PDA

View Full Version : Pipe Stacking, is it frowned upon?

Aelok
07-07-2010, 10:09 AM
I'm talking about everyone swapping to demoman for the patriarch, buying pipe bombs, stacking them all in a pile hopefully in a narrow hallway right outside the trader, buying more, and repeating. This nukes the boss to death very easily if your team does it.

However, I can't for the life of me get my newb ♥♥♥♥ teammates to do this strategy. I get it, a lot of people are new to the game right now because of the sale, and a lot of people are pretty petty and will do everything in their power to spite the guy that comes up with a plan under the motto "You can't tell me how to play!" (despite the strategy being suggested as a question rather than demanded from the team).

But i'm pretty new to the game, I baught it during the recent sale too, so... I don't consider newbness to be an excuse for blatant stupidity. I mean, even when my team does agree to do this, they just stand there and watch me do it, maybe type the occasional "lololo" thinking it's funny to see so many explosives in one place, I assume? Maybe the pretty flashing light mesmerizes them? I really don't know.

So does the community for this game consider pipe stacking to be a 'bad thing'? I for the life of me just can't rally my newb squad into ever doing this :(

(This is on normal difficulty servers)

ASecondOpinion
07-07-2010, 10:11 AM
I certainly don't mind it.
While I'm not one to suggest that pipe-stacking is how we should fight the Patriarch, if someone else suggests it - or if someone else starts doing it - I'll join in and try to help.

The 1st Wasted
07-07-2010, 10:16 AM
Against the Patty is ok. However, staking you pipe on someone elses during the normal waves is not a good thing, drop it a few feet behind.

Aelok
07-07-2010, 10:18 AM
Against the Patty is ok. However, staking you pipe on someone elses during the normal waves is not a good thing, drop it a few feet behind.