PDA

View Full Version : Suggestion and Demonstration for musical possibilities.

SilverBrin
03-04-2011, 02:45 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TVH8BxwVImk

Hey guys. I've been following the forums here excitedly as a Left 4 Dead fan and community member. I think there are so many exciting opportunities to improve upon the Left 4 Dead experience in Cold Stream. I'm familiar with most of the higher rated mods and maps, and have high expectations with Valve's direct involvement.

I am also a composer. I've independently studied the Left 4 Dead musical focus of functionality over subtext, and atmosphere over narrative enhancement and have some great ideas to improve the experience while keeping in tradition of the game's propensity to express harmony through leitmotif and sparse diverse orchestration. I'm aware that one of the parameters is no new "audio". Music can give a wonderful breath of fresh air to a project that is as ambitious as this. There are horde triggers, tank theme mixing, multiple pounce scenarios, and general gameplay cross fades that need tweaked or recomposed. I have solutions for these issues and have even begun working on a few. I play with too many people that turn music off for various reasons, even risking their performance.