PDA

View Full Version : Does Portal 2 have full LAN support for co-op?


realizated
03-24-2011, 12:12 PM
My friend and I were planning on creating a local wireless connection and playing co-op with two laptops side by side. I'd appreciate if someone could confirm that this is supported in the game. Thanks.

Harry101
03-24-2011, 12:15 PM
I don't think it has, although Valve hasn't confirmed it as far as I know. :)

realizated
03-24-2011, 01:23 PM
That would be a bummer, I think all co-op should have the option of being played with a direct connection between the participating computers. Less chance of problems that way

trenmost
03-24-2011, 01:28 PM
l4d has lan option, so i dont see why portal wouldnt have it (p2 uses the same engine)

.EpicWarrior.
03-24-2011, 01:43 PM
Every online source game has a LAN option, I really don't see why they wouldn't have that on Portal 2, because then that would just be a downgrade for them.

hahahehe
03-24-2011, 01:52 PM
I can think of a very good reason why they would leave out LAN.

P2 will be pirated, that is a certainty, and if the game has LAN it means the pirates can play co op together, if they leave it out then the pirates only get SP, if they ant to play co op they have to buy the game.

realizated
03-24-2011, 02:02 PM
My sentiments exactly, hahahehe. In fact some people could legally play co-op with one copy by downloading via steam on two computers. But impractical restrictions should not be the solution to this loophole (and otherwise illegal behavior).

WilliumBobCole
03-25-2011, 08:37 AM
Valve don't care for any form of DRM or what the pirates do, they know pirates get hold of thier games but with their great customer relations and excellent quality of games, they focus ONLY on how good their games can be, and earn significantly more money this way than if they spent less time on the game and more time on anti piracy measures. LAN will be included, I can almost guarantee it,I'd say I CAN guarantee it but I'm not valve, but I AM very confident that this is the case, you can do LAN on any other source game, it is probably possible that you can play LAN with two computers with a single account, if played in offline mode, TF2 and L4D work with this so you know, portal 2 should. By all means, support valve where you can, but I know most of my friends wouldn't buy this game as it isnt their thing, but I will probably introduce them to p2 coop with my account, and encourage them to buy more valve games in future

Angry Kittens
03-25-2011, 09:25 AM
My sentiments exactly, hahahehe. In fact some people could legally play co-op with one copy by downloading via steam on two computers. But impractical restrictions should not be the solution to this loophole (and otherwise illegal behavior).

Im sure the same steam account trying to connect to itself on another computer would not work.

I see no reason for them to leave LAN out.

MinionJoe
03-25-2011, 09:55 AM
LAN play has fallen out of favor with gaming companies in recent years because it prevents the company from monitoring how their product is being used.

I would be pleasantly surprised to discover Portal 2 included LAN play. But since it is already set up to use on Steam, programming in LAN capability would be redundant.

DrakenZA
03-25-2011, 09:55 AM
Yes it will have lan, but you will need to be in online while playing for VAC.

realizated
03-25-2011, 10:45 AM
Im sure the same steam account trying to connect to itself on another computer would not work.

I was of course talking about a LAN connection between two computers with the same steam account logged in offline. That would be possible, if I'm not mistaken?

Angry Kittens
03-25-2011, 10:55 AM
I was of course talking about a LAN connection between two computers with the same steam account logged in offline. That would be possible, if I'm not mistaken?

I know what you meant, my comment still stands :P

realizated
03-25-2011, 11:21 AM
I know what you meant, my comment still stands :P

Quite the dedicated one, I see =)

DrakenZA
03-25-2011, 01:02 PM
LAN play has fallen out of favor with gaming companies in recent years because it prevents the company from monitoring how their product is being used.

I would be pleasantly surprised to discover Portal 2 included LAN play. But since it is already set up to use on Steam, programming in LAN capability would be redundant.

? Even l4d has lan. Im pretty sure it will have lan, and if it doesn't, open console and type sv_lan 1. Its a source game after all.

DustArma
03-25-2011, 02:29 PM
I don't think there's a single Source game that doesn't have LAN play.

Snowey111
03-25-2011, 05:28 PM
I want splitscreen :/
For PC.
Consoles have that over us. We should have it to. Possibly multiple keyboard support.

hahahehe
03-26-2011, 01:07 AM
I was of course talking about a LAN connection between two computers with the same steam account logged in offline. That would be possible, if I'm not mistaken?

Sorry but nope. Running steam in offline mode disables some critical networking functions of steam entirely, functions that re required by games to play online, either by internet or lan, so if your in offline mode and the game has multiplayer support it will not run at all. Dont believe me? Restart steam in offline mode and try to run TF2, DOD, CSS or either L4d and you will see what i mean.

Also even more proof if its needed, as an experiment i just tried running steam in offline mode and then launching a multiplayer mod which i play (Fistfull Of Frags). The mod actually runs but once your in game the server browser doesn't work at all and console connect fails saying "Unable to connect to server"

The only people who would benefit from LAN Play would be the pirates. Unless you have two steam accounts and two copys of portal you wont be able to use it at home, and seeing as its on a co op game with 2 players its not like there gonna be hosting P2 lan matches now is it. Dont get me wrong, im not saying i dont want it, or even thats its not gonna have it, only that, IMO Valve will have taken the decision to remove LAN from P2.

? Even l4d has lan. Im pretty sure it will have lan, and if it doesn't, open console and type sv_lan 1. Its a source game after all.

Thats a dedicated server cvar which defines if the server is a local (lan) server or a public (internet) server. Typing that into a client console would have no effect what so ever.

I don't think there's a single Source game that doesn't have LAN play.

CSS, DOD, TF2, none of these have LAN Support (and before anyone says that they are running older versions of Source, TF2 & CSS are now both running on the very latest version)

bakugov8
03-26-2011, 04:38 AM
Almost all multiplayer games support LAN play, direcly or using console commands (source is usually sv_lan 1)


so yeah, probably it will have.

WilliumBobCole
03-26-2011, 05:05 AM
Dont believe me? Restart steam in offline mode and try to run TF2, DOD, CSS or either L4d and you will see what i mean.


How about YOU sign in as offline on two computers, run tf2 on both, start a map, any map, on the first, and on the second, type in the console "connect [local IP here, usually 192.168.0.2 (the last number may be different)]". tell me it cant be done... I've JUST done it. I knew i could before, you said this so i checked if anything changed, and it STILL WORKS. therefore portal 2 will almost definately be able to work the same way. period.

hahahehe
03-26-2011, 05:07 AM
How about YOU sign in as offline on two computers, run tf2 on both, start a map, any map, on the first, and on the second, type in the console "connect [local IP here, usually 192.168.0.2 (the last number may be different)]". tell me it cant be done... I've JUST done it. I knew i could before, you said this so i checked if anything changed, and it STILL WORKS. therefore portal 2 will almost definately be able to work the same way. period.

So you are completey ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ then.

What part of TF2 will not run in offline mode can your brain not comprehend?

I have just tried it again and it DOESN'T WORK. All it says for me is "This game is currently unavailable!"

==EDIT==

I just tried DOD, CSS, TF2, L4D & L4D2, DOD & CSS ran but i couldn't connect to any servers by either server browser or console.

TF2 & the L4Ds both will not run at all.

LiotkSa
03-26-2011, 05:14 AM
So you are completey ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ then.

What part of TF2 will not run in offline mode can your brain not comprehend?

I have just tried it again and it DOESN'T WORK. All it says for me is "This game is currently unavailable!"

I'm sorry but you are wrong. I have done so too just a minute ago. Maybe you're not doing it right.

WilliumBobCole
03-26-2011, 05:22 AM
there's no need for the little pink heart implying hate swears, I am simply pointing out that I can do this, as can loitkSa, and probably most people. Perhaps you need to make sure TF2 is synced properly in online mode first, or maybe you are doing it wrong, or maybe you have some problem either with your account or your computer or something. But it IS very possible and easy to do. I have been doing it to test my TF2 maps in multiplayer on my one account, with a friend who comes and uses my second computer.

hahahehe
03-26-2011, 05:28 AM
Well my TF2 runs perfectly fine in online mode, when i switch to offline mode it simply will not run.

It could well be a problem at my end, and as i cannot verify if ti is or isnt as i dont have another pc to test it on i will have to accept what your saying.

The IT
03-26-2011, 05:48 AM
I want splitscreen :/
For PC.
Consoles have that over us. We should have it to. Possibly multiple keyboard support.

I think Portal 2 will have full split-screen support.

Disapproval
03-26-2011, 05:58 AM
Well my TF2 runs perfectly fine in online mode, when i switch to offline mode it simply will not run.

It could well be a problem at my end, and as i cannot verify if ti is or isnt as i dont have another pc to test it on i will have to accept what your saying.
You have to go to the console and type in "connect (local ip)"

It's not in the servers list.

Here, have some antirep.

DrakenZA
03-26-2011, 07:02 PM
Thats a dedicated server cvar which defines if the server is a local (lan) server or a public (internet) server. Typing that into a client console would have no effect what so ever.)

Go try it, i play l4d2 in lan mode all the time. Just host a internet game and you change sv_lan to 1 and people can connect to you via lan IPS instead of through the internet.

Portal 2 will be the same, so yes you need 2 legit copies to play lan, and you need to be online, but its STILL lan. Unlike lets say starcraft 2 where there is really NO lan.

pumab
04-22-2011, 09:34 AM
PORTAL 2 WORKS IN LAN CONNECTION. I JUST TRIED IT AT THE MOMENT.
I used the same account on the 2 pc's.

I did the following on both computers:
Enable network sharing ( You have to see each other in network folder)
Disable Firewall ( Or just let it throu. )
Downloaded portal 2 to both pc's and started up both steam client in offline mod with YES THE SAME account.

Enable developer console and i started a random coop map, by tieping "map mp_coop_catapult_2" for example.
While its loading You have to be fast and type "connect 192.168.1.101" on the other computer. AND DONE.

I am able to play portal 2 in lan and it works 100%
I know this is not evidence but but here is a print screen where I play with my friend in lan without internet connection:
http://img822.imageshack.us/img822/7815/nvtelenod.jpg

pumab
04-22-2011, 10:00 AM
hahahehe im sorry but u are a noob.

TheTurnipKing
04-22-2011, 10:01 AM
You might need to tinker with the console, but it should be eminently possible.

untalented893
04-22-2011, 05:37 PM
http://tehparadox.com/forum/f18/portal-2-lan-2112071/

Just tested it using this method. Worked like a charm

npa189
04-22-2011, 05:44 PM
But does it support LAN with the ps3? normally I wouldn't really care, but since the PSN has been down for 2 days now, it kinda suck we can't do co-op with our ps3 brethren.

Lemming Jesus
04-22-2011, 05:45 PM
I was of course talking about a LAN connection between two computers with the same steam account logged in offline. That would be possible, if I'm not mistaken?

I've ran Left 4 Dead with just a single steam account. It was a bit confusing since we all had the same name with a number on the end. I've not tried portal because I've not needed to. i'm going to assume you understand basic networking and how to use the game console. Here's some commands you can try.

sv_lan 1
map (Name)
connect (IP Address of host)


In Left 4 Dead another command was needed on the server to allow clients to connect without using matchmaking. Portal 2 will probably need something similar. I can't remember the command at the moment.

pumab
04-23-2011, 01:19 AM
U dont need nothing more then this 3 command.
sv_lan 1
map (Nam)
connect (IP Address of host)
I tried it and it worked.

Mister_Bucket
06-24-2011, 09:12 PM
Start Steam in offline mode on one computer, and in online mode on the other. Enable developer console on each. Since there's no "Local Lobby" for games you have to set each of the computers, unlike with l4d.

Run Portal 2 on both computers and open the Console on each. On the online one, enter the following lines:

sv_lan 1
sv_allow_lobby_connect_only 0
net_start


The console will display that you have created a local host, and will list the host IP, so make note of that.

Now move to the offline computer, and type in the following lines:

sv_lan 1
sv_allow_lobby_connect_only 0
connect [enter the IP you wrote down]

You'll see the loading screen come up and hang idle.

Then jump back to the online computer and type "map " Make sure you put the space in, so you can see the available co-op maps, and scroll through them until you find one you want to use. After you enter that line, the game will begin loading on both computers.

ENJOY :)

DrakenZA
06-25-2011, 06:33 AM
Portal 2 has lan, just like every other valve game. You both still need to own the game on steam and login.