View Full Version : FC2 uses OpenAL or Directsound3D? ALchemy?

08-10-2010, 12:15 AM
It appears on Creative's ALchemy list, but I have a hard time believing it, being released in 2008, still uses only DS3D and thus requires ALchemy for proper sound under Vista or 7.

Can anybody confirm one way or another?

08-19-2010, 08:13 PM

08-24-2010, 02:51 PM
I don't own this game my self but seeing as assassin's creed does too and was released the same year and also made by ubisoft I don't have a hard time believing this.

09-21-2010, 07:27 AM
This (http://connect.creativelabs.com/alchemy/Lists/Games/DispForm.aspx?ID=254) says that the API is DirectSound3D.

I didn't even know this game had EAX in it. Have it play it again now.

09-21-2010, 12:47 PM
Why would they release a game in 2008 that will not have proper sound (unless you have a Creative card and download and install and configure a workaround application)?

05-02-2011, 06:20 PM
You have to add it to alchemy then go to far cry 2\Data_Win32\SoundBinary folder and edit dare.ini change the DISABLE_OPTIMISATION line to flase and edit the NB_AUDIBLE_VOICES line to whatever you sound card supports. 64 for audigy and 128 for x-fi.