PDA

View Full Version : Modding -- For the first time.

Uhfgood
07-07-2010, 10:17 PM
Hello, my name is Keith, I've posted a few messages here. I really enjoyed Unreal 1 back in the day (I still have my cd copy). I'm a programmer by (for lack of a better term -- as I don't actually make a living off of it) trade. Specifically I make 2D games. I knew eventually I would want to get into 3d, however I have absolutely no experience with it at all. I figured the best way to learn 3d game development would be to start out with modding. A lot of things came together to get me to buy the steam unreal-deal, and I did that. So basically starting around the end of august I'm going to learn some aspect of modding (particularly interested in 3d level design, which probably mostly means map making). I just want to know which game in the pack is best for modding (ie probably what has the biggest community). the pack came with unreal 1 and 2 (I don't think these are really usable for learning purposes as they're somewhat older and probably don't have that big of a modding community), Unreal Tournament, Unreal Tournament 3, and Unreal Tournament 2004 -- So what in your opinion would be the best one to start with. Also is there an opportunity or ability to create single player mods, or is that only for multiplayer stuff? Also if anyone can point me to some resources for beginners in the modding arena let me know.

Thanks

nirgoren
07-08-2010, 07:59 AM
You can start making games using the unreal development kit (http://www.udk.com/) Epic released for free, it's a better way to make unreal engine based games, it gives you everything you need and gives you access to the best unreal engine based graphics. You can get alot of support, it has many guides and people at these forums can help you:http://forums.epicgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=371

Uhfgood
07-14-2010, 01:13 PM