PDA

View Full Version : How much RAM does my computer need to stream?


Torte de Lini
10-04-2010, 06:21 PM
So I'm about to order my new PC and I wanted to know how much RAM does it take in order for me to stream and play games ranging from Starcraft 2 on high settings to Team Fortress 2 at a very good FPS?

Or does video-streaming me playing games draw power from somewhere else or another component?

morizuno
10-04-2010, 06:32 PM
4 gbs is pretty much the minimum of what you need for gaming

borg_7_of_9
10-04-2010, 06:38 PM
It will use more cpu resources mostly and some ram 4G should be fine, hope you have a good Internet connection too..

Torte de Lini
10-04-2010, 07:00 PM
I'm going to have 4 gigs and the Phenon II X4 as a CPU
using ethernet cable

borg_7_of_9
10-04-2010, 07:05 PM
I'm going to have 4 gigs and the Phenon II X4 as a CPU
using ethernet cable

Should be fine... If not it will ether be upload speed issue with your ISP or the CPU can't handle gaming while streaming..

Torte de Lini
10-04-2010, 07:07 PM
Really? The CPU will have problems?

borg_7_of_9
10-04-2010, 07:10 PM
Really? The CPU will have problems?

To hard to say exactly, what program will you be streaming with?

I know recording with frap's will push the cpu to it's limits or very close to them. Also with frap's recording you need a Fast HDD

Torte de Lini
10-04-2010, 07:14 PM
I'll be streaming using ustream/livestream.

Also, side-question. Does the ms really matter on my monitor and is 20 inches big? I've been using 15 inches for nearly 3 years.

borg_7_of_9
10-04-2010, 07:25 PM
Any thing around 5ms and below is fine some ppl will say 8ms min..
you will love 20" coming from 15" big improvement .. I have been using a 17 CRT for almost 1 year as my gf is using my 22", I used that yesterday and was like wow LOL.. I only use the CRT for web stuff I game on a 42" 1920x1080 LCD"

Torte de Lini
10-04-2010, 07:30 PM
Believe it or not, all my screens are 15 inches or smaller. My television is from the late-90s lol [college baby!].

21 was what I was aiming for, but 20 is within my tight price-range. http://www.ncix.com/products/?sku=40922&vpn=VH202T-P&manufacture=ASUS

Gave you rep, not sure why I never did before.

wuliheron
10-04-2010, 07:31 PM
For gaming ms does matter and you want 2~3ms. As for size, 20" is actually small and any graphics card can handle that.

borg_7_of_9
10-04-2010, 07:32 PM
Thanks.. I assume it streamed from a web cam? If so it wont be a problem at all

borg_7_of_9
10-04-2010, 07:36 PM
For gaming ms does matter and you want 2~3ms. As for size, 20" is actually small and any graphics card can handle that.

I use to play on an 8ms, it had very little ghosting
5ms is fine my ASUS is 5ms but it's 2ms + 3ms (2ms g-g 3ms colour)

Torte de Lini
10-04-2010, 07:39 PM
Is MS that much of a difference?
What the hell is ghosting?

I'll be streaming my games, not via webcam.

borg_7_of_9
10-04-2010, 07:57 PM
Is MS that much of a difference?
What the hell is ghosting?

I'll be streaming my games, not via webcam.

ghosting is like picture blur the last immage is still visible slightly on the screen not much of a problem now was really bad in the 12ms day's

Torte de Lini
10-04-2010, 08:05 PM
Is there a way I can buy a cheaper Windows 64-bit OEM? 124 sounds ridiculous. Can't I use this Windows I have from my old laptop?

Lachrymosity
10-04-2010, 08:09 PM
See if you can swing to a cheap 1920 panel, it will probably get good use streaming and in TF2 compared to a 20in 1680 panel.

Where are you buying from?

Torte de Lini
10-04-2010, 08:30 PM
See if you can swing to a cheap 1920 panel, it will probably get good use streaming and in TF2 compared to a 20in 1680 panel.

Where are you buying from?

What's a 1920 panel?

And I'm buying from NCIX, PC Builder [long-story].

So to double-check, your video-streaming of your games' performance increases the better your CPU is?

borg_7_of_9
10-04-2010, 08:52 PM
yes and streaming also take less work for the cpu @ 1680x1024

Torte de Lini
10-04-2010, 08:56 PM
yes and streaming also take less work for the cpu @ 1680x1024

So my monitor is fine and I don't need more ram!

Not I have to find a way to cut costs so I can get a wireless card or keyboard and mouse or a 21.5 monitor.

Shrug.

Maybe I should make a new topic for critiques, but I hate troubling the mods.

Sturmgewehr88
10-04-2010, 09:01 PM
Ye pretty much 4gb will be fine, anything more than 4 is over kill.