PDA

View Full Version : Weird CPU readings by Windows and Steam


Feruken
10-31-2010, 03:05 PM
In an effort to get more speed from the ram I have, I lowered my multiplier, but was still able to obtain 3.80GHz, which is what I wanted. The ram is underclocked, but it is higher than it was at first (608) and I got a better memory score from Windows 7 Windows Experience Index test.

My problem is, is that Steam and Windows 7 say my CPU is 5GHz even though it's 3.8. Now I'm worried if I did something wrong and should have just left the CPU multiplier at 12.5 instead of 9.5.

1 (http://i51.tinypic.com/smq685.jpg)
2 (http://oi52.tinypic.com/2q836hh.jpg)
3 (http://i54.tinypic.com/r2tjiw.jpg)

rotNdude
10-31-2010, 03:24 PM
Don't worry about it.

borg_7_of_9
10-31-2010, 04:01 PM
You may have corrupted some data while over clocking, Make sure the system is 100% stable.

Feruken
10-31-2010, 04:21 PM
I ran MeGUI and no problems came up. I also played Street Fighter IV for a while and nothing. I decided, though to just change the multiplier back to 12.5, I just couldn't stand seeing 5GHz when it really wasn't.

Thanks for you guys' input, I appreciate it.

EDIT: I meant to put I played Street Fighter IV while MeGUI was encoding.

Princess Garnet
10-31-2010, 08:34 PM
Who cares if it says 5GHz? My guess is, it is ASSUMING your multiplier is still at it's default value, and is simply multiplying your FSB by what it knows is the default value.

Let me guess? FSB of 400MHz (1600MHz quad pumped), right? 3800 divided by 9.5 is 400, so that is your FSB. However, take that same 400 and multiply by the default of 12.5, and what do you get? 5000, or 5GHz. This is what is happening. Don't worry about it. No damage or anything is at risk of occurring. It's just how Steam, and apparently Windows, calculate the CPU speed.

However, I'm interested in how you got Windows to even show your overclocked speed at all. In Windows XP, mine did too, but ever since moving to Windows 7, it always shows the default (of 3.33GHz), even though it's overclocked (to 4.0GHz). It doesn't bother me anyway. Steam shows 3999MHz for me, and everything else reflects the overclock too.

Feruken
10-31-2010, 09:08 PM
I'm not sure. I didn't do anything differently besides just change the multiplier in the bios, it's a Gigabyte EP43T-UD3L.