PDA

View Full Version : How will DX11 + High Res Textures run on my rig?


loupel
06-30-2011, 10:56 AM
I will soon have:

Phenom II X6 1100t
Win 7 64 bit
4gb 1333 DDR3
EVGA GTX 570 HD 2560mb

I seem to be good in the CPU and GPU areas, but Crytek is recommending '8gb' or ram to run both...now I personally think that this will be unnecessary, but I was just wondering....

Does someone have similar specs that are running both patches? How well do you run the game? But if someone can give me some advice on how well this will run on my rig, that will be much appreciated....thank you....

BTW...I run all my games at 1920 X 1080 res...preferrably maxed settings...I don't know but from what Ive been reading, this new DX11, High Res Textures stuff is not very well optimized .....or tested for that matter....looks like we will be Beta Testers again....

TheLeapist
06-30-2011, 10:59 AM
Everything looks good except your mid-grade RAM at only 4 gigs might bottle neck everything else.

I know my dual ati hd 5770s are bottlenecked by my 4 gigs of ram while running all settings on ultra.

loupel
06-30-2011, 11:02 AM
Everything looks good except your mid-grade RAM at only 4 gigs might bottle neck everything else.

I know my dual ati hd 5770s are bottlenecked by my 4 gigs of ram while running all settings on ultra.

What kind of FPS are you getting...should I upgrade to 2 X 4gb 1600...everyone keeps telling me that 8gb ram is overkill for gaming right now...

bubbacho
06-30-2011, 11:09 AM
At 1080p you should be just fine. I really don't think the 4 gigs will
be that much of an issue, you'll just page out to the HD. I'm running a
couple 5870's with a 980x and 6 gigs and my only bottleneck is the HD.
My Steam folder is on a 1Tb caviar black and upon loading each level it
freezes for a second to load the new textures. Once I'm over that little
hiccup it runs consistently between 40-50fps on Ultra.

Enjoy your new rig!

KyyyleN
06-30-2011, 11:20 AM
LOl 4 gb ram is more than enough. Your gpu will hold you down though.. mean ing you wont get 60 fps, mabey 30-40 if lucky.

Tyestor
06-30-2011, 11:22 AM
Everything looks good except your mid-grade RAM at only 4 gigs might bottle neck everything else.

I know my dual ati hd 5770s are bottlenecked by my 4 gigs of ram while running all settings on ultra.

Uhhhhhhhhhhh, mid-grade ram? What? 1333mhz is fine unless you're overclocking. 4GB is enough, by miles. To the OP, your system should run it fine.

loupel
06-30-2011, 11:24 AM
LOl 4 gb ram is more than enough. Your gpu will hold you down though.. mean ing you wont get 60 fps, mabey 30-40 if lucky.

so you are saying anything less than a 580 will not be good for this...but you did notice that it will have 2.5 gb right...I mean for high res textures that should be good...this is a pretty good GPU...I mean if Cryteks little patch cant run good on this card, then it is a major fail on their part and they just need to give up....Battlefield 3 anyone?

TheLeapist
06-30-2011, 11:48 AM
What kind of FPS are you getting...should I upgrade to 2 X 4gb 1600...everyone keeps telling me that 8gb ram is overkill for gaming right now...Yeah 8gigs is overkill I'd say for 99.9% of the time. And it's barely barely bottlenecking my system with crysis 2. So I don't know if it's worth the money. I get anywhere around 30-60 frames depending on the situation. Very much playable. So unless you're obsessed with having the best then I'd say don't worry about the RAM for now.


Uhhhhhhhhhhh, mid-grade ram? What? 1333mhz is fine unless you're overclocking. 4GB is enough, by miles. To the OP, your system should run it fine.Yes, mid grade. I think we can all agree that DDR3 is standard. The lowest you can find is 1066, the next and MIDDLE class being 1333mhz and the high end (without it being special overclocked gaming RAM) is 1600. He WILL lose a couple of frames because of that RAM, but it's no big deal, just like I said above.

Tyestor
06-30-2011, 01:23 PM
Yes, mid grade. I think we can all agree that DDR3 is standard. The lowest you can find is 1066, the next and MIDDLE class being 1333mhz and the high end (without it being special overclocked gaming RAM) is 1600. He WILL lose a couple of frames because of that RAM, but it's no big deal, just like I said above.

He's not going to lose much if any FPS...The jump from 1333mhz to 16000mhz is so inconsequential you might as well save the money for something else. Oh and the "high end" would be 2000mhz but hey, I don't feel like spending $200+ on 4GB of RAM.