PDA

View Full Version : Help With My First Map

D3wMocr4cy
03-08-2011, 07:10 PM
Hey, I am new to making maps for L4D2 and would like some help with my first survival map, I think I did everything right but the radio will not spawn for me to start the map, then when it did the timer started but no zombies came. If you could help please email me at Epicgam3r@yahoo.com (epicgam3r@yahool.com) I don't know what I did wrong but need help, I will send you a .zip folder with my Hammer Editor file in it and you can take a look.

mAd-
03-09-2011, 06:34 AM
You need navigation for zombies..use google to find tutorial about l4d's navigation meshes..
Also helpful:

http://www.worldofleveldesign.com/categories/left4dead2_mapping/l4d2-how-to-create-survival-gamemode-part1.php

D3wMocr4cy
03-09-2011, 09:27 AM
I have watched all his videos and took notes on how to do everything, it is all set up 100% like he did but the zombies will still not spawn. Up in the top left it says, "Trying To Spawn Infected" over and over but nothing happens, I have a few theories and will try fixing the skybox.

All of the characters walk around and follow me throughout the entire map.

shotgunefx
03-09-2011, 11:19 AM
I have watched all his videos and took notes on how to do everything, it is all set up 100% like he did but the zombies will still not spawn. Up in the top left it says, "Trying To Spawn Infected" over and over but nothing happens, I have a few theories and will try fixing the skybox.

All of the characters walk around and follow me throughout the entire map.

Do you have a skycamera in your map? If you accidentally place two in your map, all navigation gets blocked. It's a weird bug.

Try turning on z_debug 1 after you turn on nav_edit, if all the nav squares have a blue border, it means everything is blocked

D3wMocr4cy
03-09-2011, 04:20 PM
I did the Debug but none of the squares where blue.

shotgunefx
03-09-2011, 04:28 PM
I did the Debug but none of the squares where blue.