PDA

View Full Version : Why the high requirements?


Destructor-2011
10-23-2011, 01:45 PM
I see the game and i was like yay another sonic game :D and finally when I see the requirements I was like 0_o

How the **** this game need a i5 and a GTX 460???

Just asking

Fish-E
10-23-2011, 01:48 PM
I see the game and i was like yay another sonic game :D and finally when I see the requirements I was like 0_o

How the **** this game need a i5 and a GTX 460???

Just asking

I'm going to guess that the i5 / GTX 460 is required to run it in 3D.

(The game does look visually fantastic though)

Destructor-2011
10-23-2011, 02:04 PM
I'm going to guess that the i5 / GTX 460 is required to run it in 3D.

(The game does look visually fantastic though)

Me too. lol The game looks cool but why that requirements 0_o We are going to play a Sonic game not Crysis or Metro 2033 lol

About the 3D mmmm if that requirements for the 3D, I hope they separate them and post the requirements with out the 3D

AgainstYT
10-23-2011, 02:28 PM
I'm sure Fish-E is right that those are the reqs. for running in 3D. Look at the vast discrepancy between the minimum and recommended requirements.

Deus Ex: HR has similar "Recommended" specs, even though that game's graphics aren't all that advanced. Radeon 5850 to run some Xbox 360 port? Gotta be kidding me. It's gotta be for 3D support.

It doesn't matter to me though, since my PC exceeds those recommended specs, and I don't have a 3D monitor :p

ezodagrom
10-23-2011, 03:00 PM
The developer, Devil's Details, also ported Virtua Tennis 4 for the PC, and they exaggerated the recommended requirements there (Geforce GTX260 or Radeon HD4870). It's possible that the Sonic Generations PC recommended requirements are also an exaggeration.

Lolwuzzup
10-23-2011, 09:09 PM
Generations was made with the Hedgehog Engine (http://sonic.wikia.com/wiki/Hedgehog_Engine) so that's why it has high requirements I'm assuming.

DustArma
10-23-2011, 10:42 PM
Either:

A) Devil's Details overestimated the requirements like they did with VT4.
B) The requirements are taking stereoscopic 3D into account (you need twice your normal framerate for that, 120 for 60 and 60 for 30)
C) Both
D) It's the most poorly optimized engine in history ever since Rockstar released GTAIV PC.

Chizu
10-24-2011, 12:45 AM
Generations was made with the Hedgehog Engine (http://sonic.wikia.com/wiki/Hedgehog_Engine) so that's why it has high requirements I'm assuming.

An engine built to run on 7 year old hardware? :v

As people have pointed out, the difference between minimum and recommended is quite large, so its probably taking the 3d into account.

Eitherway. I am comfortably above spec. :D

JoeB
10-24-2011, 01:14 PM
Either:
B) The requirements are taking stereoscopic 3D into account (you need twice your normal framerate for that, 120 for 60 and 60 for

You don't need twice the framerate but rather twice the power from your GPU because it has to draw the scene two times instead of one. You are probably thinking of "refresh" rate which is something completely different.

Johnnykey
10-24-2011, 01:37 PM
You don't need twice the framerate but rather twice the power from your GPU because it has to draw the scene two times instead of one. You are probably thinking of "refresh" rate which is something completely different.

Same thing. You also need twice the framerate from 1680x1050 to 1920x1080 (although some people say otherwise, but that's what a benchmark tool told me), thus 'twice the power from your CPU+GPU', twice the performance, etc. He didn't mean anything to do with the refresh rate, from my interpretation.

greenblur
10-24-2011, 08:03 PM
Sonic generations on PC will support full 1080p. Something the consoles will not.

JoeB
10-25-2011, 05:03 AM
Same thing. You also need twice the framerate from 1680x1050 to 1920x1080 (although some people say otherwise, but that's what a benchmark tool told me), thus 'twice the power from your CPU+GPU', twice the performance, etc. He didn't mean anything to do with the refresh rate, from my interpretation.

I guess it depends on the 3D technology then. I use iz3D and it works fine with any framerate simply because it involves drawing the scene on overlapping LCD screens (one of which can only be seen through the polarized glasses).

nibblemonkey
10-25-2011, 07:10 AM
In a similar kinda of Topic to this the forum thread what do people think the chances are of the game running on this system:

Intel Core i5-2410M
4GB RAM
Intel HD 3000 Graphics
500GB Hard Drive

For information purposes the Batman Arkahm Asylum Benchmark results are this (http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/632980588404004177/67CC4AEF0F15F5ED0D5E6710C33DBA6925EEFA3B/) when all settings are maxed and the resolution is 1366x768

lgm1979
10-25-2011, 07:19 AM
Obviously your CPU should be fine (I assume your i5 is a quad), and your GPU is above the minimum HD 2900, so it will run, but I wouldn't expect to max the settings even at your laptop's resolution.

nibblemonkey
10-25-2011, 07:23 AM
Obviously your CPU should be fine (I assume your i5 is a quad), and your GPU is above the minimum HD 2900, so it will run, but I wouldn't expect to max the settings even at your laptop's resolution.

The CPU is Dual Core with Hyper-Threading so 2 cores act like 4.

ezodagrom
10-25-2011, 07:53 AM
Obviously your CPU should be fine (I assume your i5 is a quad), and your GPU is above the minimum HD 2900, so it will run, but I wouldn't expect to max the settings even at your laptop's resolution.
The Intel HD3000 is definitely not above the minimum HD2900, it's actually quite below.

Hatake Kakashi
10-25-2011, 08:15 AM
The CPU is Dual Core with Hyper-Threading so 2 cores act like 4.

>Implying 2 cores with HT is the same as 4 actual cores.

-_-

nibblemonkey
10-25-2011, 08:17 AM
>Implying 2 cores with HT is the same as 4 actual cores.

-_-

I didn't mean it like that and know it isn't the same, just in a basic sense that is what is does. (For example what the Laptop sees it as)

TimmiT9
10-25-2011, 09:49 AM
Generations was made with the Hedgehog Engine (http://sonic.wikia.com/wiki/Hedgehog_Engine) so that's why it has high requirements I'm assuming.
You are talking about an engine made for consoles. This engine isn't near as good as something like CryEngine 3 or Frostbite 2. Crysis 2 has lower recommended system requirements than this.

ezodagrom
10-25-2011, 10:56 AM
You are talking about an engine made for consoles. This engine isn't near as good as something like CryEngine 3 or Frostbite 2. Crysis 2 has lower recommended system requirements than this.
As I said before, the developer responsible for the port, Devil's Details, exaggerated the recommended requirements for the Virtua Tennis 4 PC port, which had a Geforce GTX260 or a Radeon HD4870 as the recommended graphics card. It's possible that the recommended requirements for Generations could be exaggerated as well.

lgm1979
10-25-2011, 03:12 PM
The Intel HD3000 is definitely not above the minimum HD2900, it's actually quite below.

lol, my bad! I guess I read his specs too quickly and thought HD3000 meant he had a Radeon HD 3xxx series mobile card or integrated chipset.

Yeah, those Intel chipsets are not really for gaming.

ezodagrom
10-25-2011, 04:28 PM
lol, my bad! I guess I read his specs too quickly and thought HD3000 meant he had a Radeon HD 3xxx series mobile card or integrated chipset.

Yeah, those Intel chipsets are not really for gaming.
Even if it was an integrated Radeon HD3000, that would still be below minimum specs.
For example, an HD2900 has better performance than even an HD3650. While the HD3650 is from a more recent generation than the HD2900, it's only a mid-range card, while the HD2900 was the previous generation high-end card.

AgileBeast
10-26-2011, 11:32 AM
If you can run Sonic and Sega All-Star Racing on Max well you will probably be able to run this on max or high.

ezodagrom
10-26-2011, 11:52 AM
If you can run Sonic and Sega All-Star Racing on Max well you will probably be able to run this on max or high.
Sonic & SEGA All Stars racing minimum requirements are way lower than Generations, the recommended requirements for All Stars Racing are only a little bit higher than Generations minimum requirements.

Ominus
10-27-2011, 03:31 AM
the only reason besides the "hedgehog engine" for the high specs is because if you downloaded the demo on the xbox 360 there is a system for "3d mode" that you need a 3d TV to run it, it can run fine on quad core and i3 if need be so long as you dont want to go all out and use the 3D on the PC version thats what ive read and seen on youtube.

petriquor
10-27-2011, 05:35 AM
The high requirements definitely have me worried, think there will be a demo? I'm just hoping I can at least pull off 720*480/low to average settings on this two year old laptop.

Leox001
10-27-2011, 05:56 PM
Sonic & SEGA All Stars racing minimum requirements are way lower than Generations, the recommended requirements for All Stars Racing are only a little bit higher than Generations minimum requirements.

SSASR Was horribly optimized too

DJ Cryotek
10-27-2011, 06:24 PM
Sonic generations on PC will support full 1080p. Something the consoles will not.
Yeah, I saw the console screenshots and they didn't even appear to use anti-aliasing. PC is definitely the way to go, our version will (as always) destroy theirs. And it's half the price lol.

The game looks incredible imo. Given the detail levels, the animation of much of the background, and the speed you move through the levels, above average system requirements might make more sense than we think. Just because a game is "cartoony" doesn't mean it isn't high-end visually.

NBlastMax
10-28-2011, 01:55 AM
SSASR Was horribly optimized too

Nooope.

UTROMSHREDDER
10-28-2011, 08:20 AM
The requiremnts are high because these requirements are for max settings with 3D support. The game dont support DX11 and Physx so the only logic explanation for these requirements is 3D. But most people dont have Nvdia 3d glasses anyway.

RicenChicken
10-28-2011, 07:05 PM
will a 8800 work?

UTROMSHREDDER
10-29-2011, 01:34 AM
will a 8800 work?

yes it will. I also have a 8800gt 512 mb but in a week from now, i will sell it and will buy a GTX 570!:p

Salvor Hardin
10-29-2011, 11:18 PM
SSASR Was horribly optimized too

It also lacked the nice shaders used in the PS3/360 versions so it looked more like a high res Wii game :(

Fick
10-30-2011, 06:36 PM
yes it will. I also have a 8800gt 512 mb but in a week from now, i will sell it and will buy a GTX 570!:p

What about a 9600gt 512?

UTROMSHREDDER
10-31-2011, 01:07 AM
What about a 9600gt 512?

9600 gt is a bit slower than 8800gt but i doubt that sonic will be so demanding unless it have a lot better graphic than console version. 8800GT 512 mb is on the minimim requirements so normaly with 9600gt it will run slow even on low settings while 8800gt 512 mb will be able to play it at least on medium if not high. But as i said in a few days i am getting a GTX570 so i have nothing to worry about!:D

BC2 Cypher
10-31-2011, 02:31 AM
Cause you need a computer that can match Sonic's speed lololol

I dunno.

UTROMSHREDDER
10-31-2011, 06:08 AM
All computers today can match if not surpass sonic speed already:D My pc can surpass sonic speed a lot!

Matthew_rs7
10-31-2011, 07:41 AM
All computers today can match if not surpass sonic speed already:D My pc can surpass sonic speed a lot!
Nothing, and I mean NOTHING is faster than Sonic.....you got that?

I am not too worried about running this game. I got GTX 560, AMD Phenom II X4 965. I am sure the requirements are exaggerated a little. But then again, people are comparing the recommended, not minimum requirements.

I certianly hope it uses the Hedgehog engine, because that was beautiful.

So glad to see the PC version is only $30 as the 360 version is $50 at my work.

Malcontentmofo
10-31-2011, 08:01 AM
If you can run Sonic and Sega All-Star Racing on Max well you will probably be able to run this on max or high.

did that game run properly maxed for anyone? i think it was the worst optimized game i have ever seen, a crappy cart racing game should not be bringing a hd4870x2 to its knees OR have min long load times with 8 gigs of ram and a 4 ghz processor.

i think they are maybe learning from that and giving themselves slack, or maybe they dont see running at less than 60 fps as "recommended".

BrainOfSweden
11-02-2011, 05:14 PM
Nothing, and I mean NOTHING is faster than Sonic.....you got that?

What about the Flash - Fastest man on earth? Hedgehogs faster? Would be an interesting race ;)

OnT I think my computer will handle this just fine. My CPU sucks, but it meets the minimum requirements, and my GPU is kick-♥♥♥ for a "non gaming" laptop. Just upgraded my RAM too :)