PDA

View Full Version : Bad COmpany 2 hangs for 10 seconds after joining a server


H E X E N
09-17-2011, 11:23 AM
I know this has been answered before, but I can't seem to find the post.

Well, ever since I rebuilt my computer, BC2 hangs for about 10-15 seconds after joining my first server. If I disconnect and go to a different server, it does not hang. As long as I stay in game, I'll never see it freeze again. This only happens on the initial connection for some reason. Also, does anyone know how to speed up the load times. Using 10.4a preview drivers and two 4870's I could load faster than I do now.

Specs:

Windows 7
MSI 890FXA - GD70
AMD Phenom II - 965 @ 3.8ghz - 1.4 V
2X XFX 6950 2gb in CFX - (11.6 driver suit)
OCZ Vertex III - 120gb
GSkill Ripjaws X Series 1600 8gb

BC2 is in the exceptions list for windows firewall. I have forced DX11 through the .ini, changed my field of view to 75 and turned bloom to false. None of this made a difference before or after changing though. I also have vsync on. 1920-1080 on 8x and 4.

Using onboard sound. Realtek

Any help would really be appreciated.

Garrett2112
09-17-2011, 12:18 PM
Just curious (and you may already have done this) but Punkbuster had an update in August - have you manually updated PB recently?
Wednesday 08.03.2011 [2:00PM]

Version 2.277 of the PB Client for BC2 has been released to our PB Master Servers for auto-update and to our website download page. This is a maintenance release

Evenbalance Link (http://evenbalance.com/index.php?page=support-bc2.php)

PBsetup Update tool - Evenbalance (http://www.evenbalance.com/index.php?page=pbsetup.php)

sean_blaik
09-17-2011, 12:19 PM
Do you have AVG installed. If so then allow then folder Via AVG in your "my document" BFBC2 folder.

It's an error when AVG has to scan your folder before you play causing it to hang, as BFBC2 has to edit the file after you change class settings etc.

H E X E N
09-17-2011, 09:39 PM
Just curious (and you may already have done this) but Punkbuster had an update in August - have you manually updated PB recently?


Evenbalance Link (http://evenbalance.com/index.php?page=support-bc2.php)

PBsetup Update tool - Evenbalance (http://www.evenbalance.com/index.php?page=pbsetup.php)

Holy crap, I completely forgot to manually update PB. Thanks so much man, this fixed the problem. The game still loads slow, but at least the 10 second hang has been fixed.

Thanks again man.

@ sean

I never run any sort of anti virus on my gaming machine, but your answer was the one I remember reading in another post: that you had to allow an exception for the BC2 folder so it wouldn't be scanned.

Thanks for the replies, both of you. I'm glad it's fixed. :D

Itchy
09-18-2011, 12:26 AM
Hmm... maybe I forgot to do that after i rebuilt mine...

Thanks!