PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else tried Android-x86?


Fatimmortal
01-25-2011, 05:33 AM
Yes, it's the Android OS meant for the x86 architecture that you can get from here (http://www.android-x86.org/download).

I tried it and it's quite slow on my laptop even though my laptop has pretty good specs. :(

borg_7_of_9
01-25-2011, 05:53 AM
Hmm I should throw together an old P4 2.66G, Mobo, 1G ram, 80G hdd dvd/cd drive n' give it a bash on a test bed..

Might be slow but meh.. I was just going to OC the crap out of it till it cooked:cool:

Fatimmortal
01-25-2011, 05:58 AM
Hmm I should throw together an old P4 2.66G, Mobo, 1G ram, 80G hdd dvd/cd drive n' give it a bash on a test bed..

Might be slow but meh.. I was just going to OC the crap out of it till it cooked:cool:

Damn it, I already cooked my old P4 2.4GHz AND the mobo as well. :(

borg_7_of_9
01-25-2011, 06:18 AM
Damn it, I already cooked my old P4 2.4GHz AND the mobo as well. :(

LOL I have 2 mobo's and cpu's just sitting around..

Fatimmortal
01-25-2011, 03:15 PM
LOL I have 2 mobo's and cpu's just sitting around..

I have my friend's old Athlon64 rig with me, but that thing doesn't seem to boot no matter what I do. :(

borg_7_of_9
01-27-2011, 03:53 AM
I have my friend's old Athlon64 rig with me, but that thing doesn't seem to boot no matter what I do. :(

I'm going to give this a try on one of them old rig's I was talking about, will let you know how it goes..

Fatimmortal
01-27-2011, 03:55 AM
I'm going to give this a try on one of them old rig's I was talking about, will let you know how it goes..

Is it just me or are the both of us the only people trying this thing out? >.>

borg_7_of_9
01-27-2011, 04:00 AM
look's like it.. must be others though because the site was down/slow when I tried the download today..

Fatimmortal
01-27-2011, 04:11 AM
It lags a lot on my laptop, but it seems that some of the PCs in my classroom works fine. And yea, it was my teacher who persuaded me to try this out.

Mangr0v3
01-27-2011, 04:16 AM
Explain please why I would want to use a touch interface with a standard keyboard and mouse?

borg_7_of_9
01-27-2011, 04:18 AM
well ill only be trying it on a P4 2.66G :eek:

james0724
01-27-2011, 04:20 AM
maybe one day we can game on it

Fatimmortal
01-27-2011, 04:22 AM
Explain please why I would want to use a touch interface with a standard keyboard and mouse?

Regular keyboard/mouse combo works nicely with the OS, touchscreen is just an option.

well ill only be trying it on a P4 2.66G :eek:

The computers in my classroom have Q6600s. :p

Fatimmortal
01-27-2011, 04:23 AM
maybe one day we can game on it

That will be the day I'ma play Angry Birds on my laptop. :cool:

borg_7_of_9
01-27-2011, 04:23 AM
Well it would rock on my main rig.. I'm not messing with that though...

james0724
01-27-2011, 04:33 AM
time to get out the old computer

james0724
01-27-2011, 04:35 AM
Regular keyboard/mouse combo works nicely with the OS, touchscreen is just an option.



The computers in my classroom have Q6600s. :p

what my classrom has old crappy e4300s that take 5 minutes to boot up, not to mention the right click has been disabled

Fatimmortal
01-27-2011, 04:45 AM
Well it would rock on my main rig.. I'm not messing with that though...

You don't have to install it in your HDD, just burn it to a CD-R and it can boot from there. Or if your mobo supports booting by USB, a thumbdrive would work too.

And James, it takes about 1-2 minutes to boot on my laptop. Also, the right click is used as a "BACK" button in AndroidOS.

borg_7_of_9
01-27-2011, 04:56 AM
kewl I think my bios support's boot from thumb..

What dangers are there to my HDD's though booting from CD/Thumb drive I run a RAID 0 VOL for my os.. Game's are on a standard drive along with another for backup...

Fatimmortal
01-27-2011, 04:58 AM
I don't know any dangers of booting from an external source, but when I booted off a CD, Android didn't detect my HDD. Though it did detect my SD card in the card reader slot.

borg_7_of_9
01-27-2011, 05:07 AM
I don't know any dangers of booting from an external source, but when I booted off a CD, Android didn't detect my HDD. Though it did detect my SD card in the card reader slot.

hmm so no HDD access.. So what does it do for storage..

Fatimmortal
01-27-2011, 05:11 AM
hmm so no HDD access.. So what does it do for storage..

SD cards? I dunno. It's my first time using an OS that was meant for touch screen devices and almost everything is different from the standard OSes that I've used before. :eek:

borg_7_of_9
01-27-2011, 05:19 AM
net access ?

Fatimmortal
01-27-2011, 05:27 AM
I'm using the 2.2 version for Asus laptops, since my laptop is from Asus and wifi works fine. Though actual surfing through wifi is quite crappy.

borg_7_of_9
01-27-2011, 05:37 AM
I'm using the 2.2 version for Asus laptops, since my laptop is from Asus and wifi works fine. Though actual surfing through wifi is quite crappy.

ok well ill def give it a bash may take a week lol, waiting for some parts for an old monitor...

Dame thing was full of bad cap's :mad: should be in Wensdi.
Then Ill fire it up..

If I don't get to impatient in the mean time lol

Fatimmortal
01-27-2011, 05:45 AM
I'ma try it on my other laptop which doesn't have a HDD soon, but not now. This fever is killing me, and my mom keeps telling me it's H1N1, AKA bird flu. *bashes wall with hundreds of tiny babies* :o

borg_7_of_9
02-04-2011, 04:36 PM
Regular keyboard/mouse combo works nicely with the OS, touchscreen is just an option.



The computers in my classroom have Q6600s. :p

Man talk about slow... it's been loading for 6 min now..