PDA

View Full Version : Wasting my bandwidth


Syphurous
06-20-2010, 11:08 PM
Thanks for deleting the game, and then reinstalling it again. Having bandwidth caps here in NZ, its pretty much going to cost me another months worth of bandwidth due to having to re-download.

AlphaFox
06-21-2010, 01:56 AM
Steam would not just delete the game. You must have done something to trigger it. Could you explain in depth what happend please?

Benoire
06-21-2010, 02:22 AM
Mine has just done exactly the same thing. Haven't loaded up Steam since last week, but now that I have my fully installed copy of X3:TC is now doing a full re-download for no apparent reason what so ever. Again, in NZ and capped at 60GB so this ain't handy at all.

/Edit: Found out that the latest hotfix caused this problem for me, which was released on the 17th.

Syphurous
06-21-2010, 07:31 AM
I turn on my PC, steam goes off gets my update. I see it wants to download 7.6gig, I assume its just the bug where the counter resets and and quickly starts "downloading" as it validates cache. THis goes on for 20 minutes and its still only at 9 mb. So I check the installtion folder. Its only a couple hundred mb.

Cheers.

unserene
06-21-2010, 01:13 PM
/Edit: Found out that the latest hotfix caused this problem for me, which was released on the 17th.

Didn't happen to me. If that were truly the case there would be a lot more complaints here.
Did you or the OP happen to uninstall Steam at any point? Because that's the only circumstance I can think of for Steam to delete your game.

Xenon_Slayer
06-21-2010, 01:33 PM
There have been several reports like this and STEAM have said they will look into it.

Cyc33
06-22-2010, 10:48 AM
Yip, happened to me as well and I actually think this happened to my friend with a different game as well because he also had to download basically the whole game again.

ZanyCynic
06-23-2010, 05:22 AM
In this thread it seems to be case for someone who installed it first NOT from steam:
http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1313390
So perhaps it happens to these people ?

unserene
06-23-2010, 12:35 PM
In this thread it seems to be case for someone who installed it first NOT from steam:
http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1313390
So perhaps it happens to these people ?

That's how I installed mine.

Syphurous
06-24-2010, 10:22 AM
Brought and installed off Steam.

ZanyCynic
06-25-2010, 03:11 AM
Brought and installed off Steam.

My english is not good enough to be sure about your two actions:
- brought == bought ?
- off Steam == not from steam ?

Shiny-Crowbar
06-25-2010, 11:41 AM
2.7.1 update was around 1.5MB but steam downloaded 89MB.It didn't even replace the non steam exe I've been using.2.7 patch was around 17MB and steam wanted to download 7.5GB and even deleted the existing content.Thankfully I had a full backup and now I set steam to not to auto update,let's see if it will stop breaking my installation.

&T: Source
06-26-2010, 01:27 AM
My english is not good enough to be sure about your two actions:
- brought == bought ?
- off Steam == not from steam ?
brought == bought ? = Correct.
off Steam == from steam.

CyberKiller3000
06-27-2010, 05:22 AM
Steam keeps trying to redownload the game over and over again for me as well.... All the 7GB of game files are there it just seems to be overwriting them over and over again.

AND IT WONT LET ME PLAY THE GAME!!! :mad:

EDIT:
Interesting.... It seems to have settled down now.

I am fed up of it's random downloading for seemingly no reason though.