PDA

View Full Version : Game loads up but then freezes?!


jmd86
03-22-2011, 12:50 PM
Hi all,

This is my first post on this forum so I apologise in advance if this has already been covered before, however, I purchased Cities In Motion today and installed it fully onto my laptop and it loads up to the Main Menu, but when I click on New Game and ask it to start the tutorial it displays the "loading" screen, and then just crashes and returns me to my desktop with no explanation as to what's wrong...?

Has anyone else had the same/similar problem, and if so, what is the solution?


Regards,



jmd86

co_martsu
03-23-2011, 01:18 AM
The problem is with the graphic card. You could try to adjust the settings in your user documents "Cities in Motion". Open the settings.script file with a notepad, for example, and try the following:

$antialiasing = 0;
$anisotropy = 0;
$shaders = true;
$hardwareSkinning = true;
$occlusionQuery = true;
$pointSprites = false;
$indexingInShaders = true;
$shadows = 0;
$bloom = false;

Also make sure that your graphic card is as required and has the latest drivers imnstalled. By registering the game in http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/mygames.php you'll get access to the tech support section for Cities in Motion at the Forum.

jmd86
03-23-2011, 10:29 AM
Hi co_martsu, many thanks for your reply, I have followed your advice and it now works, and I have registered my game at ParadoxPlaza.

Sorry to be a real pain though, but could you please tell me exactly how I can check whether my laptop's graphic card has the latest drivers installed?

co_martsu
03-28-2011, 04:05 AM
No worries :)

Because I don't know which graphic card you have, I'll give you general advice how to check it with Windows :)

Go in Start>run and type "msinfo32"
This opens a System Information window. Expand the Components entry in the left tree view. Under it there is Display, click it.
This will refresh the view on the right and in there it says the graphics card and the driver version.

I hope you can find it!

P3t3r
07-09-2011, 04:36 AM
I have the same problem, but before I even attempt to make changes, could you possibly tell me if the card isn't good enough?

My default setting is;

// graphics

$antialiasing = 4;
$anisotropy = 8;
$shaders = true;
$hardwareSkinning = true;
$occlusionQuery = true;
$pointSprites = false;
$indexingInShaders = true;
$shadows = 2;
$bloom = true;
$saturation = 1.000;
$systemCursor = false;

I've changed it to your recommendations and the game came on BUT in SUPER slow motion. So, I'm getting there!

I have two extra settings that you didn't mention.. does that mean I delete them completely? I've made them appear red.

Here are the details;


Name Intel(R) HD Graphics
PNP Device ID PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0046&SUBSYS_04871025&REV_02\3&11583659&0&10
Adapter Type Intel(R) HD Graphics (Core i5), Intel Corporation compatible
Adapter Description Intel(R) HD Graphics
Adapter RAM 1.71 GB (1,840,623,616 bytes)
Installed Drivers igdumd64.dll,igd10umd64.dll,igdumdx32,igd10umd32
Driver Version 8.15.10.2302
INF File oem16.inf (iILKM0 section)
Color Planes Not Available
Color Table Entries 4294967296
Resolution 1366 x 768 x 59 hertz
Bits/Pixel 32
Memory Address 0xB0000000-0xB03FFFFF
Memory Address 0xA0000000-0xAFFFFFFF
I/O Port 0x00003050-0x00003057
IRQ Channel IRQ 4294967294
I/O Port 0x000003B0-0x000003BB
I/O Port 0x000003C0-0x000003DF
Memory Address 0xA0000-0xBFFFF
Driver c:\windows\system32\drivers\igdkmd64.sys (8.15.10.2302, 10.14 MB (10,628,640 bytes), 11/02/2011 18:16)


Also can you tell me what that us equal to with GeForce and Radeon?



OK I've tried all I've seen with and without the red bits.. the best I get is the game working but VERY slow motion.. what is up with that?