PDA

View Full Version : I need to know, from the start step-by-step how to get ARMA2+OA to run addons


SnakeTheFox
08-27-2010, 08:37 PM
The basic cliffnotes premise of all this: from a base Steam install of Operation Arrowhead, followed by ARMA 2, how do I get (example only) http://www.armaholic.com/page.php?id=6231 this very crucial addon to work with them via Steam, from the beginning.

I am completely and entirely stumped. I have reached the stage in computer-related frustration where the whole process has completely ♥♥♥♥ed my brain out of any higher logic or rationality, and I have become a giant profanity spewing confused mess, so please explain it to me with as much detail as possible. I really need help.

The following quoted text is incredibly long and wordy so skip it if you want, but it contains a lot of details.

I have been sitting around now for the better part of a day trying to figure this out. I'm a veteran of OFP and ARMA, back when everyone would just dump .pbo's into their addons folder. ARMA 2 is apparently a new breed, and I'm set on doing this the "right" way with modfolders.

I'll start at the beginning and try to make this quick. I bought ARMA 2 + OA yesterday via Steam. I installed OA first, played around with it, then installed ARMA 2. I am now completely confused as to how to use addons in combined ops.

How do I know if the two games are "synced"? I have two folders in my Steamapps folder, one for ARMA 2 and one for OA. There is no CO folder or CO executable (except for the launch option via Steam). Is this a problem? I see the option to launch Combined Operations in the Steam UI. Can someone tell me how to properly "merge" them without linking to http://forums.bistudio.com/showthread.php?t=101214, which I, honestly (and not to insult the fellow who wrote it) cannot decipher into English. It seems his directions are split up all over the place (which is contagious as you can tell by this long question) and I can't understand what the basic instructions are, not to mention there is no download on that page.

I've tried adding the correct "-mod=@CBA" parameters to shortcuts for both OA and ARMA 2. Launching the game via the Combined Operations option in Steam doesn't work, as CBA isn't in the "Expansions" menu, but putting the parameter in a shortcut for OA and launching via the OA shortcut does half-work, but I get a ton of error messages and it has no ARMA 2 content. How do I add "-mod@whatever" things, without a dedicated Combined Operations shortcut?

cainx10a
08-27-2010, 09:14 PM
I was doodling about this for a while, and decided to just mess around with the -mod whatever, and use the steam shortcut under OA - Combined Operations to launch the game. Combined Operations as you already know it, merge ARMA 2 with the superb additions of Operation Arrowhead. If you have both game on Steam, I don't think you have to work any magic to merge it, the .exe file is already in the OA folder, I think it's .cmd (or script file), you can always just make a shortcut on your desktop and change the icon to make it look more user-friendly I guess.

The only mods so far I have been using are the islands created by Icebreaker, weapon packs, and a few skins/models.

1. Modfolder Tutorial
http://www.armedassault.info/index.php?cat=articles&class=faq
+ try to keep the folder name simple enough so you know what's inside as well as easing up adding the path name in the second step

Summary: You just downloaded a new Mod that say, add a new island.
./@Mod_Name/AddOns
-- Add the @Mod_Name folder under your Operation Arrowhead directory, which should be something like:
C:/Program Files(x86)/steam/steamapps/common/arma 2 Operation Arrowhead/

2. Add the mod shortcut to your .exe via the steam interface
- Right-click on Operation Arrowhead in your steam library and go to properties
- click on Launch options and do the following:
+ by default this should be empty
++ remove the quotation in the example below

"-mod=@modfolder1;@modfolder2;@modfolder3;"

so it starts with: -mod=
followed by the name of your modfolder: @modfolder1
and you complete this little sentence with the semicolon: @modfolder1;
and if you want to add more modfolders, add the folder name after the semicolon: @modfolder1;@modfolder2;

final result:
"-mod=@modfolder1;@modfolder2;@modfolder3;"


So far, I can play ARMA 2 custom missions/campaigns along with the custom islands and mods that were created for ARMA 2 in the combined operation (merged game) without any issue.

My launch options: http://i180.photobucket.com/albums/x125/cainx10a/LaunchOptions.png
My ARMA 2 OA folder: http://i180.photobucket.com/albums/x125/cainx10a/ARMA2Folder.png


And I'm not sure if I'm right on target here, but if you want to get CBA stuff, and you have both OA/A2 installed, you only need the CBA folder, there are two other folders: CBA_A2, CBA_OA, those are only IF you have one of these two installed. So CBA is for when you have both.

mitra76
08-28-2010, 02:49 AM
Yes, but using the steam method, I merge only virtually the two games: IN partical I lost more than 16 giga on the HD space for have two games which with the Combined retail version are only one. When steam will make a true merging permit to free giga of space?

Dwarden
08-28-2010, 11:22 AM
Yes, but using the steam method, I merge only virtually the two games: IN partical I lost more than 16 giga on the HD space for have two games which with the Combined retail version are only one. When steam will make a true merging permit to free giga of space?

this is some misunderstanding of how the reail A2:CO is ...
it still are two games (it even offers optionable standalone install of each product) ...

while there is slight difference in space used when merged into 1 folder ...
the 16GB you speak about is totally misleading and wrong ...

SnakeTheFox
08-28-2010, 06:37 PM
I was doodling about this for a while, and decided to just mess around with the -mod whatever, and use the steam shortcut under OA - Combined Operations to launch the game. Combined Operations as you already know it, merge ARMA 2 with the superb additions of Operation Arrowhead. If you have both game on Steam, I don't think you have to work any magic to merge it, the .exe file is already in the OA folder, I think it's .cmd (or script file), you can always just make a shortcut on your desktop and change the icon to make it look more user-friendly I guess.

The only mods so far I have been using are the islands created by Icebreaker, weapon packs, and a few skins/models.

1. Modfolder Tutorial
http://www.armedassault.info/index.php?cat=articles&class=faq
+ try to keep the folder name simple enough so you know what's inside as well as easing up adding the path name in the second step

Summary: You just downloaded a new Mod that say, add a new island.
./@Mod_Name/AddOns
-- Add the @Mod_Name folder under your Operation Arrowhead directory, which should be something like:
C:/Program Files(x86)/steam/steamapps/common/arma 2 Operation Arrowhead/

2. Add the mod shortcut to your .exe via the steam interface
- Right-click on Operation Arrowhead in your steam library and go to properties
- click on Launch options and do the following:
+ by default this should be empty
++ remove the quotation in the example below

"-mod=@modfolder1;@modfolder2;@modfolder3;"

so it starts with: -mod=
followed by the name of your modfolder: @modfolder1
and you complete this little sentence with the semicolon: @modfolder1;
and if you want to add more modfolders, add the folder name after the semicolon: @modfolder1;@modfolder2;

final result:
"-mod=@modfolder1;@modfolder2;@modfolder3;"


So far, I can play ARMA 2 custom missions/campaigns along with the custom islands and mods that were created for ARMA 2 in the combined operation (merged game) without any issue.

My launch options: http://i180.photobucket.com/albums/x125/cainx10a/LaunchOptions.png
My ARMA 2 OA folder: http://i180.photobucket.com/albums/x125/cainx10a/ARMA2Folder.png


And I'm not sure if I'm right on target here, but if you want to get CBA stuff, and you have both OA/A2 installed, you only need the CBA folder, there are two other folders: CBA_A2, CBA_OA, those are only IF you have one of these two installed. So CBA is for when you have both.

Thank you very much, so far this has worked. I wasn't aware you could add the mod folder commands to the launch preferences. I'll post again in this thread if any problems come up but so far your explanation has provided a solution for adding mods that require ArmA 2, OA, and both.

Size is not a concern (to me), as I have it installed on my 1.5tb internal.

On an unrelated note, I just picked up the BAF addon today and so far it is incredibly fun. The Merlin transport mission in particular has been a nice change of pace, I greatly enjoy playing in the ancillary support roles instead of always having to handle being command of the tip of the spear lead element.

cainx10a
08-28-2010, 10:25 PM
NP bud, I only recently started to mod ARMA 2. There's so much content online, I have no real clue where to start to get the most out of it. (Too lazy to learn to use the editor here).

On a side note, the DLC is great, just finished 'Heat', lost 2 brave souls, but kicked some major buttocks.

TJX
11-07-2010, 08:39 PM
So with the steam version there is no way to simply "activate" the mods in Combined OPs in the Expansions menu? I have to use the .exe shortcut method?

PULEEASE tell me there's going to be a patch that makes this work for STEAM version of CO!

7th_Serf
11-09-2010, 09:57 AM
You could try a launcher. Alpinestars or Yoma's both have launchers that let you run A2:CO with mods and other extensions. Look for them on Armaholic. I personally use command line launches for everything and just have a set of them on notepad that I copy and paste into the launch options when I want to run something out of the ordinary.

phertiker
11-11-2010, 10:55 AM
+1 to using a launcher. Just go to http://www.armaholic.com and pick a launcher to use. That way you can run mods only when you want to actually use them and it's dead simple.

JimBeamBlack
11-14-2010, 07:09 AM
+1 to using a launcher. Just go to http://www.armaholic.com and pick a launcher to use. That way you can run mods only when you want to actually use them and it's dead simple.

Can you recommend a specific launcher file , I have been looking for about 10 mins and have no idea which is a "launcher" and what is not.

I am a total noob at this game (still messing around with the SP scenarios before staring the campaign) , but I would like to grab some sound files to make the guns sound a little better.

thanks!!

vohk
11-14-2010, 11:30 AM
(From a quick google search for "ArmA 2 launchers")

Launchers:

http://www.armaholic.com/page.php?id=8241

^The one I currently use.

http://arma2.paro-technology.com/

http://www.yomatools.be/

JimBeamBlack
11-15-2010, 08:21 AM
DOH!! I shoulda "Bing'd" (don't use Google any more) I get so mind blocked sometimes. I searched that site's download list for Launchers , MOD Launchers etc., and came up with a bunch of hits that lead to nowhere (as far as my noob brain could tell) but never thought about a global search...just gave up.

But , As an apprentice I always like to refer to experience anyways soww thanks for the help!!