PDA

View Full Version : Super will definitely release on PC

Viscera
07-25-2010, 10:01 PM
I'm not an industry professional but I'm interested in and eagerly awaiting SSFIV to release on PC (preferably Steam). I'm pretty confident that it will release on pc for a couple reasons.

1). Capcom has supported steam for years- Lost Planet, Colonies edition, Resident Evil 5, Bionic Commando, Devil may Cry, etc., etc. There has been a healthy business relationship between Steam and Capcom. AAMOF Capcom was one of the first publishers to get on Steam and only after making huge profits did other companies get on board (Lucasarts, Ubisoft, EA).

2). The Steam delivery system is way more profitable for the game manufacturer. If a game costs 50 dol. retail, the game manufacturer makes 6-9 bucks profit in the trditional retail store. There are manufacturing costs, (warehousing, packaging, shipment costs, etc.) that are eliminated with online delivery. This allows Capcom and other companies to pull in a $30 dollar profit for the same game @ the same price - incidentally, that's why you can find huge discounts on steam)

3). Live and Steam have right around the same number of subscribers (about 25 million each) with an average of 1.1-2.4 mil. active at any time. That is too big a number to exclude. With the potential to reach 25mil. more people with a hot commodity like SSFIV, why would Capcom say "no" to close to a Billion dollars (25mil.x 30 potential profit = 750 million)

4). It cost nothing extra to deliver it on Steam. just place the game on Steam's severs and wait for the money to come in. Cut steam in for a share of the profit and that's it.