PDA

View Full Version : What CPU should I choose??


Yoshimatsu414
12-29-2010, 05:18 PM
Hi everyone!!
I am thinking of upgrading to a new CPU from the Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 that I've had since it came out pretty much. I have it OCed to 3.4GHz and I have a Geforce GTX 480 paired up with it. Now this is the problem I'm having, many of my games that I play (and I have a lot of different games that I play) do not use my GPU to the fullest. Even in Crysis my GPU usage stays around 70%. I was thinking that CPU is slowing it down and not allowing the GPU to be used to the fullest.
My question is what CPU do you guys think I should be paired up with the Geforce GTX 480 so the CPU won't be the bottleneck?

I'm going to be looking up more on this myself but want some opinions...

borg_7_of_9
12-29-2010, 05:36 PM
Have you actually monitored CPU usage while gaming? I doubt it's at 100% ether..

rest of spec's? ram/timing's

Yoshimatsu414
12-29-2010, 05:54 PM
Yeah your right that don't max out CPU either, and here are the specs

Gigabyte GA-P35C- DS3R Motherboard
Intel C2Q Q6600 3.40GHz CPU (CorsiarH50)
2X2GB Corsair Dominators DDR2 945Mhz 5-5-5-15
EVGA Nvidia Geforce GTX 480 1536MB GDDR5
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
WD Cavier Blue 640GB 7200RPM,16MB Cache HDD
LG Blu-Ray/ HD-DVD DVD RW Burner with Lightscribe
Antec Earthwatts 650w PSU

There is one game that I have noticed uses 99% (give or take 2-3%) constant of my GPU and Maxes out 1 core on my CPU and that is Stalker Call of Prypiat

borg_7_of_9
12-29-2010, 06:02 PM
what you may be experiencing is GPU throttling..

now I have to find the article...

AMD/Nvidia had to put some thermal protection in there card's to protect them from over heating thank's to program's like furmark and OCCT but the problem is it kick's in on some games...

Anyway from what I can see you don't have any real Issues..

Yoshimatsu414
12-29-2010, 06:22 PM
So ok its not my CPU, lol thats great but why is my GPU throttling?
I bought this GPU so I can just max out graphics in games with (namely Crysis and Metro 2033) but it isn't even being used to the max in majority of games I have. Including Assassin's Creed 2 which is worse I seen. And its weird becasue I'll get frame rate drops in that game even though it only uses about like 35% (average) on my GPU.
i use that EVGA precision software to see my GPU usage while in games.

borg_7_of_9
12-29-2010, 06:32 PM
Might be a heat issue what are your temp's like under load..

Realtemp (http://www.techpowerup.com/realtemp/)

run this in the background while playing...

Yoshimatsu414
12-29-2010, 06:40 PM
I have this program. So you think that it is a problem with the CPU's temp??

borg_7_of_9
12-29-2010, 06:43 PM
Yes It may be, CPU's clock back when they get to hot 95C (Internal temp) iirc for that CPU..

When was the last time you cleaned out dust from both CPU and GPU as they both have built in thermal management to stop over heating..

Baron_Fel
12-29-2010, 06:47 PM
% usage not being at 100% isnt a problem.

get a good cheap cooler like the Hyper 212 and OC your Q6600.

borg_7_of_9
12-29-2010, 06:50 PM
% usage not being at 100% isnt a problem.

get a good cheap cooler like the Hyper 212 and OC your Q6600.

I have it OCed to 3.4GHz and I have a Geforce GTX 480 paired up with it.

His Quad is @3.4G already...

Yoshimatsu414
12-29-2010, 06:57 PM
Well the highest my CPU ever hit was 89C because I used Intel Burn Test to make sure it was stable after I overclocked.
I'm about to run that real temp program in the backround to see what it hits while playing Crysis to see what it hits while in game but I doubt it would be close to how high it was when I was using Intel Burn

Yoshimatsu414
12-29-2010, 07:00 PM
BTW I use Corsair H50 for my CPU cooler. Its one of those one piece liquid coolers.

borg_7_of_9
12-29-2010, 07:06 PM
89C is very hot, yeah I know the cooler you are talking about btw, there not the best for high overclock's

Do you have an extra fan on the radiator?

When was the last time u cleaned the rad?

I clean my radiator every 4 month's or when temp's start to rise.

My unit is not a sealed loop FYI..

Yoshimatsu414
12-29-2010, 07:14 PM
The highest temp I got was 62C on core 0,1 while playing crysis. The other 2 core didn't even pass 60C. and Yeah my radiator it clean, I just cleaned it 2 monthes ago.
And you I mean its hot but its a 65nm CPU, not a 45nm or 32nm like the newer Intel chips so I thought I was still safe as long as I don't get close to 95C. I've actually had it clocked this high for a while about a Year maybe a little more.

Yoshimatsu414
12-29-2010, 07:17 PM
NAd i've noticed something while playing Crysis. I went in and out of it 3 times, IDK just to retest it. The first time i was playing everything was fine, GPU usage was at 99% majority of the time. But the second and third time the GPU usage would barely go over 71% and the game was stutter a lot more...
WTH is going on? lolz

borg_7_of_9
12-29-2010, 07:19 PM
95C in the norm for 45nm quad's too.

Well CPU heat does not seem to be the issue.

realtemp can monitor GPU temp's too you just have to enable it in option's..

give that a go next time you play...

Other than that a driver issue maybe..

After your above post it might be GPU temp or driver issue..

YahooElite
12-29-2010, 07:23 PM
GPU usage isnt always going to be maxed out, it depends on whats going on in the game, if theres not much going on then its going to be lower, alot of explosions/fire fights etc then the usage will raise. i dont see a problem though but you just may not be testing on a proper game.. even though your playing crysis yes i said a proper game

on BFBC2 on single player at max settings, shadows off 4x 16x GPU usage was in the 90s most of the time.

So in essense it depends on your graphics settings and whats going on in game.

Yoshimatsu414
12-29-2010, 07:29 PM
Well yeah actually my GPU temp got a little high. On my GTX 480 the highest temp it high the first time I was playing Crysis was 94C but then the fan started to speed up and the temp stabilized it self to 92C like it always seems to do when something actually puts a full load on it. I'm trying not to let the temp of my GPU bother me though cuz I remember correctly Nvidia making announcement saying something like the GTX 400 series are built to stand the heat and stuff like that....Because people were like freakin out for how hot their GPUs were getting.

Yoshimatsu414
12-29-2010, 07:38 PM
And YahooElite yeah BFBC2 is actually one of those game like Stalker Call of Prypiat that seem to hoave my GPU on constant 99% load. And then again both of those games are DX11 games.
I'm starting to think that DX9 games and DX10 games don't use these newer DX11 GPUs correctly or something lol

YahooElite
12-29-2010, 07:40 PM
DX11 is more graphic then DX9/10, games that use it have more detail and textures, so yes thats a possible reason.

Yoshimatsu414
12-29-2010, 07:48 PM
But still a game like Crysis that barely hits 60fps thats using only 70% of the GPU should use use more of it to get more performance...cuz in BFBC2 I can get 50fps most of the time no problem.