PDA

View Full Version : Any tips for a new player?

livinglitch
11-28-2010, 12:07 AM
Started out, tried a few fights, did ok, but some fights were labeled incorrectly (weaker weak etc). Whats the best class to play as?

Dazzled
11-28-2010, 02:23 AM
I prefer playing as a mage: you get to cast two spells per turn which makes a huge difference. Also as a mage you don't have to worry much about losing your army: it might be smaller than a warrrior or paladin's but you can win most battle before the enemy even reaches your creatures.

MysticTheurge
11-28-2010, 07:11 PM
here you go http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showpost.php?p=19038903&postcount=4. took me some time to write all this stuff.
it's about playing mages for beginners

Phredster
11-28-2010, 11:08 PM
Did anyone actually ever finish this game with anything other than a mage? I keep hearing this...

i picked a Paladin and doing ok but it's super early in the game hmmm

stalepriest
11-29-2010, 02:01 AM
I started playing today, as I suck at any kind of strategy I have started on easy with a mage. Cheers for tips. I love the way combat is played out.

MysticTheurge
11-29-2010, 03:26 AM
Did anyone actually ever finish this game with anything other than a mage? I keep hearing this...

i picked a Paladin and doing ok but it's super early in the game hmmm

yes. I finished it with all 3 classes.

Warrior is focused on his pet dragon a lot. My endgame stats showed that 33% of the overall damage was done with my dragon. I like that warrior has two slots for weapons (very ♥♥♥♥ing nice!). I got spells pretty late in the game. Naturally as a warrior your aim is to maximize your critical damage chances. I remember doing about 8000 damage with archdaemons to endboss with warrior. (while with mage i did 2000 only).

Paladin has a lot of regalia slots. Basically you should focus on high morale with this class. Power of the dragon level 3 gives you +2 morale to the dragons. that is +20% attack, defense and critical hits.