PDA

View Full Version : Recording Full Res in Fraps


ittybittygirls
08-12-2011, 12:12 PM
i7 2600k @ 4.4ghz w/ Corsair H60
2 EVGA 570 GTXs Superclocked in SLI
8GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600
Seasonic X-850
ASUS P8P67 Pro 3.1
HAF 932
Crucial C300 SSD
WD Caviar Black
Viewsonic VX2268wm 120hz LCD

Recording at half resolution I can net about 160 FPS average in Dx11 with all the goodies on, 16CSAA & 16AF.

I turn that up to full resolution recording, and I drop into the 40s.

BC2 is running from my SSD, Fraps is writing to my storage drive. Is the storage drive bottlenecking me?

Another interesting note is I can turn down ALL my settings down to the lowest and see no noticeable performance increase.

Any ideas, fraps people?

inb4 40 FPS is enough/the human eye can only see 30 FPS nonsense

OCJunkie
08-12-2011, 12:52 PM
40 FPS is enough/the human eye can only see 30 FPS nonsense

Technically you only need about 20ish fps (if it's constant) for video to appear smooth; look at movies for example are only 23.97fps but it's perfectly fine video. The human eye doesn't see in "frames" as it's "refresh rate" is unlimited so that whole thing is wrong and not directly comparable, you CAN in fact see the difference between say 30 and 60fps.

Anyways.

Sounds to me like it's not necessarily a hardware issue but more of a limitation in the software's code.

skippy72294
08-12-2011, 12:55 PM
Technically you only need about 20ish fps (if it's constant) for video to appear smooth; look at movies for example are only 23.97fps but it's perfectly fine video. The human eye doesn't see in "frames" as it's "refresh rate" is unlimited so that whole thing is wrong and not directly comparable, you CAN in fact see the difference between say 30 and 60fps.

Anyways.

Sounds to me like it's not necessarily a hardware issue but more of a limitation in the software's code.

Yeah but who honestly notices the difference unless you do a side-by-side or switch between 30 and 60fps? As long as it's smooth looking (i.e. anything over 30'ish for me in games) it's good to go. But yes, if you have a 60Hz monitor, you can't see more than 60fps, if you have a 120Hz monitor, you can't see more than 120fps as that's what those monitors are designed for.

ittybittygirls
08-12-2011, 01:04 PM
I've become pretty accustomed to 120FPS @ 120hz - it's solely the reason I bought a second 570. I may not be able to see the difference sub-100 FPS, but I sure can feel it.

skippy72294
08-12-2011, 01:06 PM
I've become pretty accustomed to 120FPS @ 120hz - it's solely the reason I bought a second 570. I may not be able to see the difference sub-100 FPS, but I sure can feel it.

Okay then... you're not one of those who go "I can totally see over 100FPS on my 60Hz monitor!!! Shut up n00b!" Definitely sounds like a software not a hardware issue here then.

ittybittygirls
08-12-2011, 01:13 PM
Okay then... you're not one of those who go "I can totally see over 100FPS on my 60Hz monitor!!! Shut up n00b!" Definitely sounds like a software not a hardware issue here then.

One thing that may be causing issues is I'm using steam mover.

http://www.traynier.com/software/steammover

So steam as well as my one installed game is on my D: storage drive but using steam mover runs it from my SSD. Fraps is installed on my D: and records footage to D: as well. The more I'm reading I get the impression that I should not be using that program, and instead install steam and said game to my SSD, with fraps and videos going on the D:. Am I correct?

FanOfKOTOKO
08-12-2011, 01:15 PM
I have a similar problem, Fraps makes my games (and the recordings) tear like it's life depended on it, and it's quite annoying. Any tips on reducing that other than halving the resolution?

madmarten
08-12-2011, 01:21 PM
Give Playclaw trial a try http://www.playclaw.com

It should work better on multicore processors than Fraps, but if you still get similar framerate then yeah it's probably a storage drive problem.

ittybittygirls
08-12-2011, 01:39 PM
Give Playclaw trial a try http://www.playclaw.com

It should work better on multicore processors than Fraps, but if you still get similar framerate then yeah it's probably a storage drive problem.

I'll give it a shot.

Bad_Motha
08-12-2011, 03:36 PM
If you use MSI Afterburner, that has ability to do video capture as well, maybe try that too.