PDA

View Full Version : How not to get annihilated by Starships in the beginng of the game?

He@vens
07-19-2010, 08:11 AM
Hello everyone,

Fantastic game you made here guys, I'm having loads of fun, plenty of difficulties to chose from, amazing diversity of ships, conquer the galaxy your own way, very impressive game that doesn't look like much at first glance, well done. Overall the game is filled with great ideas and amazingness only comparable to the prize it deserves.

That out of the way, I'm a newbie in need of help:

I started recently a game (random easy/moderate AI, 7/7 difficulty, 50 planets, latest Beta Patch, no minors and Raptor as special ship).

My problem is the two wormholes out of my system lead to a Starfleet Commander AI who favors Starships.

Usually taking a few systems is not a problem but here i get annihilated even if i choose to attack his weakest system.

I tried an army of 100/100/100 Fighters/Bombers/Cruisers followed by a Mobile Repair Station but there's nothing i can do, he kills me nice and good with Starships of every kind at close combat and Dreads who pound me from long range.

So,

- Do i have to micro a lot to be able to take at least one system to be able to get a bigger army? (send all my Fighters to attack the dreads maybe?)

- Should i send Raptors? (they seem kinda weak for that type of engagement)

- Should I start the game building Starships of my own?

Any kind of help and advice would be greatly and kindly apreciated (I don't wanna give up on this map and teach that AI a lesson, if i can ^^)

x4000
07-20-2010, 07:05 AM
Many thanks for your support, and glad you're enjoying the game!

If you're a new player, though, I'd recommend staying away from the starfleet commanders entirely. Those really ought to be a technologist ai type, they are super hard to play against.