PDA

View Full Version : ARMA 1 not starting, Win7 64bit


LetJimiTakeOver
07-28-2010, 03:43 PM
Ok, first off it's not a problem with my hardware. My rig can run Crysis and ARMA2 demo maxed out without problems.

Secondly, I've re-downloaded this game 3 or 4 times (just to make sure a corrupt download wasn't the culprit) but I'm still having no luck.

On to the problem itself: I click the Play button within Steam and see that little row of ticked boxes. Then I get a black screen with the Win7 egg timer cursor and then nothing happens.

To get out of the black screen I need to do a CTRL+ALT+DEL and stop ARMA1 running from there.



Any ideas of what's wrong guys? Has this problem been seen before?

Any help would be very much appreciated. Thanks.

Dwarden
07-28-2010, 05:12 PM
tried use 1.18 RC patch ?

see sticky http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1233446

AussieSausage
07-28-2010, 05:17 PM
try running the game in windowed mode via steam launch options

this happens to me, wont work unless windowed, stupid cause i hate windowed mode

LetJimiTakeOver
07-28-2010, 07:49 PM
tried use 1.18 RC patch ?

see sticky http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1233446

Worked like a charm. Thanks!

Sprats
12-29-2010, 12:59 PM
i got same problem, but the problem is, i cant install the patch, it says the game cannot be found or the files are corrupt..

i tried installing patch 1.16 and lower patches, even up to patch 1.05 but its the same.. help? :<

Dwarden
12-29-2010, 05:30 PM
check integrity of file cache, then run once ARMA 1 (after check you need do that so key and path is entered into registry)
then run then patch

Wolfseven
08-09-2011, 03:48 PM
arma i freezs when I start it. will not let me use mouse

Dwarden
08-10-2011, 03:09 PM
do you have latest OpenAL version, sounds familiar to that bug