PDA

View Full Version : Punkbuster Problem in COD4


zombie geek
11-27-2010, 07:00 PM
Sorry if this same issue was in another thread but whenever I try to play in a punkbuster enabled server the first guy I kill I get kicked and it says "PB INIT FAILURE". I tried deleting punkbuster then reinstalling it and redoing all the updates but it keeps on happeing again. Any ideas on how to fix it?

r3mxd
11-27-2010, 07:07 PM
Ok there a few ways to fix it. **ONLY**If your running Win Vista try to run COD4 as admin.All other OS like XP adn Win7 dont have this issue. Make sure you update PB, easiest way is through www.evenbalance.com and do it from there doesnt matter where you install pb. Idk about running admin through steam tho.

Some Servers will kick you anyways because they havent update their server PB it will give you a message saying "server running older PB version than client or something like that and/or ur PB Init failure".

zombie geek
11-27-2010, 07:10 PM
I have win7. I had it check updates and it downloaded some things and then I checked for updates again and it said it was up to date. But it still kicks me out from the servers.

r3mxd
11-27-2010, 07:13 PM
http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1615922

Have you tried that thread?

zombie geek
11-27-2010, 07:17 PM
Yeah I tried that thread. I deleted all of the punkbuster files and re-installed them. I even did a software update on www.evenbalance.com for COD4. But it's still kicking me out.

BrokenNinja
11-27-2010, 07:50 PM
Disabling the steam overlay might work.

http://forums.steamgames.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1149028

zombie geek
11-27-2010, 08:15 PM
Figured it out. The server i was playing on had an outdated punkbuster so it was making it compatible.