PDA

View Full Version : Crash to desktop trying to change resolution in CoD2


Grue12
06-17-2010, 01:22 AM
(FIX FOUND)

The default 640x480 doesn't change to anything - I tried 800x600, 1680x1050, 1920x1080 (my native resolution). No, the line in the game preferences circles around your supported resolutions - but after clicking on "Apply" the game shows a black screen then crashes to desktop with a window ("cod2sp_s.exe has stopped working...").

OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit Russian
Videocard: NVidia GeForce 250 GTS 1024 Mb
Video driver version: 257.21 (WHQL) (this version was released 2 days ago)

I haven't tried older drivers - bought CoD2 on Steam just yesterday.

---------------------------------------------------------

I found a workaround. Edit in Notepad the file <STEAM PATH>\steamapps\common\call of duty 2\main\players\<PROFILE>\config.cfg and change the line

seta r_mode "640x480"

to

seta r_mode "1920x1080"

(you need to put your own resolution here).

After that you can edit any other graphic options except the resolution in the game itself - only don't touch the resolution!

Trial&Error
06-17-2010, 01:27 AM
Looks like Call of Duty 2 are getting errors on Windows 7, as I have seen in other posts. Don't worry, other people might help you.

Grue12
06-17-2010, 05:31 AM
Ok, I found a workaround. See first post.

MISMCSA
07-28-2010, 06:37 AM
Unfortunately, this workaround isn't working for me. My native resolution is 1920x1080, and I changed the same settings, as you suggested. Once I load the game, it resets itself to 640x480. If I got into the config file after the game was started, the setting I changed now reads "640x480"

Have you heard of any other fixes?

XxJoshxX
12-29-2010, 09:10 PM
Same problem here... ive googled it and still nothing

Bundo41387
07-25-2011, 08:06 AM
I imagine that the problem's been solved, but just in case here's a fix that should work:

I just bought CoD 2 the other night, and experienced the same resolution crash as described in this thread. I didn't attempt the workaround in the first post, but I did find something that seems to have worked.

-Enter the game in safe-mode (I did it by choosing the option from the error reporter upon relaunching the game after trying to change the resolution)
-Start a new game
-Return to menu at earliest opportunity, set the graphics to whatever you desire (the game SHOULDN'T crash. It didn't for me, your results may vary)
-Play the game to a checkpoint, quit, then relaunch normally through Steam

When I relaunched, the game settings I chose in safe-mode had carried over. I didn't continue playing however, so there are potentially still some problems. After work I'll get back into it. Hope this helps!

rhAps0dy
09-03-2011, 06:54 PM
Workaround worked for me - thanks!

Glowhyena
09-04-2011, 02:29 AM
Call of Duty 2 worked on Windows XP perfectly. After I got and installed Windows 7, the game crashed when tried changing resolution (in the game). So, I went to its folder to hunt down for the config file. I changed the resolution and relaunched the game. It worked, but it crashed when I changed the graphic opinion. However strange, it stay I changed before crash.

Now, it really works.

Grue12, I gave you a rep for the workaround that's for gamers who play CoD2 on Win7, I'm glad you found the solution. :3

Call of Duty 2 is the best all time... Better than Modern Warfare series. Heh!

kukid1987
09-05-2011, 01:20 PM
Work for me

C00kied
09-05-2011, 11:43 PM
Thanks workaround worked :) .

sean_blaik
09-06-2011, 11:47 AM
Unfortunately, this workaround isn't working for me. My native resolution is 1920x1080, and I changed the same settings, as you suggested. Once I load the game, it resets itself to 640x480. If I got into the config file after the game was started, the setting I changed now reads "640x480"

Have you heard of any other fixes?

Try making the file read only.

right click - properties if you didn't know.

Zulu Smasher
09-24-2011, 04:58 PM
Thanks grue, worked grat

SturmB
11-28-2011, 06:25 PM
First of all, thanks to Grue12 for finding an acceptable fix for the resolution-change-CTD issue. Second, I'd like to ask if anyone knows how to change the other video options in that same config.cfg file.

See, changing the resolution in CoD2 isn't the only thing that causes the game to crash. I've discovered that one or two other controls in that section of Options also cause the game to crash when you try to change them. I haven't tried, but I'm willing to bet that all of the controls in the Graphics Options area of the game cause it to CTD whenever you try to change them.

Therefore, if anyone knows how to decipher all of the graphics options in config.cfg, I'll gladly just make the changes there. I have a relatively high-end machine and would like to max everything out, but every time I make a graphics change in the game, I get a CTD. Any help would be much appreciated! Thanks!

Jericho_X
02-24-2012, 04:07 PM
None of the above solutions worked for me! But I found another that worked for me!

Go to your "Steam\steamapps\common\call of duty 2" folder.
Right Click "CoD2SP_s.exe" and select properties.
Go to the compability tab.
Down at the bottom, select "run this program as administrator"''

After this you can change any options in the game without crashing!

esselocco
03-05-2012, 02:12 PM
thanks it worked for me!

SnakeyeZ |503|
08-19-2012, 03:08 PM
Worked great, Sticky this plz