PDA

View Full Version : A problem starting From Dust


misterfizzwin
08-22-2011, 11:58 AM
I've just bought and installed From Dust, but I can't start it up when I hit "Play".
It shows the small window that says "Preparing to launch From Dust...", but then it closes quickly, and my game doesn't start.
Halp?:(

misterfizzwin
08-22-2011, 08:45 PM
please halp

DoubleT091
08-24-2011, 04:49 PM
I have the exact same problem.. Don't know what to do about it though..

B33 ENN
08-25-2011, 02:35 AM
Can you please provide some useful details about your computer, otherwise no one can even begin to assist you. Example: CPU, Memory, Graphics Adaptor, Operating System version and update level...

The Laughing Ma
08-27-2011, 06:25 AM
If you have it, uninstall AirFoil. it's an app that makes other computers or AirPort Extremes into remote speakers for your computer. (See http://www.rogueamoeba.com/airfoil/windows/ )

AirFoil (and more specifically, AirfoilInject3.dll) also royally messes with DirectX and other audio components on the PC, and I was able to finally run "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\from dust\Support\Ubisoft\UbisoftGameLauncherInstaller. exe" successfully.

Remember to reboot immediately after uninstalling AirPlay.

This led me to be able to run the game's installer, click PLAY thru Steam, get the CD-Key, and run the game successfully.

KubanitoS
08-27-2011, 06:26 AM
Try verifying the game cache.

Kenny_McCormick
08-28-2011, 07:07 AM
Update your graphic card driver. Fixed it for me.