PDA

View Full Version : SLI bridge


Snowboy401
09-12-2010, 06:03 AM
Ok I was thinking about getting another card to put in sli, I lost my 2 way sli bridge but I found my 3 way sli bridge. I was wondering if I could use the 3 way or do I need to order a 2 way sli bridge?

DARKNIGHT
09-12-2010, 07:06 AM
You can use the 3way sli bridge for 2 cards, not a problem.

Washell
09-12-2010, 07:08 AM
If the cards have 3-way connectors, you can use it 2-way.

Arbiter
09-12-2010, 11:01 AM
Cards come with a SLI ribbon, you know.

Dragunovhun
09-12-2010, 11:02 AM
Cards come with a SLI ribbon, you know.

No they don't. That's for crossfire. SLi bridges come with the motherboard.

General Jameson
09-12-2010, 01:40 PM
No they don't. That's for crossfire. SLi bridges come with the motherboard.

Wrong also, it is up to manufactures to include it with the accessory pack. Not everyone includes them.

Arbiter
09-12-2010, 01:50 PM
My MSI GTX 480s came with them.

Dragunovhun
09-12-2010, 01:50 PM
Wrong also, it is up to manufactures to include it with the accessory pack. Not everyone includes them.
Similiarly, card manufacturers could include them if they wanted to, but they tend not to.

I don't think i've ever seen an SLi-ready board without the bridge included, that would be lazy.

General Jameson
09-12-2010, 01:56 PM
Here is one. Look at the picture of the accessory pack, no SLI bridge. I have this board and I just bough one from another site for a few bucks or something. I do think I remember seeing a few cards come with bridges very early on, but I am not sure about that.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130235&cm_re=nf750-g55-_-13-130-235-_-Product

rotNdude
09-12-2010, 02:13 PM
Ok I was thinking about getting another card to put in sli, I lost my 2 way sli bridge but I found my 3 way sli bridge. I was wondering if I could use the 3 way or do I need to order a 2 way sli bridge?

Yes, a three-way SLI bridge will work if you're only using two cards.

Dragunovhun
09-12-2010, 03:22 PM
Here is one. Look at the picture of the accessory pack, no SLI bridge.

Well there's one lazy motherboard for you. Although one customer review said his did come with the bride, it's not on the checklist in the manual.

Yes, a three-way SLI bridge will work if you're only using two cards.
Technically yes, but for the bridge to physically fit, he will need cards that have 2 SLi connectors.