PDA

View Full Version : TERRIBLE graphics on all settings


Gamer_Kought
02-22-2011, 04:04 PM
Well, the topic says it all. Something is seriously messed up.

http://i.imgur.com/5Dkaw.jpg

I've tried messing with my Nvidia control panel, I'm at newest drivers, and I've tried all the different graphics settings.

Can anybody PLEASE help with this?

N3oN667
02-22-2011, 04:05 PM
Have you gotten any further then the first ship? Because it looks pretty dull in there tbh.

Gamer_Kought
02-22-2011, 04:13 PM
I tried echoes mode, it's not because it looks dull, it's a serious graphics problem.

http://i.imgur.com/hpJWG.jpg

See?

schism84
02-22-2011, 04:21 PM
That certainly is a serious graphics problem o.0

kijib
02-22-2011, 04:24 PM
Epic Games: Epic Fail

N3oN667
02-22-2011, 04:24 PM
I tried echoes mode, it's not because it looks dull, it's a serious graphics problem.

http://i.imgur.com/hpJWG.jpg

See?
THAT looks like a driver issue. Upgrade your drivers.

DarkPGR
02-22-2011, 04:25 PM
THAT looks like a driver issue. Upgrade your drivers.

or downgrade... my rule of the thumb for nVidia drivers is to never use the latest version but to use every other version... they have always been very buggy to me the times I've had an nVidia card.

Gamer_Kought
02-22-2011, 04:26 PM
See my first post. I'm at the latest drivers.

DarkPGR
02-22-2011, 04:27 PM
See my first post. I'm at the latest drivers.

try the previous version, or the one before.

NSSherlock
02-22-2011, 04:30 PM
Same problem too http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1767598

http://i52.tinypic.com/29ay70o.jpg

Epic Games: Epic Fail


+10

Gamer_Kought
02-22-2011, 04:43 PM
Old drivers didn't help. This is ridiculous.

undyinglight
02-22-2011, 05:00 PM
UE3 is really powerful, this was either a poor port, or PCF lost their touch.

RonixEnclave
02-22-2011, 05:45 PM
Running absolutely perfect for me. GTX 480.

I am Asian
02-22-2011, 05:57 PM
I think people aren't noticing the black horizontal lines on the screen....

Punisher12
02-22-2011, 06:11 PM
Works fine for me, running everything high on 1920x1200 resolution. Its called get a better PC.

No graphics problems.

Gamer_Kought
02-22-2011, 06:17 PM
Works fine for me, running everything high on 1920x1200 resolution. Its called get a better PC.

No graphics problems.

I have a 9800 GTX, Core 2 Duo E6750, and 2 Gigs of RAM. The game runs fine framerate wise, and this isn't because my PC is old, others have this issue as well.

teH_angRy_nIgHt
02-22-2011, 06:20 PM
You know, one of the first things you need to do in these situations, for anything to happen on any level, is post your specs, most importantly your OS, GPU, and particular Driver version(we have that now).
Oh we're a little closer now, OS too, though.

Also those were nice 3 years ago, the 9800gtx is workhorse but it's gotten old, and some newer games actually have some problems running on dx9 and lower spec cards. I'm running 9800gtx+ sli, a 460 talon attack coming in the mail tomorrow. (yeah I know the card will have problems but I'm locked to nvidia right now)

Punisher12
02-22-2011, 06:22 PM
I have a 9800 GTX, Core 2 Duo E6750, and 2 Gigs of RAM. The game runs fine framerate wise, and this isn't because my PC is old, others have this issue as well.

Last time I checked, your card was released April 1, 2008. Yeah, that's pretty old in technology standards.

http://i54.tinypic.com/2ms23xg.jpg
http://i52.tinypic.com/2up9ttg.jpg


Yeah, no problems here.
i7 950
24gb G.Skill DDR3-1600
2x GTX 580's

Gamer_Kought
02-22-2011, 06:41 PM
Last time I checked, your card was released April 1, 2008. Yeah, that's pretty old in technology standards.

http://i54.tinypic.com/2ms23xg.jpg
http://i52.tinypic.com/2up9ttg.jpg


Yeah, no problems here.
i7 950
24gb G.Skill DDR3-1600
2x GTX 580's

So? It's over the minimum specs. Not all of us can afford an i7, 2 of the newest graphics cards, and 24 ♥♥♥♥ing gigs of RAM.

I'm running Windows 7 Professional with the newest Nvidia drivers, and I've tried older drivers... along with verifying the game cache.

Riku98523
02-22-2011, 06:48 PM
... Minimum specs = minimum to actually run it (or at least what its supposed to mean) If you don't meet recommended but do meet minimum as far as the devs are concerned you are only guaranteed that it will run possibly at minimal settings.

950 i7 @ 3.4
6GB DDR3
GTX 260

I get 1920x1080 no problem.

Gamer_Kought
02-22-2011, 06:54 PM
... Minimum specs = minimum to actually run it (or at least what its supposed to mean) If you don't meet recommended but do meet minimum as far as the devs are concerned you are only guaranteed that it will run possibly at minimal settings.

950 i7 @ 3.4
6GB DDR3
GTX 260

I get 1920x1080 no problem.

And I am WELL above the minimum specs. And like I mentioned, this isn't just an issue with me, it's happening for others as well.

Ryne S.
02-22-2011, 07:07 PM
Glad I waited to buy this game.

teH_angRy_nIgHt
02-22-2011, 07:13 PM
And I am WELL above the minimum specs. And like I mentioned, this isn't just an issue with me, it's happening for others as well.

Minimum specs can mean moot, I've met minimum specs before and failed to get past the menu screen. Honestly, save for the black lines that were slightly visible, your screens look pretty fine for the hardware you're running. You said "all settings" you obviously can't run all settings, if you could, we wouldn't be SLIing GTX580.

Also that other link is mostly complaining about the game not being optimized to make use of modern PC capability, not about graphical error.

GrimCW
02-22-2011, 07:14 PM
game runs fine, FPS is normally grand, and the GFX are beautiful, much as i'd expect from a UE3 game.
MANY recycled textures from UT3 and GoW though.

problem is the game appears to have a serious memory leak issue, one moment its running fine, the next it slows to a crawl. quit and restart, no problem for awhile longer.

I7 950
4 gig DDR3
460GTX x2

1680x1050 max settings except AA off.

I have a 9800 GTX, Core 2 Duo E6750, and 2 Gigs of RAM. The game runs fine framerate wise, and this isn't because my PC is old, others have this issue as well.



And I am WELL above the minimum specs. And like I mentioned, this isn't just an issue with me, it's happening for others as well.

FYI you barely exceed the minimum specs in video and memory.
barely, is hardly well above.

Minimum:

OS: Windows XP (SP3), Windows Vista (SP2), or Windows 7
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo, AMD Athlon X2, or equivalent, running at 1.6 GHz or greater
Memory: 1.5GB
Hard Disk Space: 9 GB available
Video Card: DirectX 9.0c compatible, 256 MB of VRAM; NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GS, ATI Radeon HD 2400 Pro 256 MB, or greater
Sound: DirectX 9.0c compatible, 16-bit
DirectX®: DirectX 9.0c
Network: Internet (TCP/IP) connection

teH_angRy_nIgHt
02-22-2011, 07:38 PM
game runs fine, FPS is normally grand, and the GFX are beautiful, much as i'd expect from a UE3 game.
MANY recycled textures from UT3 and GoW though.

problem is the game appears to have a serious memory leak issue, one moment its running fine, the next it slows to a crawl. quit and restart, no problem for awhile longer.

I7 950
4 gig DDR3
460GTX x2

1680x1050 max settings except AA off.



OS? at least out of curiosity,after I got win7, no more mem leak in sc2.

Gamer_Kought
02-22-2011, 07:39 PM
Minimum specs can mean moot, I've met minimum specs before and failed to get past the menu screen. Honestly, save for the black lines that were slightly visible, your screens look pretty fine for the hardware you're running. You said "all settings" you obviously can't run all settings, if you could, we wouldn't be SLIing GTX580.

Also that other link is mostly complaining about the game not being optimized to make use of modern PC capability, not about graphical error.

Are you kidding me? Compared to what it's supposed to look like, it looks like something out of Unreal engine 1. And there was another on this forum, along with one on Epic's and Bulletstorm's forums about this issue.

GrimCW
02-22-2011, 07:39 PM
OS? at least out of curiosity,after I got win7, no more mem leak in sc2.

Win7 Premium 64 bit

Moleculor
02-22-2011, 07:43 PM
That looks like your bit depth is ♥♥♥♥ed.

I don't have the game, so I don't know what video settings are available, but double check to make sure that the resolution, bit depth, and refresh rate are all correctly chosen in the settings.

It kinda looks like you're running at some "default" resolution that it defaults to if it can't get your graphics card and monitor to agree on what to use.

BBboy20
02-22-2011, 09:23 PM
This must be a game issue because everyone from steam to physical copy to xp to W7 seem to be getting the same thing. One managed to tinker his control panel thing or whatever to get it looking great though I have no luck so far.

Tony89
02-22-2011, 11:20 PM
lol change pc noob

drenai2001
02-22-2011, 11:45 PM
lol change pc noob

What the Hell does that even mean?

k177sh0t
02-23-2011, 03:13 AM
Seeing all this negativity about this game, I think ill try out the demo first and wait a bit more IF EPIC games can fix the problem.

For now, I wait in the shadows :)

Scared
02-23-2011, 04:28 AM
FYI you barely exceed the minimum specs in video and memory.
barely, is hardly well above.

A 9800GTX is well above a 7600GS, and no game need more than 2GB of ram (I would be shocked to see the process using 1GB or more, with any game)

aforumtotalkon1
02-23-2011, 04:30 AM
Well, the topic says it all. Something is seriously messed up.

http://i.imgur.com/5Dkaw.jpg

I've tried messing with my Nvidia control panel, I'm at newest drivers, and I've tried all the different graphics settings.

Can anybody PLEASE help with this?


Looks like 16bit colours on the right.

joshualwilliams
02-23-2011, 06:03 AM
Windows 7 64
AMD 3.2 ghz 4x core
8gb's of 1066mhz RAM
Gtx 470
3 10,000 rpm 80gb SATA drives in RAID0
Low texture's on the newest, beta, and last nvidia drivers.
Changed many of the settings in the nvidia control panel and none seem to fiox my problem, even the suggested fixes i've readare failing me. I havent seen any new information regarding this since last night. Encrypted .ini files makes it impossible to change my settings. Using decrypted files fails the game's
Startup

NSSherlock
02-23-2011, 06:17 AM
Windows 7 64
AMD 3.2 ghz 4x core
8gb's of 1066mhz RAM
Gtx 470
3 10,000 rpm 80gb SATA drives in RAID0
Low texture's on the newest, beta, and last nvidia drivers.
Changed many of the settings in the nvidia control panel and none seem to fiox my problem, even the suggested fixes i've readare failing me. I havent seen any new information regarding this since last night. Encrypted .ini files makes it impossible to change my settings. Using decrypted files fails the game's
Startup

Did you updated? dont update! the files from Bulletstorm\Engine\Config goes encrypted after you apply the offcial title update v1.01.

sverr
02-23-2011, 06:27 AM
Last time I checked, your card was released April 1, 2008. Yeah, that's pretty old in technology standards.

http://i54.tinypic.com/2ms23xg.jpg
http://i52.tinypic.com/2up9ttg.jpg


Yeah, no problems here.
i7 950
24gb G.Skill DDR3-1600
2x GTX 580's

Excluding the fact that I'm using a laptop, my setup isn't too different than his. 9800MGTX x2, 2.8GHz intel dual core, and 4 gigs ram. Game runs flawlessly for me. His hardware is more than capable.

Psycold
02-23-2011, 06:57 AM
This game is SUPER graphics card intensive, not so much on the CPU. I have 2 machines, one with an I7 at 2.86ghz, 8 gigs of RAM and an Nvidia Quadro 2800m 1gb card, the card is good but not meant for gaming, doesn't have the latest shader technology etc so the game looks and runs HORRIBLY, I mean like 15-19 fps on medium to high settings, for an Unreal 3 Engine game that is unacceptable. I tried on my other machine, a Q6600 at 3.07ghz, 4 gigs of RAM and a ATI 5770 1gb and it has never gone under 35-40 FPS all settings on high except AA. Been using 1920x1080 on both computers, outputting to a 46'' HDTV.

Vadim
02-23-2011, 06:59 AM
This game also looks terrible on my pc. Here's footage:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZFlMNNkPlws
I use geforce gt 240 to run the game. I dont think that this chipset is outdated.

joshualwilliams
02-23-2011, 07:05 AM
Did you updated? dont update! the files from Bulletstorm\Engine\Config goes encrypted after you apply the offcial title update v1.01.

I didn't apply any updates, I own this game on steam so they update it when they see fit. I'll manually turn off the "keep this game updated" and delete, then re-install from home. Loving logmein btw.

I'll take notice at which version is installed, but to my knowledge, i saw no updates during the initial install.

Oh, there are no updates in the update history as well. So I don't know what you're referring to Sherlock.

joshualwilliams
02-23-2011, 07:08 AM
I didn't apply any updates, I own this game on steam so they update it when they see fit. I'll manually turn off the "keep this game updated" and delete, then re-install from home. Loving logmein btw.

I'll take notice at which version is installed, but to my knowledge, i saw no updates during the initial install.

Oh, there are no updates in the update history as well. So I don't know what you're referring to Sherlock.

oh and btw It's already set to "do not automatically update this game" so that can't be it.

http://www.facebook.com/pages/RightIKnow/175125155865252#!/photo.php?fbid=180260038685097&set=a.180260035351764.41795.175125155865252&theater

joshualwilliams
02-23-2011, 07:52 AM
I've escalated this to tier 2 support, which means i'll be getting an email in 24-48 hours regarding the low texture quality on high issue. I'll let you know what I find.

joshualwilliams
02-23-2011, 08:09 AM
the sad thing, and I'm not promoting piracy, but I bet the retail copy of this is not encrypted at launch. Use your steam purchased legit key on an illegally downloaded copy....does that make it legal? Hmmm...

HL2-4-Life
02-23-2011, 08:47 AM
A 9800GTX is well above a 7600GSAgreed, one doesn't need a pair of GTX580's to run it at max setting. Neither does one need an i7 to run it well. The TS's 9800GTX is basically a smidgen below a GTS250 (prolly between a GT240 and a GTS250) which is considered a mainstream gaming card. Regardless, the game uses Unreal 3 engine which isn't really hard on the vid card. The problem doesn't seem to be hardware related (unless TS's card is failing), it's prolly some sort of setting (be it ingame or nV control panel) that has been messed up. The 9800GTX, albeit an older card, should be able to handle this game with relative ease.

I have the game installed in two rigs, my ATi rig handles the game @1080P with ease, surprisingly, it's my nV rig (Q6600 @3ghz + GTX560OC Ti + GTX460 768MB (PhysX)) that cannot run the game due to a PhysX issue.....go figure!:rolleyes:

joshualwilliams
02-23-2011, 09:56 AM
the sad thing, and I'm not promoting piracy, but I bet the retail copy of this is not encrypted at launch. Use your steam purchased legit key on an illegally downloaded copy....does that make it legal? Hmmm...

Just found out the retail version is encrypted as well, so there isn't a way to modify the settings until someone cracks their encryption method. SADNESS.

Well there goes that theory. I've seen a bunch of people post .ini files that are decrypted. They're either trolls, or found a way to decrypt them. But they're not posting solutions, only "don't update to 1.01" I've shot that theory down though (at least for me) by uninstalling and deleting any bulletstorm refernces (including the registry) then redownloading from steam while the "do not automatically update title" was checked. Still no luck. Files remain encrypted, even before allowing the title to be updated.

joshualwilliams
02-23-2011, 12:40 PM
http://www.destructoid.com/bulletstorm-pc-an-unfriendly-mess--194866.phtml

Here's a fix guys. I'm working on the encryption.

joshualwilliams
02-23-2011, 12:53 PM
and logmein isn't letting me into my home machine all of a sudden! Sweet...:(

Here's another article I found, btw.

http://arstechnica.com/gaming/news/2011/02/bulletstorm-and-you-how-to-get-it-playing-nice-with-your-pc.ars

will try these out when I get home.

Here is the utility, it's called "BulletStormINIeditor.exe"
I found it on google.

Pat1487
02-23-2011, 03:48 PM
Those articles are just about tweaking the game a bit to make it a little better
Not about how to fix the problem the OP is having

I have the same problem as the OP
All high settings and textures look bad
Black lines on the walls floor like in the OPs pic (unless i change post processing from high to low or med)
Post processing seems to be the only setting that has any effect on anything
Backgrounds disappear and become black randomly during in game cut scenes
Shadows on character models have a weird rippling strobe effect as they move during in game cut scenes (and sometimes when just in game)
Shadows of character models are pixelated all the time
Colors seem to go 16bit at times, especially during in game cut scenes
Shadows from a light source thats attached to a character model go crazy when shining on walls/floor

I played games like Mass Effect 2 and Dead Space 2 and they run smoothly and looked great
Ive even played other Unreal Engine 3 games like Singularity and Tron:Evolution and didnt have this problem

Theres no reason this should be like this

schism84
02-23-2011, 03:57 PM
There's a thread on this in the Bulletstorm forums. I quote:

Go to \Bulletstorm\Engine\Config, open BaseEngine.ini, edit "bUseMaxQualityMode=False" to "bUseMaxQualityMode=True" and everything is beautiful again.

They do advise to set postprocessing to low though for Nvidia users who would still have problems after that tweak.

analyst88
02-23-2011, 03:59 PM
So? It's over the minimum specs. Not all of us can afford an i7, 2 of the newest graphics cards, and 24 ♥♥♥♥ing gigs of RAM.

I'm running Windows 7 Professional with the newest Nvidia drivers, and I've tried older drivers... along with verifying the game cache.

It's over the minimum specs indeed, but that means that you should be able to play the game on low-medium. High (which includes DX10 in this game) is generally meant for recommended and higher.

You don't exactly need an i7 or a gtx580 to run this game maxed (a mere HD5770 and a decent dual core -which you have- will do just fine), but don't expect to run contemporary games on older hardware with high graphic settings.


Also don't compare this game this game's requirements to Dead Space or Singularity. Neither of those games is that good looking to PC standards, and both fall flat on their backs compared to Bulletstorm. There were quite a few reviewers who complained about Singularity's graphics, even on the consoles and Dead Space 2 relies on brilliant lighting effects to hide its rather low-res textures (atmosphere > textures in horror games).

Pat1487
02-23-2011, 05:03 PM
There's a thread on this in the Bulletstorm forums. I quote:

Go to \Bulletstorm\Engine\Config, open BaseEngine.ini, edit "bUseMaxQualityMode=False" to "bUseMaxQualityMode=True" and everything is beautiful again.

They do advise to set postprocessing to low though for Nvidia users who would still have problems after that tweak.

This fixed all my problems, thanks alot

Also don't compare this game this game's requirements to Dead Space or Singularity. Neither of those games is that good looking to PC standards, and both fall flat on their backs compared to Bulletstorm. There were quite a few reviewers who complained about Singularity's graphics, even on the consoles and Dead Space 2 relies on brilliant lighting effects to hide its rather low-res textures (atmosphere > textures in horror games).

Bulletstorm doesnt look any better then Mass Effect 2, which you conveniently left out of your response
And i used Singularity as an example because its also a Unreal Engine 3 game, if it was the engine, i wouldve had problems there to

The problems this game has are this games fault, not the users that posted about their problems, or Unreal Engine 3

schism84
02-23-2011, 05:40 PM
Hey cool, glad to know that fixed your problem. Hopefully it does for the OP too. Only problem is that the fix I gave will hurt performance (obviously).

Gamer_Kought
02-23-2011, 09:20 PM
It fixes it to a certain degree. The 16 bit like colors are gone, but the messed up blur and shadows are still intact.

We're making progress, though...

Vadim
02-23-2011, 10:20 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZFlMNNkPlws
Same issue.

Pat1487
02-24-2011, 08:53 AM
It fixes it to a certain degree. The 16 bit like colors are gone, but the messed up blur and shadows are still intact.

We're making progress, though...

Thats weird, my shadows and blur are fixed with that, other things were fixed to, things i didnt even know were broken
Like being blinded, and the acid, all effects that modify your vision, and the particle effects in the air (i could tell that it was low quality, i didnt think it was broken like the rest though)

The only problem i still had after modifying the ini was lip syncing during non-cut scenes, the lips rarely moved during those times of banter while running around, but it was fine during cut-scenes
Most of the time it was Ishi's lips that didnt move, so it didnt really bother me since he might be able to speak without moving his mouth

Try changing AllowD3D10=False to AllowD3D10=True if your card can use dx10

Foulplay
02-24-2011, 06:50 PM
It's over the minimum specs indeed, but that means that you should be able to play the game on low-medium. High (which includes DX10 in this game) is generally meant for recommended and higher.

You don't exactly need an i7 or a gtx580 to run this game maxed (a mere HD5770 and a decent dual core -which you have- will do just fine), but don't expect to run contemporary games on older hardware with high graphic settings.


Also don't compare this game this game's requirements to Dead Space or Singularity. Neither of those games is that good looking to PC standards, and both fall flat on their backs compared to Bulletstorm. There were quite a few reviewers who complained about Singularity's graphics, even on the consoles and Dead Space 2 relies on brilliant lighting effects to hide its rather low-res textures (atmosphere > textures in horror games).

Deadspace 2 does look pretty damn good, even ignoring the lighting effects.

Singularity did look like ♥♥♥♥ though, so its a good job the flaky graphics fit in with the flaky acting and hammy plot :-)

Some older hardware does a lot better than some players want to admit. I was recently running games like Metro 2033 and Crysis with max (DX10) settings with a Core2Duo E6600 2.4, 4GB DDR2 and a GTX280, at very playable framerates at 1920x1080 2x AA.

I have just upgraded because I wanted DX11 capability, but having slightly older hardware does NOT mean your games should all look like ♥♥♥♥. They should LOOK just as good, but run slower, or just not support some of the more advanced hardware features like DX11 tesselation.