PDA

View Full Version : CPU keeps lagging/lag spikes in games


Hatake Kakashi
04-09-2011, 08:47 AM
So yeah,i'm playing let's say RE5 or Mirror's Edge and i get good FPS,everything goes fine but then BAM,i start getting annoying ♥♥♥ lag spikes and apparently it's my CPU since my G510 is telling me that during them my CPU goes down.

Specs:
Windows Vista(Don't even ask)Home Basic 64-bit
ASUS P5GC-MX/1333
Intel Pentium Dual Core CPU 2.4GHz E2220
4GB RAM
ATI Radeon HD4850 512MB

I tried putting all settings to lowest in RE5 and playing it in DirectX9 but it was still lagging.
For some reason,StarCraft 2 dosen't lag even with all settings set on Ultra/High :/

How do i fix it?

skoops
04-09-2011, 08:54 AM
If you know how overclocking your CPU would help a lot especially if you could get it up to 3 GHz.

Hatake Kakashi
04-09-2011, 09:00 AM
I don't know how and well i'm just using a normal fan and all,i guess overclocking would fry my computer...

skoops
04-09-2011, 09:08 AM
0ver clocking is relatively easy and its hard to fry your CPU unless you use some insanely high voltages. Most mobos automatically shut down the CPU if the temps get dangerously high.

Have you tried lowering your screen resolution to see if that helps with the lag?

rotNdude
04-09-2011, 09:17 AM
You could get a new CPU:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100007671+50001157+600005851&QksAutoSuggestion=&ShowDeactivatedMark=False&Configurator=&IsNodeId=1&Subcategory=343&description=&Ntk=&CFG=&SpeTabStoreType=&srchInDesc=

You may need to update your motherboard BIOS.

Hatake Kakashi
04-09-2011, 10:39 AM
I'll try overclocking,but is this one good?:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=19-116-370&ReviewNo=2171046&SortField=0&Pagesize=10&IsFeedbackTab=true&rdm=10#scrollHelpful1

and no,lowering res dosen't help either.

YahooElite
04-09-2011, 10:43 AM
You could get a new CPU:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100007671+50001157+600005851&QksAutoSuggestion=&ShowDeactivatedMark=False&Configurator=&IsNodeId=1&Subcategory=343&description=&Ntk=&CFG=&SpeTabStoreType=&srchInDesc=

You may need to update your motherboard BIOS.

Those are all 45nm CPU's, the one he has is 65nm, so hed either need to update his BIOS as you said which i doubt there would be a BIOS for as 45nm and 65nm CPUs/motherboards are incompatible. As such hed require a new motherboard as well.

Unless im mistaken.

rotNdude
04-09-2011, 10:49 AM
It's got a nice clock speed, but it's limited on L2 cache. Is that about the limit for your budget?

Those are all 45nm CPU's, the one he has is 65nm, so hed either need to update his BIOS as you said which i doubt there would be a BIOS for as 45nm and 65nm CPUs/motherboards are incompatible. As such hed require a new motherboard as well.

Unless im mistaken.

The link to the ASUS site for CPU support is filtered. If you go to the site, it supports a lot of Core2 Duos at 45nm.

Hatake Kakashi
04-09-2011, 10:51 AM
It's got a nice clock speed, but it's limited on L2 cache. Is that about the limit for your budget?

Well,i just want a CPU that's better than the one i got right now and that works with my mobo.

EDIT:Also,if anyone could help me find a way to stop or at least greatly reduce the stuttering,it would be appreciated.

themires
04-09-2011, 11:17 AM
Well,i just want a CPU that's better than the one i got right now and that works with my mobo.

EDIT:Also,if anyone could help me find a way to stop or at least greatly reduce the stuttering,it would be appreciated.

Reduce the resolution of the game.. Turn down the graphics quality.

Hatake Kakashi
04-09-2011, 11:24 AM
Reduce the resolution of the game.. Turn down the graphics quality.



Read first post.
I did all of that and it still lags.

GutterSmurf
04-09-2011, 12:00 PM
congratulations, you've discovered physX.

Edit: alternatively: "A wild physX appears, it's super effective."

Try tuning off PhysX in games settings (if you can, i havent had mirros edge installed for ages and cant be bothered to reinstall it to find this out)

Hatake Kakashi
04-09-2011, 01:51 PM
Turned it off in ME.
I'm talking about RE5.

EDIT:How do you install a mobo patch/BIOS patch?All i get is this zip file with one file in it.

YahooElite
04-09-2011, 04:22 PM
The thing is.. 45nm and 65nm CPUs use different motherboards and architecture..

For example, when i got my comp bout 2 years ago, i wanted the Q8300 which is 45nm and a 680i SLI motherboard, wasnt able to do it because the CPU wasnt compatible with the motherboard so i had to get the 750i SLI which was 45nm compatible.

Nevermind, after doin some searching it appears that the CPU he asked about does appear to be on the supported list.. weird..

Well as for BIOS, for that CPU you need BIOS version 0413 which appears to be the latest BIOS update which was released 7/29/09.

You can easily enter BIOS and see if you have the correct version, if you do then you wont have to do a BIOS update.

Hatake Kakashi
04-09-2011, 04:49 PM
The thing is.. 45nm and 65nm CPUs use different motherboards and architecture..

For example, when i got my comp bout 2 years ago, i wanted the Q8300 which is 45nm and a 680i SLI motherboard, wasnt able to do it because the CPU wasnt compatible with the motherboard so i had to get the 750i SLI which was 45nm compatible.

Nevermind, after doin some searching it appears that the CPU he asked about does appear to be on the supported list.. weird..

Well as for BIOS, for that CPU you need BIOS version 0413 which appears to be the latest BIOS update which was released 7/29/09.

You can easily enter BIOS and see if you have the correct version, if you do then you wont have to do a BIOS update.

Well,i do(need a BIOS update) so...

YahooElite
04-10-2011, 02:01 AM
In that case someone can explain how to do a proper BIOS update.

Roflnova
04-10-2011, 07:49 AM
sounds silly, but try defragging your hard disc?

Hatake Kakashi
04-10-2011, 09:55 AM
Tried that too.

Well,i'll inquiry about BIOS updates when i'll have the money to get a new CPU.

Right now i just want to stop my stuttering so i can play RE5 properly.

DRAGOLIZER
04-10-2011, 12:30 PM
What I don't understand is how I have a PC that is worser than yours, but experience no stuttering on Mirror's Edge... I would recommend defragging your hard drive but someone else has already suggested it. How about closing unnecessary applications / programs before playing?

Hatake Kakashi
04-10-2011, 12:55 PM
I did all of that.

And i'm not really talking about Mirror's Edge,i'm talking about Resident Evil 5.

rotNdude
04-10-2011, 01:02 PM
I did all of that.

And i'm not really talking about Mirror's Edge,i'm talking about Resident Evil 5.

I'll move it to the game forum. When and if you need help with choosing new computer components, feel free to post a new thread in the hardware section.

Hatake Kakashi
04-10-2011, 01:29 PM
I'll move it to the game forum. When and if you need help with choosing new computer components, feel free to post a new thread in the hardware section.

No,i mean it happens in that sort of game.
It's much less apparent in,let's say,Source games.