PDA

View Full Version : FAQ


orangensaft
04-03-2011, 05:59 PM
Alright, so the repeating topics really got on my nerves and I thought we need a topic that explains the questions that have been answered like 15 times anyways.
If you have additions to or comments about this, just reply.


I recently found my old Half-Life box and ...
The easiest way to play TFC online is to register it on Steam. If you still have your old Half-Life box, you may register its CD key (What's a CD key? (https://support.steampowered.com/kb_article.php?ref=7480-WUSF-3601)) on Steam. If your key seems to be invalid, read the Steam Support article "Retail CD Keys (https://support.steampowered.com/kb_article.php?ref=7480-WUSF-3601)" to see if your key has the correct format and check the article "Invalid CD Key (https://support.steampowered.com/kb_article.php?ref=1968-HKLX-7538)" to see if you made typing mistakes. If your key is already registered, contact the Steam support. (It says my key is a duplicate! (https://support.steampowered.com/kb_article.php?ref=6823-QADN-7849))

Is TFC free? / How much does TFC cost?
On Steam, TFC isn't free, unless you own a retail copy of any Half-Life version. If your location isn't listed here, you probably have to pay in USD in the Steam Store.
Europe: EUR 4,99 (http://store.steampowered.com/app/20/?cc=de)
United Kingdom: GBP 2.99 (http://store.steampowered.com/app/20/?cc=gb)
United States: USD $4.99 (http://store.steampowered.com/app/20/?cc=us)

How do I change my name in TFC?
Open the console with using the key below [ESC] and at the left side of [1]. It usually features one of those symbols: ~, , |, , ^ or . Then, type "name "<new name>"" into the console, with <new name> being the nickname you desire.
Why is it not possible to change the name in the options of TFC?
That's because of an update in 2008. That update brought some Steam Community features to GoldSrc, the Half-Life engine, and some special features to Counter-Strike. At first, namechange in CS, DoD and TFC was only possible via Steam Friends. Then, Valve removed that feature due to negative response from the community. They allowed to change the name normally again, but forgot to make a namechange in the TFC options possible. That means that you now have to use the console or config files if you want to change your name in TFC.

What's bhop?
The term bhop (bunny hop) is used to describe a technique used to move as fast as possible in TFC. In early versions of TFC you were theoretically able to move to the left and right side with unlimited speed while not touching ground. Practically, this let you have a very high speed, if you were able to master this method. (Unfortunately, I don't have a good video tutorial of how to bhop properly.)
Is there a script to bhop?
Yes. However, you will probably not find a script that will do everything for you, of course. There are two kinds of bhop scripts, those that you have to press for every jump and those that you hold down as long as you want to bhop. The one that you just hold down is probably done with the "_special" command, which is blocked in most competitive TFC matches.

Are there still people playing TFC?
Absolutely.
But all servers have bots!!
Well, in that case you might want to take a look at this server list that lists ALL servers, ordered by popularity.

Game-Monitor.com (http://www.game-monitor.com/GameSearch/tfc/Team_Fortress_Classic.html)

(If you give me more indiscriminative server browsers, I will link them here.)

How do I record demos?
When you are playing, enter "record <demoname>" into the console, where <demoname> is the name you want to give your demo. It will start recording as soon as you return to the game.

How do I view demos?
It's basically the command "viewdemo <demoname>" into the console, but this may not work every time if you haven't connected to a server since you started the session. Just connect to a server and join the game, after that your demo should play.

What does command / cvar ... do?
crosshair 0|1 - hides|shows crosshair
hud_draw 0|1 - hides|shows the HUD (except crosshair, net_graph, r_drawviewmodel)
net_graph 0|1|2|3 - hides|shows network statistics with different detail (options 1, 2, 3)
r_drawviewmodel 0|1 - hides|shows your weapon model

iliketurtles!
04-04-2011, 07:03 AM
Sticky this, I have been playing for years and learned something from this (demos)

tschumann
04-08-2011, 03:37 PM
With regards to the name change, you can download a file to reenable doing it in options.

audxpwdr
04-22-2011, 06:46 AM
I also agree that this should be stickied!

Masterclown
05-12-2011, 09:30 AM
Nice post!

I too went to play some TFC over the weekend (after being away for several years) and found nothing but bot-laden servers with stupid conversation in them. Going by that Game monitor link, I found a few servernames that I recognized.

pizzahut
07-14-2012, 04:38 AM
Are there still people playing TFC?
Absolutely.
But all servers have bots!!
Well, in that case you might want to take a look at this server list that lists ALL servers, ordered by popularity.

Game-Monitor.com (http://www.game-monitor.com/GameSearch/tfc/Team_Fortress_Classic.html)

(If you give me more indiscriminative server browsers, I will link them here.)
Game-Monitor is broken.

Alternative:

http://www.gametracker.com/search/tfc/?sort=c_numplayers&order=DESC

orangensaft
07-14-2012, 07:31 AM
Game-Monitor is broken.

Alternative:

http://www.gametracker.com/search/tfc/?sort=c_numplayers&order=DESC

GameTracker is discriminative, it only lists servers you add to it.

pizzahut
07-14-2012, 07:48 AM
GameTracker is discriminative, it only lists servers you add to it.
Not sure if this is always the case, but you're right, it's missing some servers that are in the Steam server browser.

Edit: I went ahead and added about 20 missing European servers from my own list.

Gogeta
07-14-2012, 05:17 PM
Get rid of the _special talk, people don't need to know about that.

evil_master
07-14-2012, 08:01 PM
With regards to the name change, you can download a file to reenable doing it in options.


http://master.esclan.net/OptionsSubMultiplayer.res


This file goes in
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\<STEAM_USERNAME>\team fortress classic\tfc\resource"
OR
"C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\<STEAM_USERNAME>\team fortress classic\tfc\resource"

depending on your system

urban360
07-14-2012, 10:07 PM
http://master.esclan.net/OptionsSubMultiplayer.res


This file goes in
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\<STEAM_USERNAME>\team fortress classic\tfc\resource"
OR
"C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\<STEAM_USERNAME>\team fortress classic\tfc\resource"

depending on your system
OR depending on what partition steam is installed. Example above applies mainly to people who install everything to one partition.

Zeiluse
11-29-2012, 10:44 PM
This thread majorly helps. Thanks!

aabicus
12-01-2012, 12:28 PM
Sticky PLZ! :D