PDA

View Full Version : Manually select input mode

pTheReaper
10-26-2011, 01:01 PM
First off: Great game, really enjoying it so far.

Unfortunately, there is a small annoyance I have not been able to circumvent: As long as my Xbox360 controller is connected to the PC, the game will only display the "Control"-screen for the pad.
Since I prefer playing with one finger per button on a keyboard, I have to unplug my controller in order to get to the keyboard customization screen.
Could you possibly implement an option that would allow the user to select their prefered input device manually?

Additionally (since I don't want to start two threads at the same time), how do you guys feel about disassemblers being used on your game?
I'm a professional .Net developer myself and enjoy looking at .Net/XNA games in Reflector, though I prefer to make sure the original developers are okay with it.
I would obviously do this for entertainment purposes only, neither altering nor making public any of your code.

IridiumStudios
10-26-2011, 01:18 PM
Yeah, we're looking at smarter input recognition in the future.

And I'll be real, you're more than welcome to take a look with Reflector, but you may not like what you see. I am an awful coder. AWFUL. It was never my field at all, plus I was the only programmer, so...yeah.

Don't judge me :(

pTheReaper
10-26-2011, 02:00 PM
Thanks for the fast response, its not really a big problem, since I think very few people will have xbox controllers hooked up to their PC without actually wanting to use them.

Thank you also for giving me permission to look at the code, though I don't understand why you are so negative about it.
You released a game that brought joy to many people, thats alot more than most developers can claim, its certainly more than I can.