PDA

View Full Version : all settings on extra


bcham
07-13-2010, 07:46 AM
does any one play with all settings on extra,when i play all on extra after 2 maps i get black screen and crash while loading next map,if i drop settings to specular on high, it runs fine,
gtx260(216)
q6600@3ghz
4 gig ram
but this card should run it maxed,i get costant 80fps.

riZen
07-13-2010, 07:51 AM
Yeah, and i only have 9800GT 2GB ram get 60fps easy.

R-DeifY
07-13-2010, 08:28 AM
im playing on extra,
i have Phenom II 945, 8600GT and 4GB Ram... running smoothly idk how much fps
no problems, only the net ones =]]]

Brusilov
07-13-2010, 10:16 AM
If you get a black screen after playing two maps it sounds like the memory on the card is not being freed-up (which is rare).

Is it just the game crashing or the PC locking up? If the PC locks up it may simply be an overheating problem.

What drivers are you using for the GTX260? I have a GTX295 and am using the latest drivers (257.21). Sometimes drivers can not be suitable for some games - did you have the same problem before? If not try and use an earlier version of the drivers - if you still get lock ups then it's not the drivers but your card.

I play with max settings with my GTX295 at 2560x1600 resolution and get an fps of around 90. My second GTX295 got zapped the other week and I should get a replacement (under warranty) tomorrow.

bcham
07-13-2010, 10:28 AM
If you get a black screen after playing two maps it sounds like the memory on the card is not being freed-up (which is rare).

Is it just the game crashing or the PC locking up? If the PC locks up it may simply be an overheating problem.

What drivers are you using for the GTX260? I have a GTX295 and am using the latest drivers (257.21). Sometimes drivers can not be suitable for some games - did you have the same problem before? If not try and use an earlier version of the drivers - if you still get lock ups then it's not the drivers but your card.

I play with max settings with my GTX295 at 2560x1600 resolution and get an fps of around 90. My second GTX295 got zapped the other week and I should get a replacement (under warranty) tomorrow.
ive tried lots of different drivers.this happened with my last card 9800gtx.so i replaced it with this gtx260 and it still happens,so it cant be the driver or the card,i have to ctr alt delete to shut it down ,error message is 800700e ran out of memory.
could it be my over clocked q6600,but all other games run ok.

Brusilov
07-13-2010, 10:36 AM
Do you know if the 'out of memory' is referring to the graphics card or your main memory?

http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1022366

I found another post where they also stated that turing down specular settings fixed it.

bcham
07-13-2010, 11:03 AM
Do you know if the 'out of memory' is referring to the graphics card or your main memory?

http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1022366

I found another post where they also stated that turing down specular settings fixed it.

dont know if means system ram or g,card ram,weird why it only happens to a certain few,

BroflMouth
07-13-2010, 11:12 AM
This could be from overheating. Try running only certain things on Extra and see which setting causes the crash.

bcham
07-13-2010, 11:24 AM
This could be from overheating. Try running only certain things on Extra and see which setting causes the crash.

it crashes when specular map is on extra,dont think it can be overheating ,as it crashes while loading next map,never cra
shes ingame.

jxttzou
07-13-2010, 11:34 AM
I can play with everything on extra, specs are:

Intel core i7 920
3gb ram
HD4870

Good to play on 1920x1080 on my iiyama 26 inch :D

Fr4gM4t!c*
07-13-2010, 11:43 AM
i also can play with everything on extra,

core i7 860
8gb RAM
gtx 260 Limited edition

play with 1650 x 1080 on samsung 22"

vernam
07-13-2010, 12:02 PM
I think you should try to load all maps on extra in a Private Match, because some maps (for example Salvage) are buggy and lack Extra textures. If just some of the maps cause the freeze accept having to play on High settings. :(

RangerXML
07-13-2010, 12:09 PM
FPS are locked somewhere around 80fps, no matter the system. I have the game set to 120hz on a 120hz monitor and if I turn on vsync (in-game options) it will go over 80fps. Desktop I always run everything on extra and I have no problems with crashes, I also overwrite the AA via NV control panel (AAx4, Trans AA x4SS, and AFx16).

q6700@3.33ghz
4GB RAM
eVGA GTX480 (vanilla)

BroflMouth
07-13-2010, 12:12 PM
I think you should try to load all maps on extra in a Private Match, because some maps (for example Salvage) are buggy and lack Extra textures. If just some of the maps cause the freeze accept having to play on High settings. :(
Try this.

Mastershroom
07-13-2010, 12:38 PM
It's a known issue that some of the DLC maps are not compatible with Extra textures/specular.

BroflMouth
07-13-2010, 12:39 PM
It's a known issue that some of the DLC maps are not compatible with Extra textures/specular.
I run the game with all Extra settings and I have both DLC packs, what are the known issues?

Leif
07-13-2010, 04:32 PM
Got both DLCs run everything maxed 1920*1080
Also got GTX260 with latest drivers got no lagg no black screens