PDA

View Full Version : Will a single GTX 580 handle BF3 at max settings?


Grunwaldt
04-15-2011, 04:28 PM
My specs are:

CPU: Intel Core i7 975 Extreme Edition
RAM: 12GB 1600 MHz DDR3
MOBO: ASUS Sabertooth X58
SOUND: ASUS Xonar DX PCIe
VGA: MSI N580GTX Twin Frozr II/OC
DRIVES:
- OCZ SSD 120 GB (For OS and programs)
- HDD 1TB Wester Digital (For general storage)
OS: Windows 7 64bit Home Premium

Will a single GTX 580 handle BF3 maxed out?

Epic Beatrice
04-15-2011, 04:36 PM
NO MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS HAVE BEEN ANNOUNCED.

but that should be able to handle it, methinks.

suixdeathshroud
04-15-2011, 04:53 PM
What Epic Beatrice said. Even though we don't know the minimum requirements just yet, but from the looks of it your specs look like it can run BF3 maxed out or close to it.

methodman123
04-15-2011, 04:55 PM
Someone that is associated with DICE confirmed that the gameplay we see in the trailers is running the game with one gtx 580

BlackoutUK
04-15-2011, 05:25 PM
My specs are:

CPU: Intel Core i7 975 Extreme Edition
RAM: 12GB 1600 MHz DDR3
MOBO: ASUS Sabertooth X58
SOUND: ASUS Xonar DX PCIe
VGA: MSI N580GTX Twin Frozr II/OC
DRIVES:
- OCZ SSD 120 GB (For OS and programs)
- HDD 1TB Wester Digital (For general storage)
OS: Windows 7 64bit Home Premium

Will a single GTX 580 handle BF3 maxed out?

Nice rig. And i think that system will have no problem playing it at max settings.

P.S i think the real purpose of this post was to show your rig off lol

Grunwaldt
04-15-2011, 05:50 PM
P.S i think the real purpose of this post was to show your rig off lol
Nah man, I'm not like that, not a kid showing his mom-bought PC!

Shape
04-15-2011, 05:53 PM
/Very nice setup, if I were you I'd pickup one more 580 in Sli. + a 120Hz display. No worries. ;)

BlackoutUK
04-15-2011, 05:58 PM
Nah man, I'm not like that, not a kid showing his mom-bought PC!

Okay i was wrong. Very nice rig m8.

andredoc
04-15-2011, 06:42 PM
Someone that is associated with DICE confirmed that the gameplay we see in the trailers is running the game with one gtx 580

this.

Plus consider it's pre-alpha stage, so yea a 580gtx will easily handle this game :)

Omega4
04-15-2011, 07:03 PM
I've always wondered what percentage of PC gamers actually use their high-powered (CPU and GPU) gaming rigs for something else other than gaming.

Grunwaldt
04-15-2011, 07:11 PM
I've had a hard time making my GTX 580 stable, MSI shipped my model with unstable factory clocks. I actually had to flash a new BIOS to the card with increased voltage in order to run 3DMark11 without crashing.

It's ironic because right in the box where the card came in, it stated "3DMark11" with a big title emphasizing about it even more than the GTX 580 part.

I can run 3DMark11 without crashes now, but I haven't stressed the card yet with a highly demanding game, hope it will run ok.

Jie
04-15-2011, 08:09 PM
I'm just hoping my GTX 560 can handle BF3 fine. :(

FSN1977
04-16-2011, 07:42 AM
It depends with out a doubt what your res. is, if ur playing on 30 inch with a res. of 2560 x 1600 i don't think you can max this game out.