View Full Version : Shadows are... broken?

07-11-2010, 12:30 AM
I've been playing the game for the free weekend and I've noticed the game is acting kinda broken in regards to dynamic shadows and smoke (?). It seems they're all shoved up to about the middle of the screen.

System: Windows 7 Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3 GB of RAM GeForce 8800 GTS SB X-Fi Go!

The following are links to a few screenshots I took.
Smoke in the starting area's secret area... (http://img805.imageshack.us/img805/1512/101palenque0001.png)
Shadows in the temple... (http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/3140/101palenque0007.png)
Light sources in the temple. (http://img696.imageshack.us/img696/7800/101palenque0009.png)

Apologies in advance if this is a question that has been already answered, but I've yet to find anything with an answer or similar problem.

07-11-2010, 03:32 AM
That's weird. I've never seen anything like it before.

My only suggestion would be to tweak graphical settings and / or try other driver versions...

07-11-2010, 04:28 AM
Use Shadow Format: RGBA16F, it should help.

07-11-2010, 06:45 AM
Looks like something is wrong with your driver.

07-12-2010, 09:40 AM
Shadows ARE broken in Left 4 Dead. I've actually got used to shooting at shadows, knowing they indicate zombies on the other side of the wall. Sadly, when I shoot at shadows in SSSEHD - and I did this several times by reflex - it doesn't help me to kill anything. Strange and sweet to be playing a game where shadows actually work. Please let Valve know how you managed that. Thanks.

07-12-2010, 12:25 PM
So, I've kinda gotten things to work by flicking through the shadow settings every time I play. It doesn't seem to work all the time, or constantly stay working, but it'll have to do...