PDA

View Full Version : Batman Sale


Russboy
03-22-2011, 08:17 PM
Just purchased Batman AA in the sale and the activation key dosen't work!!:mad:

paratech2008
03-22-2011, 08:20 PM
I'd contact support, I'm sure this can be fixed.
But to be safe, check the code and make sure you didn't enter it in wrong.
Its easy to mistake a letter for a number, etc.

Matt
03-22-2011, 08:24 PM
It doesn't work?

Russboy
03-22-2011, 08:31 PM
Thats right i've just looked at the batman AA section apparently this has been happening for ages so I would appreciate some help I might have got this game cheap but Im entitled to have it working! where do I go to speak to someone who can sort this out?

serieus1
03-22-2011, 08:34 PM
Thats right i've just looked at the batman AA section apparently this has been happening for ages so I would appreciate some help I might have got this game cheap but Im entitled to have it working! where do I go to speak to someone who can sort this out?

First off, slow down a bit, you'll get what you purchased. No need to get angry over spilled milk, right? As far as I'm concerned there have always been issues with GFWL if that's where the problem lies. Since the Steam portion of it I'm sure works well since if you bought on Steam then there's no need to enter any activation codes to download/install and start the game. As for GFWL, there's been lots of issues with that and some people say that you should manually turn on GFWL, if you don't have it, then install that client. You can find it here,
gamesforwindows.com . Also, I've heard that starting the game from the actual exe file can help too.

Oh yea, and paratech already answered your question too, contact support. It may take 24-48hrs to get a response, but they'll get to you. No worries.

Matt
03-22-2011, 08:39 PM
What is the error message? Saying "it doesn't work" does not get us any closer to a resolution.

Also, what have you tried?

Russboy
03-22-2011, 08:55 PM
First off, slow down a bit, you'll get what you purchased. No need to get angry over spilled milk, right? As far as I'm concerned there have always been issues with GFWL if that's where the problem lies. Since the Steam portion of it I'm sure works well since if you bought on Steam then there's no need to enter any activation codes to download/install and start the game. As for GFWL, there's been lots of issues with that and some people say that you should manually turn on GFWL, if you don't have it, then install that client. You can find it here,
gamesforwindows.com . Also, I've heard that starting the game from the actual exe file can help too.

Oh yea, and paratech already answered your question too, contact support. It may take 24-48hrs to get a response, but they'll get to you. No worries.

Being spoken to like Im five years old is what Ive come to expect on these forums, Im not angry sunshine iv'e paid for this game and I expect it to work straight away like steam expects to get its money straight away. I dont know what they put in your tea on here but everytime I see a post on this site that has a go at steam that person is jumped all over. Ive played and forgotten more games than you could name so step off talking to me like im ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥. I have owned this game previously and own plenty of GFWL games and have never had a problem with any of them (until now).

As for it not being steams fault IT IS, I have started the game and am presented with an activation screen which has nothing to do with GFWL it is some poxy online security check which I should not have to go through as I have bought the game through an online company. So "as far as your concerned" get your facts right before you start telling me how you assume it must be.

paratech2008
03-22-2011, 09:08 PM
The thing is Valve/Steam will fix it.
I understand wanting to play a game you just purchased. I understand being angry it has bugs. But the best thing to do is contact support and try to be patient. It will get resolved.

serieus1
03-22-2011, 09:14 PM
Being spoken to like Im five years old is what Ive come to expect on these forums, Im not angry sunshine iv'e paid for this game and I expect it to work straight away like steam expects to get its money straight away. I dont know what they put in your tea on here but everytime I see a post on this site that has a go at steam that person is jumped all over. Ive played and forgotten more games than you could name so step off talking to me like im ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥. I have owned this game previously and own plenty of GFWL games and have never had a problem with any of them (until now).

As for it not being steams fault IT IS, I have started the game and am presented with an activation screen which has nothing to do with GFWL it is some poxy online security check which I should not have to go through as I have bought the game through an online company. So "as far as your concerned" get your facts right before you start telling me how you assume it must be.
:eek: We've been taught well in this world: Money makes the world go round. Next time why don't you try running the show and witness the fact that issues do happen and that most are taken care of ASAP. That's how business works, nothing is perfect, but those with money who spend it seem to expect perfection in an imperfect world. So really, drink this great tea with me and eventually you'll be playing your game and having a blast.

Russboy
03-22-2011, 09:22 PM
You understand the concept of taking something out of context, good for you, what do you work for the Sun newspaper or something?

If anyones looking for a row it's you old son.

serieus1
03-22-2011, 09:26 PM
You understand the concept of taking something out of context, good for you, what do you work for the Sun newspaper or something?

If anyones looking for a row it's you old son.

Row row row your boat gently down the stream, merrily merrily merrily merrily your game is but a dream.:p

Chill out man, it's not worth the effort. Have fun, don't be mad. Play a different game till they fix the problem.

CTRL ALT DEL !
03-22-2011, 09:31 PM
Perhaps you should contact support, they are the only ones that can deal with account specific information. (you must create a seperate account for support) click the support link above.

Russboy
03-22-2011, 09:32 PM
Ignore the above post, I was refering to that idiots post but it looks like its been removed. Im not expecting perfection it would be nice if something just worked out of the box properly for a change.

Theres been so many games that have come out recently that are full of problems Im just a bit fed up with the whole scene lately.

Russboy
03-22-2011, 09:40 PM
Perhaps you should contact support, they are the only ones that can deal with account specific information. (you must create a seperate account for support) click the support link above.

Yea Iv'e contacted them now just awaiting their response.

Thanks for the help

puffader
03-22-2011, 09:58 PM
Don't know if this will help but alot of times the B's and 8's look simular, that was the problem Iwas having...Sunshine ;)

MoreThanMike
03-22-2011, 10:19 PM
I'm having the same issue, but it's definitely not because the CD-key is typed in wrong. I can assure you my copy and pasting skills are top notch.

Before I file a ticket with Steam I'm trying to see if someone else has figured out a solution.

coolcooltheman
03-22-2011, 10:57 PM
I'm having exactly the same problem here. I use the copy and paste method given by steam.

Somehow I feel like this is a pretty big problem. Valve, do you know what's going on?

Jagged Tooth
03-22-2011, 11:09 PM
...As for it not being steams fault IT IS, I have started the game and am presented with an activation screen which has nothing to do with GFWL it is some poxy online security check which I should not have to go through as I have bought the game through an online company. So "as far as your concerned" get your facts right before you start telling me how you assume it must be.

Do you have a screenshot at all. I'm just a bit curious to see what the window says. I've never actually heard of Steam complaining about a security check.

Gameslaya
03-22-2011, 11:19 PM
Do you have a screenshot at all. I'm just a bit curious to see what the window says. I've never actually heard of Steam complaining about a security check.

It actually isn't Steam, but ANOTHER form of DRM, probably SecuROM.

So, we have Steam (which I can tolerate), SecuROM (unacceptable), and GFWL (what the ♥♥♥♥ is this ♥♥♥♥).

I just bought Batman earlier and was severely displeased to find that it installed GWFL and SecuROM without my permission. What's more, the DRM does not allow me to play the game.

Ugh. I simply uninstalled the game and spent a bit of time deleting GWFL and SecuROM from my computer (harder than it seems because it is malware that loves to burrow into your computer). In my opinion going through this DRM again is a hassle and not even worth playing the game anymore. I consider my 8 dollars ill spent and down the drain as far as I'm concerned.

I'll just get this game for PS3, or, even better, try to exchange my PC copy for the PS3 copy with the company that made this game.

EDIT: Not to mention that I only have 4 installs allowed. So there's DRM for you, making the world a better place.

Zephon
03-23-2011, 12:27 AM
It actually isn't Steam, but ANOTHER form of DRM, probably SecuROM.

So, we have Steam (which I can tolerate), SecuROM (unacceptable), and GFWL (what the ♥♥♥♥ is this ♥♥♥♥).

I just bought Batman earlier and was severely displeased to find that it installed GWFL and SecuROM without my permission. What's more, the DRM does not allow me to play the game.

Ugh. I simply uninstalled the game and spent a bit of time deleting GWFL and SecuROM from my computer (harder than it seems because it is malware that loves to burrow into your computer). In my opinion going through this DRM again is a hassle and not even worth playing the game anymore. I consider my 8 dollars ill spent and down the drain as far as I'm concerned.

I'll just get this game for PS3, or, even better, try to exchange my PC copy for the PS3 copy with the company that made this game.

EDIT: Not to mention that I only have 4 installs allowed. So there's DRM for you, making the world a better place.

you are mistaken my friend. on the store page it mentions GFWL and securom. purchasing the game meant YOU in fact gave the go ahead. maybe paying attention to what you purcahse would be a good idea.

also neither securom nor GFWL(from microsoft! the same people that make windows OS)are malware by defenition or operation.

not wanting DRM one your system is on thing. making up stories about what it does or how it works is another. also you'd be surprised what "burrows" into your PC, considering you think things like securom and GFWL do, you probobly have the computer know how of my grandmother.

Sanguine Sun
03-23-2011, 12:31 AM
There's a nice long complaints thread in the Batman steam forums about the activation code not working. Im one the those screwed so far at this point.

OmegaRed60
03-23-2011, 12:56 AM
I'm glad I've been waiting for this to drop to $5. I've seem to have inadvertently avoided this hassle.

I really hope the sequel avoids both GFWL and securom.

thePyro_13
03-23-2011, 01:16 AM
also neither securom nor GFWL(from microsoft! the same people that make windows OS)are malware by defenition or operation.

Don't be so sure about that, I think GFWL is fine(only as far as not being malware is concerned) however Securom gets it's bad rep for a reason, It has been knows to install into places tht no 3rd party program should be and hides its files to make itself hard to remove.

In this way it often behaves like a virus(this may have changed since i last bothered with a game that uses it).

It has also been know to bloack other programs from running, specifically programs which can be used to detect or remove it, so it has been known to function as a virus aswell.

They've probably toned things down since they started genereating so much negative publicity, but I still don't trust them. And since many developers these days don't use securom I don't have to trust them or use their product.

GFWL isn't malicous, it just sucks.

Gameslaya
03-23-2011, 01:19 AM
you are mistaken my friend. on the store page it mentions GFWL and securom. purchasing the game meant YOU in fact gave the go ahead. maybe paying attention to what you purcahse would be a good idea.

also neither securom nor GFWL(from microsoft! the same people that make windows OS)are malware by defenition or operation.

not wanting DRM one your system is on thing. making up stories about what it does or how it works is another. also you'd be surprised what "burrows" into your PC, considering you think things like securom and GFWL do, you probobly have the computer know how of my grandmother.

Malware = hyberbole. Perhaps crapware? That would be a more acceptable term, methinks. It might act like Malware (or, more accurately, a rootkit), but that doesn't necessarily mean that it is for malicious purposes. No need to get too upset over an exaggeration. ;)

And honestly, I am not the type to read the fine print, especially since I've never had a problem with Steam games before and have learned to trust it. DRM was the last thing on my mind when I bought the game. My fault? Of course. But AT LEAST show me what's installing during the process, and allow me to back out if I wanted to. If you are familiar with installing other programs, you will see what I mean: many programs have the option of "advanced" install, which allows you to install it wherever you please, and uncheck tick marks on parts of the program you think is not necessary (a Yahoo toolbar for IE, for example).

Also, I'm not as ignorant as your grandmother. :cool: I happen to know how much crap burrows into my computer on a day-to-day basis, and use CCleaner accordingly to keep the registry and HD tidy. (I also happen to know that uninstalling a program rarely ever gets rid of every trace of the program, hence is why I have Revo Uninstaller, which helps somewhat).

The two main programs on my computer is Steam and Firefox. Everything else that came on the computer is pretty much long gone by now. :)

Soupias
03-23-2011, 01:43 AM
To be honest I wanted to play this game, especially at this great price. But gfwl and no steam achievements made me pass.

Zephon
03-23-2011, 02:07 AM
Malware = hyberbole. Perhaps crapware? That would be a more acceptable term, methinks. It might act like Malware (or, more accurately, a rootkit), but that doesn't necessarily mean that it is for malicious purposes. No need to get too upset over an exaggeration. ;)

And honestly, I am not the type to read the fine print, especially since I've never had a problem with Steam games before and have learned to trust it. DRM was the last thing on my mind when I bought the game. My fault? Of course. But AT LEAST show me what's installing during the process, and allow me to back out if I wanted to. If you are familiar with installing other programs, you will see what I mean: many programs have the option of "advanced" install, which allows you to install it wherever you please, and uncheck tick marks on parts of the program you think is not necessary (a Yahoo toolbar for IE, for example).

Also, I'm not as ignorant as your grandmother. :cool: I happen to know how much crap burrows into my computer on a day-to-day basis, and use CCleaner accordingly to keep the registry and HD tidy. (I also happen to know that uninstalling a program rarely ever gets rid of every trace of the program, hence is why I have Revo Uninstaller, which helps somewhat).

The two main programs on my computer is Steam and Firefox. Everything else that came on the computer is pretty much long gone by now. :)

malware = malware, redefining the word to fit your point wont work. as before neither GFWL or securom are malware. thats not my opinion thats fact. neither program may be liked but that doesnt make them evil and surley doesnt change how they work.

also there is no proof of securom acting as a rootkit ever. besides that fluke from the bioshock demo wich held no truth.
- yeah. look it up.

Also advanced options wont work when both securom and GFWL are required to play the game. its not like a browser add on although i think GFWL should be optional.

as far as your OCD with keeping your HD "clean" good luck ^^ but not knowing what something is or how it works with your system doesnt make it bad. you really should do some real research and not be affraid to take positive truths seriously on programs you fear, dislike or generally have no knowledge of.

Russboy
03-23-2011, 02:40 AM
Don't know if this will help but alot of times the B's and 8's look simular, that was the problem Iwas having...Sunshine ;)


Thanks for the tip but I dont have any of those possible code errors in my code. Besides I have tried (as steam advised) using the clipboard feature to paste the serial straight into the box and that along with any other way possible I have tried has failed.
There was something like five odd pages of ppl complaining about this last night on the Batman AA sub forum that coupled with me having played the odd game or two and I'm quite sure it's not something I'm doing wrong.

Thanks anyway

EvilKenshin
03-23-2011, 03:07 AM
it could be similar to the time that steam was selling mount & blade/mount & blade warband yet there were no more cd keys available from the company itself (so it gave out wrong cd keys with more digits than it could fit)