PDA

View Full Version : game crashes


Directx10
06-12-2010, 09:44 PM
Every time I play, I can only last anywhere from 15 minutes to an hour before getting a crash with the windows error saying this application has encountered an error blah blah blah. I'll try and get a cap of what the error says exxactly next time it comes up.

Last time it happened was loading a new area, and before that was in combat no similarity I can think of.
I tried verifying the files and steam said I was A-ok.

system specs:
win XP
P4 3.2ghz
3gb ram
8800GS video card
X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro Series

updated the video card drivers last night trying to fix it. DLing an update for the sound card just to eliminate that possibility.

Anybody know whats going on or how to fix it?

Fumciasty
06-13-2010, 02:11 AM
1) Do any other games or programs crash once in a while?
2) Do you have a program which would allow you to see your CPU and GPU temperatures?
3) Did you add RAM recently? If yes, are all your RAM sticks identical models?

Kytaras
06-13-2010, 07:35 AM
I am having this same issue. I only installed it yesterday and have spent the whole day today fixing issues with getting this damn game to run. finally got it to actually get past the main menu. then fixed the music file issue and now it randomly crashes. If anyone has any ideas that can help ..... most appreciated, my patience is starting to wear thin with this game

Directx10
06-13-2010, 09:51 AM
1) Do any other games or programs crash once in a while?
2) Do you have a program which would allow you to see your CPU and GPU temperatures?
3) Did you add RAM recently? If yes, are all your RAM sticks identical models?

1) nope, none noticable recently
2)speedfan, i'll investigate how hot it's getting in there.
3)nope

EDIT: not overheating, its a fairly chill 61-62 C when the crash occurs. I idle at 58 C so its not the heat.

I can't figure out how to save the error report I get though to figure it out more.

Fumciasty
06-13-2010, 01:23 PM
Damn. Then I have no idea. It seems the game doesn't like your PC for some reason :/
Codecs etc.?

Venusaur
06-13-2010, 04:57 PM
Yeah, im crashing too, thanks for the wasted money...

Directx10
06-14-2010, 09:15 PM
Damn. Then I have no idea. It seems the game doesn't like your PC for some reason :/
Codecs etc.?

Yes I think it is the codecs.

I did this patch http://nightmare2013.brashendeavors.net/
to reset the codecs to windows default, then I had an error with keyboard/mouse stop responding mid game which I fixed by installing the k-lite codec pack.

Now I've gone over an hour straight with no crashes. I would test longer, but life gets in the way.