPUs is overkill.

saivert
05-26-2010, 03:05 PM
but why cant you set higher than 8x AA while you can set up to 16x in Episode One?

Scholzpdx
05-26-2010, 05:51 PM
but why cant you set higher than 8x AA while you can set up to 16x in Episode One?

That's an entirely different thing. That's more of a bug. Multithreading is a feature. Even though most bug are discovered and thought of as features, lacking AA options is not.