PDA

View Full Version : Wiremod For Gmod Mac


Ahippo
09-25-2010, 11:34 AM
I just downloaded Garry's Mod for mac, and while playing multiplayer I was told that the error messages I was seeing would go away if I downloaded wiremod and was directed to http://www.wiremod.com/forum/off-topic/8757-garrysmod-essentials.html. I was wondering, are there any good SVN clients for mac that I can use to do this? (Preferably free.) Thanks.

Also I was wondering, how do you add addons, maps, sweps, and such from garrysmod.org to Garry's Mod?

ObeseCatLord
09-25-2010, 12:18 PM
Also the phx3 is essential, i havnt figured how to download it yet though.

Ahippo
09-25-2010, 01:05 PM
Also the phx3 is essential, i havnt figured how to download it yet though.
Yeah, I need that too.

Bryko614
09-25-2010, 02:24 PM
I used the trial of this, worked fine:
http://www.syncrosvnclient.com/

Ahippo
09-25-2010, 07:12 PM
After you download that, you just follow the instructions on the forum?

Detry322
09-25-2010, 09:19 PM
Its actually very easy (lol incoming wall of text)

Go to Applications -> Utilities -> Terminal.

In Terminal, type in order:

cd ~/Library/Application\ Support/Steam/SteamApps/<YOUR STEAM USERNAME HERE>/garrysmod/garrysmod/addons/

svn co https://wiremod.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/wiremod/trunk/

When it stops spazing (it'll take like 2 mins depending on your internet connection), type:

cd trunk
mv Adv\ Duplicator ..
mv wire ..
mv wire\ model\ pack\ 1 ..
cd ..
sudo rm -r trunk
svn co https://phoenix-storms.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/phoenix-storms/

Finally when it stops spazing (it'll take like 5 mins depending on your internet connection), restart gmod.

By the way, This installs phoenix storms (PHX3) and wiremod.

ultradude25
09-25-2010, 11:18 PM
And I thought Macs were easier to use than Windows.

PriestessPaula
09-25-2010, 11:28 PM
And I thought Macs were easier to use than Windows.

They are.

If you can't google "Subversion Client Mac" then, you can do it in terminal like he suggested.

Ahippo
09-26-2010, 07:12 AM
Its actually very easy (lol incoming wall of text)

Go to Applications -> Utilities -> Terminal.

In Terminal, type in order:

cd ~/Library/Application\ Support/Steam/SteamApps/<YOUR STEAM USERNAME HERE>/garrysmod/garrysmod/addons/

svn co https://wiremod.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/wiremod/trunk/

When it stops spazing (it'll take like 2 mins depending on your internet connection), type:

cd trunk
mv Adv\ Duplicator ..
mv wire ..
mv wire\ model\ pack\ 1 ..
cd ..
sudo rm -r trunk
svn co https://phoenix-storms.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/phoenix-storms/

Finally when it stops spazing (it'll take like 5 mins depending on your internet connection), restart gmod.

By the way, This installs phoenix storms (PHX3) and wiremod.

Thanks so much, It worked perfectly.
I highly reccomend doing this if you want Wiremox+PHX3

thequickfire
09-27-2010, 01:25 PM
Its actually very easy (lol incoming wall of text)

Go to Applications -> Utilities -> Terminal.

In Terminal, type in order:

cd ~/Library/Application\ Support/Steam/SteamApps/<YOUR STEAM USERNAME HERE>/garrysmod/garrysmod/addons/

svn co https://wiremod.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/wiremod/trunk/

When it stops spazing (it'll take like 2 mins depending on your internet connection), type:

cd trunk
mv Adv\ Duplicator ..
mv wire ..
mv wire\ model\ pack\ 1 ..
cd ..
sudo rm -r trunk
svn co https://phoenix-storms.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/phoenix-storms/

Finally when it stops spazing (it'll take like 5 mins depending on your internet connection), restart gmod.

By the way, This installs phoenix storms (PHX3) and wiremod.

I did all of this and let the program run but after I restarted gmod, neither is there. Any thoughts?

Detry322
09-27-2010, 03:00 PM
It may be there and you just don't know it. After loading a Single Player Game, If you see this (http://cl.ly/7aa33651fb588545b60d) then it is installed.

Otherwise, If you don't see it, try following the steps again with this in mind:

Only the commands that start with "svn" and "sudo" should display anything after it is run. There should be no response or errors when you run a command that starts with "mv" or "cd"

If you do get something when you type any of the "cd" or "mv" commands, tell me which ones, and what the error is.

thequickfire
09-27-2010, 03:47 PM
Well when I went into terminal, I just copy pasted the first part


"cd ~/Library/Application\ Support/Steam/SteamApps/thequickfire/garrysmod/garrysmod/addons/

svn co https://wiremod.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/wiremod/trunk/"


and then the second part


"cd trunk
mv Adv\ Duplicator ..
mv wire ..
mv wire\ model\ pack\ 1 ..
cd ..
sudo rm -r trunk
svn co https://phoenix-storms.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/phoenix-storms/"


Do you think it's because I didn't actually TYPE it in, maybe? Because neither the PHX list or the wire tab shows up (I have both installed on my PC so I know what both are like).
IF I do have to type it out, am I to push enter after each line? and do I actually type the 2 periods in the second part of the script? I'm not too skilled at terminal so just trying to get this right.

Thanks in advance man, since I'm at college 6 hours away from home and only have my mac, finding out I can play Gmod AND have wire is making my day. haha!

Detry322
09-27-2010, 05:52 PM
Actually typing it in (or copypasting line-by-line) is what you need to do. EXACTLY as written (except for filling in your steam name in the first part).

Because each period, backslash, etc. means something, every one is necessary. If you type it out it should work, but get back to me if it doesn't.

And by the way, No prob. ;)

Ahippo
10-03-2010, 07:43 AM
Hold up a sec. I get to typing the "mv Adv\ Duplicator .." press enter, and got this message "mv: rename AdvDuplicator to ../AdvDuplicator: No such file or directory"

I type it in again, and this time get "mv: rename Adv Duplicator to ../Adv Duplicator: Directory not empty"

what do I do here?

Fuzz Bucket
10-03-2010, 11:00 AM
Its actually very easy (lol incoming wall of text)

Go to Applications -> Utilities -> Terminal.

In Terminal, type in order:

cd ~/Library/Application\ Support/Steam/SteamApps/<YOUR STEAM USERNAME HERE>/garrysmod/garrysmod/addons/

svn co https://wiremod.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/wiremod/trunk/

When it stops spazing (it'll take like 2 mins depending on your internet connection), type:

cd trunk
mv Adv\ Duplicator ..
mv wire ..
mv wire\ model\ pack\ 1 ..
cd ..
sudo rm -r trunk
svn co https://phoenix-storms.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/phoenix-storms/

Finally when it stops spazing (it'll take like 5 mins depending on your internet connection), restart gmod.

By the way, This installs phoenix storms (PHX3) and wiremod.
Well when I went into terminal, I just copy pasted the first part



and then the second part



Do you think it's because I didn't actually TYPE it in, maybe? Because neither the PHX list or the wire tab shows up (I have both installed on my PC so I know what both are like).
IF I do have to type it out, am I to push enter after each line? and do I actually type the 2 periods in the second part of the script? I'm not too skilled at terminal so just trying to get this right.

Thanks in advance man, since I'm at college 6 hours away from home and only have my mac, finding out I can play Gmod AND have wire is making my day. haha!


You left off the period at the end of the checkout...

Detry322
10-03-2010, 07:37 PM
Ok, do this


cd ~/Library/Application\ Support/Steam/SteamApps/<YOUR STEAM USERNAME HERE>/garrysmod/garrysmod/addons/

svn co https://wiremod.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/wiremod/trunk/

then, go to this directory in Finder /Users/<Your macos name thing>/Library/Application Support/Steam/SteamApps/<steam name>/garrysmod/garrysmod/addons/trunk/

Then manually drag the Adv Duplicator, wire, and wire model pack 1 folders out of the trunk directory and into addons.

Once they're out, delete the trunk directory in addons.

Next, type svn co https://phoenix-storms.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/phoenix-storms/

restart and all set

Fuzz Bucket
10-03-2010, 07:39 PM
Ok, do this


cd ~/Library/Application\ Support/Steam/SteamApps/<YOUR STEAM USERNAME HERE>/garrysmod/garrysmod/addons/

svn co https://wiremod.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/wiremod/trunk/

then, go to this directory in Finder /Users/<Your macos name thing>/Library/Application Support/Steam/SteamApps/<steam name>/garrysmod/garrysmod/addons/trunk/

Then manually drag the Adv Duplicator, wire, and wire model pack 1 folders out of the trunk directory and into addons.

Once they're out, delete the trunk directory in addons.

Next, type svn co https://phoenix-storms.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/phoenix-storms/

restart and all set

Like I said in my last post and countless times in other threads:
You left off the period at the end of the checkout...

Simply:

svn checkout https://wiremod.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/wiremod/trunk/ .

Detry322
10-04-2010, 03:26 PM
Cool beans. I didn't know how to do that. Thanks for enlightening me! lol.

BUT

for the
svn co https://phoenix-storms.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/phoenix-storms/
do not include a period.

ALSO, remember to delete the lua folder and info.txt file from your addons.

Fuzz Bucket
10-04-2010, 03:32 PM
Cool beans. I didn't know how to do that. Thanks for enlightening me! lol.

BUT

for the
svn co https://phoenix-storms.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/phoenix-storms/
do not include a period.

Correct. The structure of that repo is different.

flaminghege
10-10-2010, 01:04 AM
Do i update just by downloading it again?

Detry322
10-10-2010, 11:42 AM
No.

Go your Garry's Mod addons folder in Finder (~/Library/Application Support/Steam/SteamApps/<steam username>/Garrys Mod/garrysmod/addons)

Then open Terminal.

Type "svn up " (with the space, but no quotes) in Terminal AND DO NOT PRESS ENTER.
Then drag the Phoenix-storms, wire, wire model pack 1, and adv duplicator folders directly on to the terminal window

THEN PRESS ENTER.

all done.

Fuzz Bucket
10-10-2010, 11:52 AM
Do i update just by downloading it again?

Navigate to the addons directory in the terminal (you can simply type "cd" and then drag the addons directory from the Finder into the Terminal to get the path)

cd ~/Library/Application Support/Steam/SteamApps/steamusername/garrysmod/garrysmod/addons

and then

svn update

ChunksthePanda
11-08-2010, 10:29 PM
It didn't work for me and i cant figure out why :(