PDA

View Full Version : Increase TF2 FPS


Rammat
02-27-2011, 06:07 PM
TF2 FPS GUIDE
By Rammat (Steam ID: CorruptedNation)

This guide should hopefully increase your FPS while playing TF2, through the use of various tweaks which can easily be done. Most of the information in this guide can easily be elsewhere, but I decided to make this guide for people who don't want to search the web for hours trying to boost FPS. So, lets get started.


1. You will need to install an FPS config. There are many available, but here is one I edited myself (the original config being made by Chris. His website can be found here (http://www.fakkelbrigade.eu/chris/configs/)): http://www.mediafire.com/?whdm43a5t5bi72b

Once you download that file, go into:
my computer/program files/steam/steamapps/[YOUR STEAM ACCOUNT NAME]/team fortress 2/tf/cfg

Once there, drop the file into that folder and right-click to rename it. Delete the .txt extension and replace it with .cfg

This graphically optimizes TF2 (making it look VERY ugly.) There are a few options you can change yourself in the config if you'd like.


2.The next thing we are going to do is set launch options for TF2. To do this, open up steam, go to your library, right-click TF2, click properties and go to set launch options. Type the following into the text box, then click OK:
-high -nojoy-noipx-dxlevel 81

Note that -nojoy disables joystick usage, so if you use a joystick to play, delete that from the launch options. If you want to edit the launch options further, here is an article:
https://support.steampowered.com/kb_article.php?ref=1040-JWMT-2947


3.Now, we are going to remove some particles. I created a .zip file of all the files a personally use, which can be downloaded here: http://www.mediafire.com/?rg743as57hnb1fh

Alternatively, there is a thread where you can remove even more particles, found here:
http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?p=11156016#post11156016

Once you have all the files (that you want) downloaded, navigate to:
my computer/program files/steam/steamapps/[YOUR STEAM ACCOUNT NAME]/team fortress 2/tf/particles (make a folder if one does not exit)

Once there, drop the files into that folder.


4.There is a great thread about allowing TF2 to run a little bit smoother by tweaking your anti-virus software. I cant go too in-depth with the process, so check it out here:
http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1093560


5.The last step is to install some skins. Most players are going to want to install no phong skins, which can be found here:
http://www.gamebanana.com/skins/95889

If you want even better performance, you can install these skins:
http://www.gamebanana.com/skins/78349

I do not recommend this choice, as it is taking awhile for the completed pack to release, but the creator IS still working on it. Until its release, you can check out the WIP page here:
http://www.gamebanana.com/wips/32441

To install skins, download the files and copy and drag the folders to:
my computer/program files/steam/steamapps/[YOUR STEAM ACCOUNT NAME]/team fortress 2/tf/

It may ask you to merge files, in which case, you should press yes.

TIPS FROM OTHER USERS

You should also mention hiding cosmetics. (http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1683132) Boosted my fps by 10-20 in certain scenarios.

Although I don't use this personally, I saw a slight increase in my FPS when i tried it. Only for those that dont care about hats and misc items. ;)

May i add one tip?

After every major update/every month or so; delete you tf folder, when you restart tf2 it will be recreate, but "better optimised" (probably misconstruing what it does, but who cares - it makes tf2 work better :p).

Folder is found at this directory;
*wherever steam is kept*/Steam/Steamapps/username/temafortress2/tf

if you have configs/huds installed you'll need to save redownload them. This method will also loose you your demos and custom maps you've downloaded.

These can be fixed by simply copying your cfg and map folders and your demos to another directory. Then moving them back in when the tf folder has been recreated.

This actually fixed my TF2 lag spike problem! I suggest doing it, like he says, after every major patch.

Swift shader is also a great little shader optimization that gives me around another 15-20 frames. http://transgaming.com/business/swiftshader/technology/ - Download from there and drop the .dll's in your team fortress 2/tf folder. Some people say to put it in the bin folder, so I just put them in both.

Helped increase my FPS a tad. Yes, you do have to register to download, but it is quick, and well worth it!

Thanks for the tips!
Shippy
Uribaani
DmitriMendeleev
subsist


That about ends my guide to boost your TF2 FPS. I really hopes this helps some people who are having trouble running the game. Id like EVERYONE to enjoy this game, even if they have low spec computers (like myself ;)) If this helped you, please bump, as someone else in need may find it! :D

to42366
02-27-2011, 06:10 PM
This will be good for those with laggy computers.

killerczar
02-27-2011, 06:15 PM
chris' config is way better, the best imo

Rammat
02-27-2011, 06:21 PM
chris' config is way better, the best imo

Thats who made the original version for the one i edited.

All i did in the edit though was remove ragdolls and alter the net settings.

Editing Post to give credit to Chris' config.

Ichigo_Kurosaki
03-08-2011, 07:45 AM
Wheres the link to Chris config.

bigred240588
03-08-2011, 07:53 AM
Chris's fps config: Where we're going, we don't need eyes

Shippy
03-08-2011, 08:04 AM
Getting rid of hats should get you an extra 20 to 40 fps.

Uribaani
03-08-2011, 10:18 AM
You should also mention hiding cosmetics. (http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1683132) Boosted my fps by 10-20 in certain scenarios.

Crash Man
03-08-2011, 10:30 AM
I don't care about graphics, so a maxframes config works wonders for me on my laptop. :)

120 FPS all day erryday

Lembit
03-08-2011, 10:45 AM
My GTX 480 keeps dropping below 60 fps. Not very happy 'bout that.

Infinity.
03-08-2011, 10:51 AM
My GTX 480 keeps dropping below 60 fps. Not very happy 'bout that.

Nasty. It should never drop below 260 FPS

DmitriMendeleev
03-08-2011, 01:34 PM
May i add one tip?

After every major update/every month or so; delete you tf folder, when you restart tf2 it will be recreate, but "better optimised" (probably misconstruing what it does, but who cares - it makes tf2 work better :p).

Folder is found at this directory;
*wherever steam is kept*/Steam/Steamapps/username/temafortress2/tf

if you have configs/huds installed you'll need to save redownload them. This method will also loose you your demos and custom maps you've downloaded.

These can be fixed by simply copying your cfg and map folders and your demos to another directory. Then moving them back in when the tf folder has been recreated.

There was a good thread explainging this but I've lost it. :/
I'll edit it into this thread when I've found it.

P.S. sticky this? :)

meter1060
03-08-2011, 01:42 PM
Yes sticky please. I would like to remember this when I install tf2 on a "crappier computer"

Ps. REP + 3

notavirus.exe
03-08-2011, 01:44 PM
I thought people knew by now, since they keep adding things in a modular manner the game has become so unoptimized its laughable. People with $1k+ machines can barely maintain a steady frame rate.

I remember I used to keep 80-90 fps with my 7750@3.0ghz and my 4670 gpu. Now it seems as if you need a twin xeon quad with SLI 580's to keep your frame rate from bouncing around.

Currently my Phenom II 940 and 6850 keep me always above 70 fps but it is always bouncing between 240 and 70. (with exception to using fraps, obviously I take a performance hit with fraps running).

subsist
03-08-2011, 02:36 PM
Swift shader is also a great little shader optimization that gives me around another 15-20 frames. http://transgaming.com/business/swiftshader/technology/ - Download from there and drop the .dll's in your team fortress 2/tf folder. Some people say to put it in the bin folder, so I just put them in both.

Rammat
03-20-2011, 10:05 AM
Sorry guys for not keeping up with the thread! Edited the OP with advice from some of you. Thanks for the help! :D

minglee
03-16-2012, 02:42 PM
You can also use programs such as Game Booster or AMD Fusion that stop unnecessary programs running in the backround when you play. I use Game booster and it boosted my fps in TF2 by around 5-10 FPS.

Bluefish
05-04-2012, 07:23 PM
I like this config, it boosted me from a steady 30 fps to a constant 120!
However, my only complaint is that it made my inventory slots very small, to the point where the text and pictures for the weapons can't even fit in them. Is there a way to edit the config so this doesn't happen?

Caspian30
05-04-2012, 09:00 PM
I like this config, it boosted me from a steady 30 fps to a constant 120!
However, my only complaint is that it made my inventory slots very small, to the point where the text and pictures for the weapons can't even fit in them. Is there a way to edit the config so this doesn't happen?


remove mat_antialias from your config

then manually set antialias in the options menu. the value should stick unless you still have the -dxlevel command in your launch options.

hawk18727
05-04-2012, 09:05 PM
Please, don't use the SwiftShader, as i got banned for using it.

Bluefish
05-13-2012, 08:30 AM
remove mat_antialias from your config

then manually set antialias in the options menu. the value should stick unless you still have the -dxlevel command in your launch options.

Thank you, this helped

TF2 War Monkey
06-29-2012, 02:48 PM
Please, don't use the SwiftShader, as i got banned for using it.

Sorry for the necro post, but is this true :eek:?
Does this really ban you?

2560x1600@120hz
06-29-2012, 02:52 PM
Sorry for the necro post, but is this true :eek:?
Does this really ban you?

Yes, it does. It injects files into TF2's DLL's. Same stuff used to make wallhacks, so yeah. It will ban you.

Explosive_Lemon
06-29-2012, 03:01 PM
Defrag your .cfg files with CFG-Escape, clean your computer case and make a clean reinstall of your drivers.
Congratulations, you won 15-30 fp/s

Captain Ladle
06-29-2012, 03:22 PM
Rammite, theres something on your name!

Infusions
06-29-2012, 05:40 PM
Is it at all true that your FPS will slightly increase if you run in fullscreen + a low resolution?

It happens with some of my games (Mainly, Batman: Arkham City) but I can't tell in TF2. It does FEEL smoother but I just don't know if that's a placebo effect because I know it works for B:AC.

DaSpaidarPIG
06-29-2012, 05:46 PM
I'll just leave this here...

-nod3d9ex

(launch option).

vocalist
06-29-2012, 06:07 PM
I'll just leave this here...

-nod3d9ex

(launch option).

what is the use of this?

grimreeferx09
06-29-2012, 06:16 PM
from what im reading on their site, swiftshader looks like it only helps if you have a slow graphics card and a fast cpu.

if you have a fast graphics card or a slow cpu, it seems like it would make things worse.

cureforhumanity
06-29-2012, 06:28 PM
Nice thread. Think any of this will stop game freeze issues? My game will lock up for a second or two and jump forward which frequently gets me killed in fights. I think it may be an overheating issue but I still am hoping there is another fix for it.

keith91
06-29-2012, 09:54 PM
Finally found good fps, thanks!

I'm using Chris' highframes config but now I'd like to reinstate the overheal particle effects only. Is there a way to do that?

Popcorp
07-07-2012, 10:40 AM
Does Game Booster helps?Does it increases FPS?

Veronica Mars
07-29-2012, 11:01 PM
Isn't this really risky? Can't you get VAC banned for this?

Gaisle
07-29-2012, 11:03 PM
Isn't this really risky? Can't you get VAC banned for this?

Why would you get VAC banned for this?

Veronica Mars
07-30-2012, 03:30 AM
Why would you get VAC banned for this?

I guess you can't be, I was just worried at first, did some reading, it seems legit. :)

If I do this, I have a question about the skins section: Can I use both no phong skins AND TF2 Oldschool Pack Beta skins? Or should it be one or the other?

Gaisle
07-30-2012, 08:36 AM
One or the other.

infinitemagick
07-30-2012, 08:45 AM
Add this to the list: Turn off in-game community and possibly logging off of your Friends list altogether. This can gain a good 15-20 FPS. Another thing is to run in full screen as compared to windowed for better performance but there's also the ability to run in windowed mode but make your resolution smaller than your screen, so TF2 becomes a window on your desktop that's smaller than your entire screen, showing some of the desktop. I've seen significant FPS boosts by doing this but you'll have to lower your sensitivity because it's possible to twitch your mouse and accidentally hit your desktop, minimizing TF2.

littlephil
07-30-2012, 09:10 AM
I installed Chris' maxquality config and got a pretty decent FPS boost. I was averaging 70-80 before, now its 150+ almost all the time.

SodaPopSimba
07-30-2012, 09:39 AM
I don't have any issues with my PC.

I noticed a lot of Intel users are having this issue, though. All my friends who have game issues have high end Core i5 and i7 CPUs.

Right now, my AMD FX 8120 and HD 6850 has a stable 200+ FPS with both running at stock clocks. I capped it at 121 because of screen tearing on my monitor.
AMD FX isn't that bad. Most of the bashers have never even used the CPU let alone know anyone who has a PC with the chip and believe in benchmarks compiled in Intel Code Compiler.

Mixaraah
11-12-2012, 12:22 PM
I wouldn't mind if TF2 was compeletely reoptimized, those graph configs are the only way how i keep mine properly running. Athlon 6000+ 3,0GHz, RadeonHD 7750 and 4Gb, every other source game runs perfectly, even L4D2 despite of the massive AI. Only TF2 makes an exception. It's not that terrible, but I'm still surprised how heavy software it has become.

Dr. Sandman
11-12-2012, 12:33 PM
I wouldn't mind if TF2 was compeletely reoptimized, those graph configs are the only way how i keep mine properly running. Athlon 6000+ 3,0GHz, RadeonHD 7750 and 4Gb, every other source game runs perfectly, even L4D2 despite of the massive AI. Only TF2 makes an exception. It's not that terrible, but I'm still surprised how heavy software it has become.

And I wouldn't mind if Gabe Newell personally visited my house to tickle my chin. But as it stands, very little of Valve is working on TF2 at this time. If you don't understand why this is a problem that can't be forcibly fixed, Valve employees decide what projects they want to work on. It's a wonderful system with only a couple flaws.

Source: http://newcdn.flamehaus.com/Valve_Handbook_LowRes.pdf

TzC | :D
11-24-2012, 06:40 PM
Bump, even know it's still terrible.

DJVertigoR3D
11-30-2012, 07:12 PM
I would like to make a reply!
I got the source from:
http://www.nextlevelgamer.com/team-fortress-2/team-fortress-2-launch-options

ALL CREDIT GOES TO THEM!

It contains more options on how to run TF2 very smoothly!

Laumch Options:


-high : Sets TF2's prioroty to high, giving it the ability to run faster, best used if no background programs are running
-novid : Disables the Valve Video, less lag.
-noforcemparms : This command prevents windows from interfering with Team Fortress 2 and using desktop mouse acceleration settings. (They say this one better than me)
-heapsize <#> : Sets the optimization amount of memory to run TF2. Look on the site for more info!


ALL CREDITS GO TO THEIR RIGHTFUL OWNERS!

firstleet
11-30-2012, 08:38 PM
what is the use of this?

"Not use Direct 3D DirectX 9 Extended Rendering"

It gave me about 20-40 more fps , but it might disables the steam game overlay and the game takes longer if you alt-tabed.

Magickus
11-30-2012, 08:46 PM
Obvious Rammite copy.

DarkBandicoot
07-27-2013, 10:17 AM
"Delete the .txt extension and replace it with .cfg"

I do not see a .txt. Have I done the right thing, downloading the zip file and extracting it to my cfg folder?

hirou
07-27-2013, 01:33 PM
Nice necro. Do you see the extensions of your files in general? If not, check folder options in explorer and uncheck "hide known file extensions".
Btw, you're looking at 2 y.o. thread. Google Chris max fps config, it's not up-to-date too, but at least it's somewhat recent

Exoquatic
07-27-2013, 02:51 PM
Hey guys! I have recently made a pack that should boost your FPS like no other. You can find more details on it here (http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?p=34735045). Thanks for reading!

Code Lime Alpha
09-01-2013, 11:40 PM
Regarding the tf folder one: the files aren't found under your username, they are found under the common folder.

Also, restarting tf2 with your tf folder deleted will just result in a error message. You can redownload the files when you verify the cache (found in the properties menu of tf2 in your library).

This might just be me though. Also, I have yet to see if this actually works.

kawaii
09-02-2013, 01:08 AM
Regarding the tf folder one: the files aren't found under your username, they are found under the common folder.

Also, restarting tf2 with your tf folder deleted will just result in a error message. You can redownload the files when you verify the cache (found in the properties menu of tf2 in your library).

This might just be me though. Also, I have yet to see if this actually works.

Nice necro. Obviously this hasn't/won't be updated for steampipe.

mreeuwij
09-02-2013, 07:37 AM
-high -nojoy-noipx-dxlevel 81

1. needs spaces between, eg: -high -nojoy -noipx -dxlevel 81
2. -dxlevel 81 will reset any set by the FPS config, its a SWITCH not a param. therefore, once SWITCHED to DX 8.1, you have to REMOVE the -dxlevel 81 to make it have effect.

Batabii
09-02-2013, 12:30 PM
-dxlevel 81?

Doesn't that make the game look like garbage?

mreeuwij
09-03-2013, 08:37 AM
-dxlevel 81?

Doesn't that make the game look like garbage?

yeap, it does.

Batabii
09-03-2013, 10:04 AM
yeap, it does.

Reminds me of this (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y_lTUI-9v9g)

this video, while it looks horrible, is NOT the way to get better FPS in TF2.

mreeuwij
09-03-2013, 04:08 PM
lol, that vid, it would give me 100.000 FPS if I wanted those graphics...

Sir Lags A-Lot
10-02-2013, 04:40 PM
Does Game Booster helps?Does it increases FPS?

Yea it does

Sir Lags A-Lot
10-05-2013, 09:52 AM
Can we get optimization for Tele trails?

Sir Lags A-Lot
10-05-2013, 10:07 AM
I have the .pcf editor open so how do i reduce particles?

derpherpyerp
05-31-2014, 11:17 AM
RISE FROM YOUR OPTAMIZED GRAVE.

Jay Dorris
05-31-2014, 11:23 AM
The OP is a guest now.

Jesus christ, it's been a long time.

Xtreme2damax
05-31-2014, 06:59 PM
Whomever bumped this how about posting an updated particle pack and no hats pack?

zfxinsane
05-31-2014, 07:13 PM
Whomever bumped this how about posting an updated particle pack and no hats pack?

Exactly; there's no point bumping an outdated topic with no relevance.